Akamai Technologies Employee Reviews

Found 98 reviews matching the search See all 179 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first manager was great then we didn't have one for 8 months
Senior Platform Operations Technician (Former Employee) –  san mateo then santa claraSeptember 23, 2018
I started out enjoying the job but after we moved locations i was paying way more for rent, wasn't given time off or pay to relocate. then once we did relocate we had no manager for 8 months so we missed out on bonuses and raises. then they hired someone from another location to manage us and within 2 months the entire team was laid off or fired. my last month there was stressful, i was yelled at all the time and there was poor communication. when i tried to address the harassment to HR i was promptly fired for insubordination
Pros
made ok money
Cons
never saw a place to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company great... But not inside NOCC
Platform Operations Engineer (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAApril 26, 2018
If you work inside the NOCC be prepared to be let down.
Horrible management practices. Work life balance practices allowed in other departments not allowed in NOCC.
Incompetent managers and unclear career track lead to a stressful and unfulfilling experience.
Technicians(lowest on the totem pole are leading and in charge of Engineers(highest on the totem pole) Completely baffling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most people liked it
Senior SQA Engineer (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAMarch 10, 2018
.. but I did find it to be fast paced and competitive. If you can't produce on a technical level you are going to be left behind and your coworkers and manager won't (or don't have time to) help. Though there are plenty of courses, presentations, seminars, etc. Future of the company is probably ok, but a bit uncertain. Lots of competition in their traditional space (CDN), but they're making an effort to diversify.

I think the CEO was fine when the company was small and mid-sized and focused primarily on its CDN business. But the company might benefit from a veteran leader with a much more broad experience and vision, since the company needs to continue finding new revenue sources.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work with
SOFTWARE ENGINEER, TEST (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 4, 2018
Great company to work with, great work life balance, good benefits, amazing people to work with. You are given ample time to work and the job is adequately demanding as well.
Pros
good culture, great benefits, company moves at a relaxed pace
Cons
dated technology stack, lot of technical debt
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Experience
Sr. Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAApril 14, 2018
Nice experience & exposure to cloud products. Top notch customers to work with. Good work life balance.
Typical day takes Program Planning, Pipeline Building, Project Planning/Schedule, Reporting, Analysis, Customer Support, Handling Escalations.
Working with multiple functions Sales, Pre-Sales, Account Management Group, Service Delivery and Support Team.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The co-workers and technology are great
Software Development Manager (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAMarch 1, 2018
Akamai is a good company, although there are too many smart people.. who only like doing things their way, so you end up with dozens of different variations of the same solution, not different enough to be worth the fact they're all one-offs
Pros
great benefits and people
Cons
upper level of management values numbers over people
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great CEO
Sr. Manager, Human Resources (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MASeptember 7, 2018
Well respected CEO
Building new corporate HQ
Unlimited PTO is very good
No typical day but Friday's are quiet in the office. most people work from home
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forever chasing technical debt, with more debt
Senior Performance Engineer (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAJanuary 21, 2018
The Akamai platform is showing its age, and needs constant care and attention to continue to function. You will most likely be working with extremely outdated legacy technology.
Pros
Good leave policy, good compensation unless you compare to Big 4
Cons
Poor culture of shifting blame and backstabbing, poor vision, unable to modernize
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is great
Manager, Marketin Programs (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 13, 2018
I love working here, the CEO is one of the best I've had the pleasure to work for so far. He is very smart and straight forward. If you are looking for a good workplace culture in the tech space then this is a great place.
Pros
Great CEO
Cons
Marketing Management tends to hire who they know first.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A hard place to work wile female
Anonymous (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MANovember 11, 2018
The company -- to my knowledge -- is not as bad as Uber. Pervasive sexual harassment is not there. But the soft sexism is a real problem, particularly in some specific groups. Parts of the company are really great. Sadly, the company does not have standardized hiring, promotion, and evaluation practices so the quality of your experience varies widely depending on the org your in or even your specific boss.

Examples of soft sexism and bias from the Portal org:

- Women seeking advancement have to be extremely assertive and persistent . (Which can backfire.) Whereas their male counterparts get groomed and developed

- Women bringing up data-specific concerns about projects and calling out risks are called overly negative.

- If a woman is vocally critical about something she is perceived as "emotional."

- Bullying, overspeaking, and credit stealing occur routinely with the same individuals. HR does nothing and the bullies still get promoted.

Advice to job seekers -

Some parts of the company are great. Ask questions. Make sure to speak with a range of people before accepting an offer. Get a bead on how your future boss treats direct reports. Ask about evaluative criteria for performance and success recognition. Be wary of managers who talk a big game but, when pressed, don't offer specifics indicating they actually understand your discipline.

And lastly, know that even if you join under a great boss, the company does constant reorgs and you may not get to keep that great boss. The company is extremely slow to remove poor performers and even slower to remove
  more... abusive/toxic managers. They would rather manage out the "troublemakers" who have the audacity to complain about bad managers than reprimand or fire those managers.

Tread carefully.
  less
Pros
Lots of smart, dedicated people
Cons
Uneven policy implementation leading to some orgs with abusive working environments
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MANovember 17, 2017
This is a great place to work. the culture is upbeat and great feeling of teamwork cross divisions. The benefits are very competitive, 401K and other perks. You need to pay for parking but it's fairly reasonable for the Cambridge area.
Pros
great culture and good management
Cons
none at this time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large(ish) company with a startup mentality
Product Manager, Customer Education (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXFebruary 26, 2018
Akamai has many really smart people and it challenges you every day to do your best and make a difference.
Some departments lack vision and as is true for every company, your happiness and job satisfaction very much depends on where you work within the company.
Pros
Excellent Benefits, working with smart people
Cons
Lack of vision in my department
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with huge learning opportunities
Software Engineer Co-op (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAOctober 10, 2018
Everyone on the team is willing to help you. Though being an intern, they value your opinion and provide with enough freedom to try and learn new things.
Great co-op events organized balancing work and fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people who want success for all
Manager (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MASeptember 21, 2018
Akamai was relatively young and still trying to piece together their outlook towards employees. I enjoyed my time there and was thankful for the opportunities presented to me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company great people
Project Manager/ EA to VP of Engineering (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CAMarch 26, 2018
Was the EA to the VP of Engineering. When he left he promoted me to Project Manager. Reason I left was that company is all tech with no EA positions
Pros
Great team, good work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment and work culture
Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAFebruary 7, 2018
the company has good team structure and great work environment. collaborative work is encouraged. i was happy to be in a great team that encouraged each other.
Pros
Great benefits, salary is commensurate with market rate, good health, dental and vision plan. decent 401k match, stock options and discounted share purchase program
Cons
the company seems to lack vision on building future products
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work culture.
SQA Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CASeptember 7, 2018
very flexible work timinng and option to work from home.
Time to time , food is provided and people are involved in all extra activites. No dress code.
Pros
No
Cons
No
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The petal and the thorn
Senior Technical Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MANovember 29, 2016
I will preface my review by saying Akamai is a global company and the culture varies greatly depending on your location and department. I firmly believe that the good far outweighs the bad.

We are a driven, intellectually curious collective that is always pushing ourselves and those around us to achieve the next level, rethink what is possible, and break through plateaus. In a place where you arrive and you are already behind, finding a healthy work life balance is one of the largest and most common challenges that exist.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Disconnect between executive leadership and middle management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Mature Engineering Environment for Senior Engineers
Senior Software Engineer III (L6) (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAJuly 31, 2016
Akamai's technical assets, systems and procedures are well developed and mature; a day at Akamai is a day refining and renewing these things in small but important ways. Engineers must understand that there is 15 years of very diligent work and careful attention to detail that proceeds them. There are opportunities to innovate, but he pace of change is no faster than that of refinement - and for good reason.

The management cares deeply about the employees, they work hard to nurture and encourage career development at all levels. Akamai invests in the community, students and even sponsors programs to teach those who've never worked in technology the basics. Akamai has a strong culture of diversity and a good balance across cultures and genders.
Pros
Excellent place to learn, develop solid engineering skills learn about how the Internet really works
Cons
Not quick to adopt new techniques, technologies or practices
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly and smart environment
Program Management Intern (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAJanuary 26, 2018
Akamai has a great company culture where many people are supportive of you and are willing to help you. I learned a lot in my position and I was surrounded by very intelligent people. There are a lot of fun corporate events as an intern. The expectations were high as an intern and you were given projects and were expected to complete them well regardless of whether you were an intern or regular employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Akamai Technologies. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 179 reviews
583
454
324
217
11

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.2Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

3.5InHerSight Score

3.4Personal Development

3.3Career Opportunities

4.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight