AEGON Employee Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Based on 102 reviews
Ratings breakdown
529
443
317
29
14
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 34 reviews matching the search See all 102 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro managed
Sales and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Exton, PAApril 14, 2018
Not a pleasant work environment, constantly tracked by management.
If we were off the phones to long the manager would find us, even in the restrooms
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and had fun
Document Management Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARFebruary 21, 2018
Aegon and Transamerica are the same company. They changed there name back in 1999. They were a good company to work for and got along with all staff and management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  DublinDecember 29, 2017
It was a good place to work but it was a contract for me. The coma you culture was dependent on the department you worked in. I had interaction with different departments across different countries
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insurance and Annuity company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IADecember 13, 2017
My day was spent processing the money that our clients sent in to be added to their annuities. I was also responsible to reporting that money to the IRS on a form 5498. In addition to this, I cross trained on other positions within my department to become more helpful in keeping the workflow going in someone's absence.
My supervisor at the time was very friendly and down to earth. She was easy to talk to.
Pros
Earned rewards and recognition
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Claims administrator
Claims Administrator (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYSeptember 22, 2017
Arrived early and processed the next claims in my stack of work-they might have been disability or life insurance claims. On occasion, also folded check to be mailed to clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok company
Senior Programmer Analyst (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXAugust 8, 2017
I worked at Aegon full-time (More than 3 years)
Pros
You will be recognized for your work and efforts
Cons
in 1 year they laid off their employees 5 times,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice company
Annuities Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLMay 18, 2017
I really enjoyed working at Aegon, and I am actually applying to work there again. They have good pay, great benefits and a positive work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highly qualified employees
Vice President, Financial Institutions (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAApril 23, 2017
Great group of people. Lots of reorganization underway. restructuring could last a few more years with changes in the future. Good company for benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Global Exposure
Database Administrator (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDFebruary 11, 2017
AEGON has multiple locations throughout the US and across the globe. So it's very normal to work with team members in Plano, TX, UK, and the Netherlands.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant Manager Operations
Operations Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAOctober 24, 2016
I managed 40 to 50 people in two separate departments. This involved working on performance, procedures, budget, schedules and management meetings.

Due to financial restraints multiple managers were layed off in the spring 2009.
Pros
Excellent Benefits
Cons
Large corporation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance
Intermediate Process Engineer (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAApril 19, 2016
Great place to work. You get to learn a lot about investments and how money works. Can easily balance work and personal life.
Pros
Great benefits and pay. Great work-life balance
Cons
Can be siloed and if you are in a position that does not require a financial background, there is a steep learning curve
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Company Regional office
Financial Reporting - Health Product Manager (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 18, 2016
Learned a lot about insurance accounting. Given lots of opportunties to grow my career. I started as a accountant, promoted to manager and sernior manager.
Pros
Enjoyed working at UNUM
Cons
Office closed and moved to Portland. ME
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very challenging
Agency Manager (Current Employee) –  Covina and 4 monre branchesDecember 28, 2015
performance based training on daily basis.
product training
field training.
recruiting, selection, training, and performance management.

my core competency is training. this is my passion.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
24/7 availability
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed the years I worked for them.
Lead Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAOctober 23, 2015
answering phones, data entry, customer call backs, working close with other department to resolve issues. Hardest part was the amount of calls some days but over all it was a great job
Pros
support of management
Cons
amount of calls
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Experience - My Fave Boss!
Case Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAApril 20, 2015
I learned a lot from this job. I had scads of opportunities to learn from the best and brightest in the insurance biz about what makes the business work, as well as picking up some good investment strategies and tips for a successful sales career.
Pros
Free Gym, benefits, great management team, pizza parties!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my time there
Financial Systems Accounting Analyst II (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAFebruary 11, 2015
The culture and atmosphere at Aegon was awesome when I worked there. A good mix of younger people and older management that created a fun place to work. Although I have heard things aren't quite as rosy since I left.
Pros
Benefits, culture
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aegon
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 19, 2014
Typical Day at Work:
- discuss investment opportunities with supervisor
- discuss clients I have talked to about their financial background
- discuss future clients
- discuss strategies on how to approach clients

What I learned:
- investment opportunities
- dealing with clients
- communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and Creative
IT SENIOR PROGRAM ANALYST / TEAM LEAD (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 22, 2014
Limited controls on processes, but this allowed for creative solutions. Management was supportive and liked ownership.
Pros
Good People
Cons
Limited Mobility within Division
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  plano texasMay 29, 2013
I loved this place while I was there, Great building, cafeteria, game room(PING PONG TABLE!!) and we got to drink beer on company approved lunches at work!! I hate I left.
Pros
Building, company lunches, game room
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
CAD Technician (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAMay 28, 2013
I have very few complaints about this company. They care about the employees. Pay was good. Co-workers were very personable. I wish I had never left. I'll always regret it!
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report