AFL Employee Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Based on 89 reviews
Ratings breakdown
529
423
317
28
112
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 50 reviews matching the search See all 89 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GAApril 5, 2018
The management team was very knowledgeable. The hours were long and lots of weekend work. This is a good place to enhance technical and management skills.
Pros
Pto
Cons
No raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment!
Law Clerk (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAMarch 12, 2018
Throughly enjoyed my 3 months summer internship. I had the opportunity to work on various issues prominent within labor and employment law. My general counsel was extremely helpful and had my best interest in mind.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has been a very rewarding job in terms of the people
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  New South WalesJanuary 15, 2018
The work life balance is very good and it is filled with talented, great people to work with. The working environment and facilities are second home.
Helping the needy is a terrific way to give to the community. My hour's are flexible and I'm always thanked for my contributions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
back stabbing
Dir of Operations (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHDecember 5, 2017
Awful (AFL) management learned not to trust anyone best part was leaving , no support from senior management good was other folk on team no time for home life
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work in the field and from home
Inspector, Fielder Oakland Ca (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAOctober 30, 2017
Some days long,some very short, Management is very helpful. Hardest part of the day is Travel . Liked being outside losts of contractors work with you.Sometimes they're lots of cuthroting
Pros
Free time
Cons
bad or dishonest contractors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work
Lead Targeting Analyst (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 13, 2017
Great work applying data driven solutions to a cause I believe in!
Pros
self fulfillment
Cons
Lack of work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and Efficient
CIO (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 7, 2017
Ability to assist with lobbying for higher minimum wages, meeting member of congress, senate and other elected officials. Attending the White House to listen to speeches made by the President. Giving support and rallying for workers rights and families, awesome at the end of the day and very rewarding.
Pros
legal insurance
Cons
man's world
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Manufacturing Technician-Blackjacket (Former Employee) –  Duncan, SCAugust 26, 2017
Had a job there in black jacket area. Was great at first, then things with my kids and babysitter came up. Say for family issues with children, you wouldn't get wrote up but ended up doing so anyways. Took my kids to school registration, noted that I requested the day of more than two weeks in advanced, had the day off, got a call the next day to fire me saying it was a no call no show! Ha! Such a poor POOR Management.
Pros
There is none
Cons
Want you to live at work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Support Working Men and Women
Field (Former Employee) –  NationalJuly 17, 2017
Good pay and benefits that are hard to beat. Very bureaucratic, top down approach. Job security isn't strong in current atmosphere. Those in staff union get good vacation and time off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Tech III Extrusion Setup Operator (Former Employee) –  Duncan, SCJuly 13, 2017
Its a job that pays the bills. If you need a job, they will most likely hire you.Rotating shifts take time to get used to, but I enjoyed the days off during the week.
Pros
You got a paycheck
Cons
Butt kissers get noticed more than hard workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
SUMMER INTERN (Former Employee) –  Washington City, DCJuly 7, 2017
This job was totally different from foot locker. This was more of a office environment and setting. Answering the telephone, faxing papers, being an assistant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun group of dedicated staffers
undisclosed (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 1, 2017
Committed organization and staff to creating better employment opportunities for all workers. Full staff works together to attempt to have all voices are heard.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed work environment
Cable Technician (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJune 29, 2017
It is a pretty relaxed work environment and good benefits. Loved the set schedule that the job tends to offer. The people who worked there are really nice and cooperative.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Technical Operator (Former Employee) –  Duncan, SCDecember 9, 2016
This was a different job. Swing Shifts. I didnt like those at all. Once your body gets used to being on third shift it was time to go back on 1st.
Pros
Pay
Cons
breaks, and long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the team work
Construction Laborer (Former Employee) –  Sumter, SCOctober 28, 2016
Team work was a big deal with the job at hand. Lots of hands of hands on experience, basically . It also required a bit of blueprint layout work. We constructed conveyor belts for continental.
Pros
Hour break
Cons
Long walk distance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technician, CNC, Machine operator, Forklift and supervisor
Supervisor, Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 21, 2016
• Responsible for keeping the machine running, repaired machinery when needed
• Produce's machined parts by programming, setting up, and operating a computer numerical control (CNC) machine; maintaining quality and safety standards; keeping records; maintaining equipment and supplies.
• Transport packages from point A to point B in the shipping and receiving area
• Accomplishes staff job results by coaching, counseling, and disciplining employees; planning, monitoring, and appraising job results; conducting training; implementing enforcing systems, policies, and procedures.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Football Player (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOSeptember 14, 2016
Organizational and productive person that does what needs to be done to get things taken care of. This job was a very good one because it helped me work on my people skills and it was an eye opener of what hard work and determination can lead to.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Duncan, SCAugust 19, 2016
They don't care about the people, they harassment is very real would not advise anyone to go there they don't give raise.
Cons
Don't want to give raise, to much work for one person
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plumbers union
Foreman on Hudson Condo (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYMay 19, 2016
Like all unions there are upsides and downsides and alot of politics in between,
Training and then training new apprentices to become plumbers.. Management I never had to work with , on construction sites,
Co workers were all good plumbers who adhered to union laws and work ethics
,Most enjoyable part of the job was overtime which is doubble time that would be $120 an hour and I worked like a dog for it,,
Hardest part of teh job were the lay offs and the months of no work so you hadtos ave when the moneywas good so you could survive when you were layed off
Pros
Being aprofessional
Cons
Layoff and politics
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Lead Tech-L4 (Former Employee) –  all usaApril 19, 2016
This is a fast pace work enviroment, that requires talent individual efort Knowledge, expertise is a must, you work alone and are expected to perform very Profecional. high productivity accuracy and lots of travel.
Pros
who you know
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at AFL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.3InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

2.0Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight