Akerman LLP Employee Reviews

Showing all 29 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and collaborative workplace
Summer Associate, Labor and Employment Litigation (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLJune 20, 2018
Akerman is a unique law firm in that it encourages professional development and excellence while fostering a collaborative environment.
Akerman has also taken charge in diversity and inclusion.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great attorneys, great location, fair pay, lack of opportunity for growth
Legal Support Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 6, 2018
Its a great firm, cool attorneys, fun staff, just limited opportunity to advance from within.Great downtown location, beautiful office, paid parking. Would recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Firm
Front Desk Receptionist / Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLApril 3, 2018
I enjoyed working for Akerman LLP. The firm offers room for professional growth and really invests time and resources into training employees. Job was just as described and work mates were friendly and professional.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Law Firm
Paralegal/Legal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 27, 2018
Ackerman was rather stuffy and didn’t afford the opportunity to do significant trial work.

It was a good experience in that I met the attorney that I would leave with and remain with for almost ten years.
Pros
Non sresssful
Cons
No growth opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plenty of Potential if they can get around roadblocks with Management
Legal Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 5, 2018
Career advancement is nonexistent and the company does not realize how valuable their staff is. The word "innovative" is thrown around loosely. Focus more on better compensation and career advancement which is more innovative and competitive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away!!!! Horrible, horrible, horible!!!
Legal Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVNovember 3, 2017
Upper management gossips with staff. Too much favoritism. Upper management doesn't care if you are a hard worker. Upper management is Very unexperienced. Big big turnover. YOU will be responsible for work that the other lazy favored employees don't want to do. Upper management don't care about their staff, you are replaceable.
Pros
After all the negatives there is no Pros
Cons
Stressful, there is no team players, unhappy, snoppy Associates.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace
Probate/Family Law/Corporate Paralegal (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 18, 2017
This firm has top quality employees. I was able to improve my skills and work. I leaned some litigation. All my coworkers were polite, intelligent and management was superb.
Pros
Excellent benefits and pay
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Akerman LLP is a wonderful family friendly employer
Litigation File Clerk (Current Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLOctober 1, 2017
I love working at Akerman LLP. The company supports the employees in every aspect. There are always opportunities to learn and someone always willing to teach. There is no micromanaging.
Pros
Every Friday breakfast is provided
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Akerman is just another law firm
LEGAL ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 15, 2017
Sadly, management would gossip with support staff, very inconvenient training as the training staff worked in Florida. If one wanted training in a particular area, it could take several weeks to arrange for a trainer to get to the DC office.
Pros
Very involved in the poor community
Cons
Way too much gossiping went on
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work place
Office Services Clerk (Current Employee) –  FloridaJuly 25, 2017
Akerman is a good place to work for most people. But as an office services clerk I feel that I do not get the pay I deserve. If you plan on getting any other position here I would recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Akerman
Spring 2016 Internship (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLMay 10, 2017
As an aspiring attorney, Akerman was one of my favorite jobs. Everybody in the office was extremely hard working and talented. It is an honor to say I have worked along side of the most respected attorneys in the field.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Law firm with great expertise and friendly people.
Legislative Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 19, 2017
Law firm with great expertise and friendly people. Office Administrator was wonderful. Washington, DC office was in great location in the district. Easy metro access.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Went to 4 to 1 Ratio
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work-life balance but that may be the only positive aspect of this place
Adminstrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 18, 2017
Poor management( if at all)
Poor salaries that are not reflective of NYC standard of living
Very little room for advancement
Older attorneys do not mentor new attorneys so its hard to develop skills
Pros
you rarely have to work late
Cons
where do i begin...
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Tier
"Associate" (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 17, 2017
Top Tier people. Co-workers are smart, engaging, and generally all team players. Hours and demands can be challenging and all encompassing, but you will be around people who will give you as much leeway as needed to make the experience as pleasurable as possible. Also, great benefits for young lawyers including nearly limitless business development account, and cart blanche to go to any industry / networking events, travel to meet clients or counter-parties, et cetera. They also invest heavily back into themselves, so offices, work environment, events, and fringe benefits are top notch.
Pros
Top Tier; firm will give you every monetary advantage to build your career
Cons
Hours; Offices can be somewhat segregated into mini-firms rather then one national team
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfairness, office manager has no experience working in a law firm
Legal Secretary (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas Summerlin, NVJune 5, 2016
Office manager plays favorite. Allow her favorite employee to do what she wants. It's okay for her to work 20 - 30 hrs of OT a wk and she is only able to complete ONE task. This is a fast pace environment but manager looks pass that since they are friends. Manager believes lies from her friend. Disrespectful to attorneys, argues with them in front of other employees. Big turn over. Not enough legal secretaries. Workload is impossible to get done on an 8 hr a day. People stay as late as midnight and work weekends. Forget about having a life. Office manager treats her hard workers like badly. She expect more and no compensation. Only for her lazy, slow, and are friends with. Because the office manager has no experience working in a law firm she does understand the workload of the legal secretaries do.
Pros
Great PTO & health benifits
Cons
Office manger is unfair, believes lies, has no experience working in a law firm
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RUN - pay is great but expectations are unrealistic
Legal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas Summerlin in NevadaApril 22, 2016
Initially are lured in by friendliness and pay. Manager swears that attorneys are generally really nice people and is ignorant to the rules of court and unrealistic expectations. Famous words: You are committing malpractice. Does not know the definition nor a legal assistant is unable to commit malpractice. Once you are sucked in you will be expected to work until late in the evening. There is NO balance of work and home life. One of the worst law firms to work for in Clark County.
Pros
Bagels and sometimes free lunches
Cons
No breaks, no respect
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place to Work
Legal Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 24, 2015
Akerman LLP is very good to it's employees. I really enjoyed working there. They really take care of their employees. It is a great place to learn. They offered numerous classes to their employees.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 11Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work.
Legal Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLJuly 4, 2015
Working for 3 or more busy attorneys. Drafting correspondence, hearing notices, assembling materials to send to Judges before hearings, inputting time on daily basis for billing purposes. Preparation of travel and entertainment reports. Keeping docketing calendar for upcoming events. I worked with a wonderful group of other legal administrative assistants and paralegals, who worked together well as a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 14Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was definitely fun to have worked at Akerman LLP
File Clerk (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 2, 2015
It was fun working at Akerman as I had the opportunity to improve some aspects of the Filing department together with Management.

At times it was a bit hard when I felt a little overwhelmed by the extend of the work that needed to be done and that was left behind by a previous employee. However, I was always able to get the assistance I needed as well as comfort in knowing that my job wasn't overlooked but rather recognized by management.

The company had great employees as others not so great but I believe it is a normal situation in any company. However, never had any major disagreements or any personal encounters with anybody as we all were pretty much quite professional.

It was definitely fun and a pleasure to have worked at Akerman LLP.
Pros
Small company so we got to know each other quite well
Cons
Benefits were great but not so great as most law firms pay for your transportation but not Akerman
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Akerman LLP has state of the art computers and offices. The work environment and facilities are favorable.
Paralegal (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLMarch 17, 2015
Akerman, LLP is a nationally known law firm with various practices. The firm pays extremely well and has excellent benefits.
Pros
Flexible hours.
Cons
Too large.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 14Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Akerman LLP. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 29 reviews
511
47
36
22
13

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

3.8InHerSight Score

3.4Personal Development

3.9Career Opportunities

4.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight