Afognak Native Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 435 reviews matching the search See all 459 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard good skills team player
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 7, 2019
I love my job good benefits and good pay and good work comfortable management is good best uniforms and good skills co- work the best good to work with and they help in all type of way we just building more goal for the client
Pros
Good work
Cons
Good jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super busy office.
Human Resources Specialist (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKJanuary 15, 2019
Staff were great. Worked in Human Resources. Training was excellent. Full time position. Had excellent benefits. Good location. Had excellent Christmas parties and picnics for their employees.
Pros
Excellent pay
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet and Not much Else
Technical Manual Editor (Current Employee) –  Havelock, NCJanuary 16, 2019
The office I work in has friendly people but it is incredibly quiet. You do whatever is given to you by a specific deadline and that is it. Nothing fancy to it.
People will bring in food and celebrate birthdays and send cards out for other occasions.
Benefits are decent but vacation time is earned a few hours for every 2.5 weeks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No stress
Documentation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Havelock, NCOctober 18, 2018
Alutiiq (Havelock) is a great place to work. It's a full-time, contractor position, but management does a great job in maintaining the same employees when a new contract is signed. Pay and benefits are great. If time off is needed for one day, you can work extra the other days of the week to obtain your 40hr/week. Very flexible! Environment was stress free and consistent. If you don't mind sitting at a desk all day (with exception to breaks and lunch) this place is great. Management and peers are helpful and eager to assist.
Pros
Pay, Flexible, Benefits, Consistent
Cons
Desk job
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work there
employee (Current Employee) –  ohioSeptember 19, 2018
Government contractor so no raises. If its for job corps, then be prepared to work with difficult students. There is lots of turn over. They think their staff is replaceable.
Pros
hard to get fired
Cons
students, pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Janitor (Current Employee) –  china Lake, CASeptember 12, 2018
Been with the company for a long time; hoping management get better. There is no backbone in the management dept. No communication, lot of talking however no actions been implemented. The H.R. need to look into the management dept. and correct the situation. No discipline on workers such as poor attendance and attitude. It unfortunate that the management is magnanimous and show no tolerance on attendance and behavior. Notice I never say the company is bad jut the management who need to be reevaluated if not have a new crew.
Pros
Benefits are decent; 401k is greater than most company can offer.
Cons
Management, low morality.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of clear goals/leadership
Outreach and Admissions Counselor (Former Employee) –  MichiganAugust 23, 2018
Outreach and Admissions Counselor-goals not clear or constantly changing (often weekly), worked long, long hours/drove all over the lower part of the state to recruit students, lack of support/tools at remote sites to perform my job, waited 6 months to earn time off or benefits after hire, lack of initial training to do my job properly (hired for one job, three days later switched to Outreach and Admissions and received three days of training). I could go on.
Cons
No clear/changing enrollment goals or expectations, long hours, driving across the lower state to recruit students, lack of support or proper technology to do job off site at remote areas
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I've encountered in 40 years
Armed Securityy Site Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIAugust 15, 2018
Site Supervisor for Coast Guard-Sector Detroit. Great team that works together to control access and provide armed security to protect all assets and persons entering the base.

Hand picked contracted security team in a very professional military setting. Best part of the job is greeting high ranking Officers and top US Government officials. Low point is never knowing if the next contract will be renewed.

Great pay, time off when needed, new equipment, and a close working relationship with the Regional Coordinator, who is on top of everything.
Pros
Pay, hours, benefits, respect, easy going
Cons
Contracted yearly
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work but not great Management
EMERGENCY MEDICAL TECHNICIAN (Current Employee) –  Mobile, ALDecember 27, 2018
The workplace is pretty good. Hours are fair and pay is competitive. The only problem is that managers are sometimes negligent. The two head bosses are good but unfortunately, there are a couple of managers that need to remember their place. Unfortunately, there is some micromanaging that goes on.
Pros
Good hours, good pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Ridgecrest, CAMay 8, 2018
while i worked for Alutiiq I learned what i like to work as a team member . I worked in a lab with eight other ppl and when one person couldn't get the job done we all helped out . But before we helped the person out we all have a route to do that consisted of cleaning offices, coffee rooms, bathrooms , kitchens . The hardest part of the job i think is finding a empty trash been when all the other are super full . the most enjoyable part of works is the coworkers and the customers.
Pros
the benefits and pay
Cons
Management isn't the best .
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Upward Mobility
TECHNICAL WRITER I (Current Employee) –  Havelock, NCNovember 5, 2018
If you don’t mind doing the same exact thing day in and day out with no real hope at a promotion then this job will be great for you. Pay is good, hours are mostly flexible.
Pros
Flexible hours. Pay
Cons
Management is petty and the high turnover leads to employee neglect.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Work Control Manager (Current Employee) –  Ridgecrest CAMay 21, 2018
Alutiiq has been a good company to work for. The pay and benefits are good. We have a very good relationship with our corporate employees and we all work very well together.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced environment
Armed Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VAApril 28, 2018
Alutiiq supervisor on this site doesnt seem to care much about his loyal employees who show up for work on time and never call off. Ive been on this site since october 2015 and went from 40 hours to 24 hours only 2 days a week with no discipline write ups.
Pros
N/a
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Employee , Pay is good but not worth the stress
Office Support (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHFebruary 12, 2019
After 5 years I decided to look elsewhere and take a pay cut, I needed to get away from the stress and poor management in the area that I worked. My supervisor was good but the manager of the area played favorites and everyone was afraid to say anything. There was no one else to talk to about the issues, the HR Manager is unreachable, he never answers calls or emails and there currently is not a Program Manager to talk to.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government contractor
SECURITY GUARD-pt (Former Employee) –  Fort Meade, MDApril 25, 2018
Good salary, great place to work, relaxed environment, not stressful
Job has various shifts to include weekends. Uniforms and training provided. Free parking
Pros
nice place to work
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lesson Learned
HR Assistant (Former Employee) –  ChicopeeMarch 9, 2018
I was in HR and it was horrible. There were piles of paper everywhere in boxes, no organization and no training. The management team were mean and were quick to tell others your personal business.
Management got away with bullying other staff and the HR manager at the time was constantly rude to me. Couldn't speak to this person without snapping.
There were no raises or incentive programs for working 9 hours a day(sometimes longer).
Nothing was consistent and there was a huge turnover. The pay was low for the work you've done and never felt appreciated for the hard work.
This job could of been an amazing career move because of the mission an dc goals. The Company needs to focus on their employees as well as the students.
Cons
Pay, Culture and Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 75No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and easy paced work enviroment
Passport Agent (Former Employee) –  Valdosta, GAApril 1, 2018
5-8 passport appointments per day, was a US Dept of State certified Passport Agent, fabulous Management, most liked the challenge of different situations involving the passport process, loved getting all Govt holidays off with pay
Pros
Fringe benefits, all Govt holidays off
Cons
Had to make up hours for military family days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is very sexist
Illustrator (Current Employee) –  Cherry Point, NCMarch 22, 2018
Unless you are a female, this company is very sexist and there is no career advancement for males. They don't care about their employees rather just care about the stock holders making more money and denying their employee's of a pay raise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good family oriented job with a laid-back work atmosphere.
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Redstone Arsenal, ALDecember 14, 2018
Good family oriented job with a laid-back work atmosphere. Basic Security guard role and unarmed. Great people and management. Very flexible work hours. Overall great work environment.
Pros
Easy job, not physically demanding, and great employees and management
Cons
Middle of the road pay and paid vacation given only after your one anniversary of your hire date
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work, difficult work environment
Mess Attendant (Former Employee) –  Twentynine Palms, CAApril 12, 2018
If you can come to work and not interact with coworkers, the job is nice and easy and not mentally challenging. Serving Marines is an honor. Direct deposit is available. Pot shack, Warehouse, and Janitorial positions are physically demanding, Split shift for Mess Attendants from 5 am-8:30 am then 3:15 pm- 6:45 pm. Unpaid lunch break. Plethora of uniforms provided.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Toxic work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Afognak Native Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 459 reviews
5166
4126
391
232
144

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture