Affirmative Insurance Holdings Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 13 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Mail Clerk/Operations Assistant (Former Employee) –  Addison, TXJanuary 21, 2016
good managers, low pay, filed for Chapter 11 Bankruptcy, I enjoyed working there, do not go to work there because you may get laid off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company was in hard financial situation and was selling off assets to survive.
Director, IT Compliance, Security and BCM (Former Employee) –  Addison, TXJuly 3, 2015
Company was in hard financial situation and was selling off assets to survive.

IT leadership and business leadership teams were working well to improve systems functionality and controls within the systems in use at Affirmative.

Daily I directed and worked tasks to improve security, compliance and other IT process controls within our IT systems.

Management, staff and my co-workers worked well together to find ways to implement needed changes at minimal cost as the hard part of job is that there were no funds available for new tools and systems needed.

I loved working with the strong IT team that IT leadership developed.
Pros
Good team environment
Cons
No funds to do new things.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Liability Claims Adjuster (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAMarch 4, 2015
Providing excellent customer service while handling claims and calls about property damages and bodily injury claims that resulted from automobile claims. I have learned that in the world of claims, you are constantly evolving because you are constantly learning something new.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/life balance but not much else
Worker (Former Employee) –  Addison, TXFebruary 10, 2015
This is all my opinion.
Appear to be concerned about a balanced life for their employees Pay isn't bad but it wasn't top notch either
Seemed to not only embrace mediocrity but reward it
Management didn't seem to have a plan just reacted to the next fire, which a lot of times was a lot like the one before it.
Pros
Able to take time as needed, full benefits, 401K, limited pressure
Cons
Loosing money at a frantic rate, no advancement, rising benefit costs, low 401K match, poor management decisions, lack of standards
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun summer job
Sr. Claims Adjuster (Current Employee) –  Addison, TXJuly 24, 2014
great summer job, active and fun work environment, friendly patrons and employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile Work Environment
Litigation Specialist (Former Employee) –  addison texasApril 22, 2014
Affirmative is very top heavy. There are alot of people with Management, VP titles who have less experience and knowledge than their employees.
HR is unprofessional and has no concept of what confidential is.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviroment
CLAIMS INTAKE (Current Employee) –  4450 SOJOURN DR. STE #500. ADDISON, TX. 75001February 13, 2014
Take in calls, handle them properly. My coworkers are the ones who make work a fun enviroment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Convoluted work place
Jr. Software Developer (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAOctober 28, 2013
This is not a good place for a Jr. Software Developer to begin their career.
Pros
Convienient location
Cons
poor management, no on-boarding, peers are judgmental, difficult work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work
Facilities Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Addison, TXApril 29, 2013
The company is moving towards hiring part time workers as to lower their benefit cost. Each month I was there there were layoffs. When I arrived at this company there were 6 people in my department the day I left there was 1 person. The workers at this location get nervous when anyone from HR is in the area.
Pros
Dress code is relaxed.
Cons
Constant layoffs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workable
Store Leader (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCMarch 14, 2013
Writing New Policies
Customer Service, Payments, Endorsement, Renewals, Rewrites
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working for Affirmative.
Retail Accounting Associate (Former Employee) –  Burr Ridge ILJanuary 11, 2013
I loved my job and the people I worked with. I learned a lot about different computer programs and different insurance companies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service rep
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  ADDISON TXSeptember 5, 2012
I answered all incoming calls from customers and agents.
I did learn about auto insurance,
Management was poor, did not encourge the employee's to suceed.
Very low team spirit, very low morale. They provided no training.
My co-workers were very helpful and would help others when management was not looking. Most of the co-workers that were team players and were knowlageable were laid off in May of 2011.
The hardest part of my job staying the last 6 months, till the layoff.
When I first started the job in 2010 it was a fun place to work, and the supervisor I had always encourged us to go farther, there was nothing that we couldn';t accomplish. Always made our team meetings fun ! But she was let go in the layoff.
Pros
great co-workers, paid holidays and pto, wonderful customers and agents
Cons
bad hours, no overtime, incompetent upper management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Affirmative Insurance Holdings. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 13 reviews
53
43
33
23
11

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
2.1Job Security/Advancement
2.3Management
2.5Culture

Affirmative Insurance Holdings Reviews by Location