Aetna Employee Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Based on 3,333 reviews
Ratings breakdown
51.1K
41.1K
3716
2241
1193
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 3,258 reviews matching the search See all 3,330 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aetna review
Eligibility Consultant (Former Employee) –  Hartford, CTJuly 15, 2018
Management hierarchy put all accountability on the employees lower on the food chain. Cliques and social engineering was rampant; favoritism was played by managers.
Pros
on-site gym
Cons
micromanagement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Claims Specialist (Former Employee) –  156 abd DodgeJuly 15, 2018
Lots of Perks/Friendly atmosphere. Great place to work, they lost State contract. Flexible hours, tuition reimbursement, excellent benefits and good growth opportunities.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Shared desks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work envorinment
Claims Administrator (Former Employee) –  Brandon, FLJuly 14, 2018
I have worked Aetna with almost 8 years. The management team and co-workers were fun to work with.The managers are willing accomadate your needs as to paid time off requests.
Especially during the holiddays. Overall the work was
easy and we worked on our own pace.
I learned many diffrent job departments :mailroom, data entry and scanning .
Pros
Paid time off and sick leave
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I won't go back there to work.
Janitorial Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fort Wright, KYJuly 13, 2018
A work day was monitored five different buildings.
To do my best at the job.
Management and I didn't see eye to eye.
Work place was very dirty.(General Electric)
Trying to keep the cleaning up.
The co-workers I had
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aetna
Health Concierge (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXJuly 13, 2018
Explaining to members how their benefits are covering their services if their deductible has been met or not. Handling issues with Claims and payments.
Pros
gift card rewards
Cons
being responsible for calls that you are not able to control from irate callers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at home
Assessment RN Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Harlem, NYJuly 13, 2018
Aetna provided most employees the opportunity to work at home. Aetna provided quality laptops, and reimbursed employees for using their internet connections.
Pros
working at home
Cons
last minute notifications to come into the office
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Care Management Associate (Current Employee) –  Boynton Beach, FLJuly 13, 2018
Great working environment. Everyone is so helpful.
Management cares about their employees.
The hardest part of the job, is having to meet deadlines, but they are met.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changes hourly
Utilization Review Nurse (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield, MOJuly 12, 2018
Once a very enjoyable and exciting job. Within the past year, but especially the past 6 months policy and procedures change daily if not hourly. Tenured nurses that should be in management are overlooked. Literally the absolute only thing that is still enjoyable s the ability to work from home. Even that is a potential hindrance to work life balance due to the EXPECTATION of the work numbers in conjunction with the EXPECTED lengthy documentation for required quality reviews. Which I might add are also new and have changed numerous times over the past 3 months.
Pros
Work at home
Cons
Supervusor friend clique.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job
CLAIMS BENEFITS SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CA 93710July 12, 2018
I enjoyed this environment and I have many fond memories of working there and the people with whom I worked. I was trained very well and I would like to work there again.
Pros
Good people
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RN Case Manager
RN Case Manager (Former Employee) –  New Albany, OHJuly 12, 2018
A typical day at work included reviewing emails and task list to organize my day prior to contacting my members by telephone. I loved being able to work from home and providing education to my members.
The hardest part of the job at times is time management.
Pros
work at home, awesome co-workers, excellent pay and bonuses
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prior Authorization Nurse
LPN Prior Authorization Nurse (Former Employee) –  New Albany, OHJuly 12, 2018
I would perform prior authorization requests for DME equipment, surgeries, wheelchairs, home health care services, therapy requests, medications, etc. You had criteria to match with clinical and information the provider sent in. You worked closely with a medical director and other nurses.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
correcting errors
Date Entry Operator (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 12, 2018
I was under contract with Aetna. Only there for a limited time. The daily activities were routine.
Morning work, lunch. afternoon work. I was under contract.
Pros
cafe within walking distance
Cons
stationed contract workers with fulltime employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well paid
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Allentown, PAJuly 12, 2018
The work i did was very tedious but i was paid decently. I enjoyed my work environment. I would have remained at the company if I did not find a better opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Things could be better
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 11, 2018
Honestly, it's ok i wished things were better. Such as experienced floor reps with the supervisor position so they can relate to their constitutes.Moral boosters should be implemented as well. The back to back calls all day can be stressful at times
Pros
friendly environment
Cons
short lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment
RN Utilization Nurse Management Consultant (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 11, 2018
Aetna really opened my eyes to the other needs of healthcare. I was able to help patients from the insurance point of view. I enjoyed working in that atmosphere
Pros
Salary is very competitive
Cons
Work at home is not as advertised
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to build a career
Aetna NB PSS MA MT Drafting, Benefit Consultant (Former Employee) –  Hartford, CTJuly 11, 2018
I enjoyed the opportunity to build a career during my tenure, built lasting relationships across various areas and learned strong work ethics and felt proud of my contribution to support the company's mission statement in competitive markets.
Pros
Opportunity for job security
Cons
improvement needed to allow employees to development themselves for better opportunities, i.e., work - work balance to allow for classes, training while being able to manage desktop
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service rep
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 11, 2018
It’s an easy job and very easy money. It’s secure and there is virtually no worry. The facility is nice and they try to keep up morale of the team. It’s an easy going place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RN Manager
Manager (Former Employee) –  OhioJuly 11, 2018
An excellent company to work for:
- Cares about its employees
- keeps employees informed via Manager & CEO Meetings that are company wide.
- Has good benefits, & educational programs for its employees.
Pros
Excellent company
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working from home
Plan Testing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJuly 11, 2018
Worked from home for 10 years - Aetna allowed us the time to take care of personal things - was able to work your 8 hours as long as it was completed by 11pm the same day. Get up, start at 6am - log off at noon and work your last 2 hours later in the day.

Management was great - was not micro-managed - if your work was getting done, you were rewarded.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would occasionally purchase lunch for team
Claim Benefits Specialist (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NE 68154July 11, 2018
Very production oriented, dont care much for quality. The team I was on was very micro managed, from being told to use your 10 minute break for the restroom to watching Skype. Being 3 minutes late results in a write up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport