AdvoServ Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers supportive of one another.
Assistant State Director (Former Employee) –  NJMarch 8, 2018
In general once the company was sold by private owner the spirit changed, however what did not change was the desire to provide quality services to very challenging people with both MH and DD. Many of the staff were and are very dedicated.
Pros
Provide services to people who are turned away by most programs.
Cons
The stress and expecation to work all hours either in person or on call.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Direct Support Professional and Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Bear, DEJanuary 22, 2018
Was a good company to work for. I had the opportunity to work with a good team. Never had a bad experience. The consumers I served were all great to work with and eager to allow new personnel into their lives and their homes.
Pros
Nice place to work, easy pace job.
Cons
No overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun.
DSP (Current Employee) –  Hewitt, NJJanuary 15, 2018
The clients are wonderful. The staff are very helpful and supportive. Great working environment. Must be able to multitask. The hours are great. A very fast pace workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for
Mount Dora - Direct Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  BmrJanuary 9, 2018
They weren’t half bad. Working with the DD population is always stressful and will always be, but the teamwork of your coworkers and management made the job super easy and fun.
Pros
Working with the clients
Cons
Working 12 hour overnight shifts then having to stay another 4 or more hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet new people
Program Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bear, DEJanuary 3, 2018
Engage with the clients and help with their daily living
I learned that you can't mix business with pleasure
Management was alright
Workplace culture was exciting at first
Hardest part of job was working with people not motivated
Most enjoyable part of job was when clients were good and staff was on the same page with job duties
Pros
Na
Cons
Over worked and no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had to diffuse confrontations.
Community Living Specialist (Former Employee) –  Middletown, DEOctober 9, 2017
It was a stressful work environment where the clients had mental disabilities that influenced their hostile confrontations with each other. I would assist in diffusing the tension but sometimes situations would escalate where I would be exoected to restrain clients for their own safety but sometimes I would get hurt in the process.
Pros
Growth in leadership qualities
Cons
I was put in harms way
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good work place
Community Living Specialist (Current Employee) –  Swedesboro, NJAugust 30, 2017
Well I have been with this company going two years I think this is a good company to work at . At this company its hard work but who doesn't like hard work .
Pros
you get mad over time
Cons
Can't really keep good workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bellweather
Community Living Specialist (Former Employee) –  Swedesboro, NJAugust 24, 2017
This company is now called Bellwether it was Advoserv but they have had facilities shut down all over the country so they changed their name. It is a place filled with abuse and blatant neglect. Poor salary and some of the individuals are literally murderers. There is no real protection and it is extremely dangerous to work there.
Pros
Impacting lives of individuals
Cons
Abuse and neglect, killer clients, extremely dangerous
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dangerous Place to Work
Community Living Specialist (Former Employee) –  Swedesboro, NJAugust 22, 2017
Changed it's name due to numerous deaths of residents... Problematic culture of Abuse and Neglect... Low pay long hours... Left due to unsafe and unrealistic ratios 1or2 staff to min 20 clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee) –  Swedesboro, NJAugust 17, 2017
always hours available, sometimes unorganized, sometimes would be forced to stay...12 hour shifts, schedule never changes ,, ever. if you work second block you will work every thurs, friday and saturday. you will have to request off , if its not approved you will be forced to call out if its something that important. if you call out you will miss 12 hours out of check.
Pros
always hours
Cons
tooo much hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run for the hills.
Community Living Specialist (Current Employee) –  Swedesboro, NJ 08085August 14, 2017
Company declined after being being bought by a larger company. Budget cuts began to affect employees and staff in negative ways. Truly a for profit company with no regard for its individual well being.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to live, or to work
Community Living Specialist (Former Employee) –  West Milford, NJAugust 1, 2017
In the health care field it is not surprising to find yourself working 50+ hour weeks, in advoservs case it was expected of you.

they paid very poorly for the amount of work that was done by employee's their "yearly raise" was normally an extra quarter an hour that topped out at 18$, at which point it was a half penny raise a year.


Higher ups (even the president of the company) ignored me when I reported abuses going on.

stay away at all cost
Pros
lots of hours, the ability to work in a challenging field
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Evolving Company Atmosphere
Site Manager (Current Employee) –  Somerville, NJJune 6, 2017
We are currently going through a restructuring period, which is difficult for some but will overall benefit the individuals we serve. There is a good relationship with both individuals and employees alike. The hardest part of the job is staff retention as most use this as a Segway to bigger things. Overall the pay and hours are fair
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Several unexpected trainings
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Community Living Specialist (Former Employee) –  Bear, DEJune 6, 2017
Needs improvement with staff communication and policy implementation. The clients were somewhat difficult and seem not compatible with the program offered.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you love yourself, your time, children....do not work here.
Community Living Specialist (Former Employee) –  Bear, DEMay 12, 2017
The culture here definitely takes time to get used to.

I did not feel supported by management.

inappropriate behavior amongst staff

There is abuse towards students.

I do my very best to not think about my time working here.
Pros
abuse, neglect, misconduct, on all levels
Cons
plenty of over time available
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamwork and productive activity to help someone life better
CLS (Current Employee) –  West Milford, NJMay 4, 2017
Benefits and within time advanced within the company. There is obstacles within work life balance depending on the position. Should be compensated more based on responsibility. Exposure to people skills and challenges help better you as a worker and exposes one to the medical side as well .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could use a lot of help serving the people
Community Living Specialist (Former Employee) –  Bear, DEApril 12, 2017
I feel as though they have a long way to go to compensate the people that they serve, i feel with proper training and routine state checks they could be a much better company.
Pros
working with the children
Cons
lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
upbeat job and can be a fun work environment
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Mount Dora, FLMarch 3, 2017
each day is different it is never a day that is the same. I learned a lot on the different behaviors and how to care for each of the individuals in a different way, the job can be strenuous and carries a large work load. The most enjoyable thing for me is working hand and hand with the individuals and showing them different things and watch them be able to produce and show you what they have learned.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A warehouse for Developmentally Challenged individuals
STATE DIRECTOR OF TRAINING AND STAFF DEVELOPMENT (Former Employee) –  Bear, DEFebruary 21, 2017
In a effort to turn a profit, the individuals do not receive what would be necessary for their optimal performance. Combined with over worked and under educated direct staff makes the job unnecessarily difficult.
Pros
Home atmosphere, down time, and overtime
Cons
Home atmosphere, down time, and sometimes too much overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much room to grow with the company
Vocational Supervisor (Current Employee) –  bear,deFebruary 17, 2017
The company is not well organized and it is not an easy place to work. Staff here are not valued and the morale is very low. Advoserv was once a great place to work, but the culture has changed drastically.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at AdvoServ. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 67 reviews
57
415
322
210
113

Ratings by category

2.7Work/Life Balance
2.7Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.7Culture