Alameda County, CA Employee Reviews

Showing all 102 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great awork Environment
Clerk II (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAFebruary 16, 2019
I enjoyed the clients, my co-workers, my job duties, the benefits, the pay, the location, the opportunity to advance in my career. The office perks. The job experience.
Pros
Meeting good people
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is okay
Deputy Probation Officer (Current Employee) –  Dublin, CAJanuary 13, 2019
Good salary and benefits. There is good job security once you are tenured. A lot of good people work for the county, but management is very poor and incompetent.
Pros
Job security, benefits, salary
Cons
poor management, nepotism, incomptence
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Eligibility Support Clerk (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CADecember 18, 2018
Good employer the staff are relaxed but informative. Clients are helped in a timely fashion and the customer service is great. If I were to change anything it would be the culture within, from its who you know or who like you to, your work ethic speaks for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work, long hours
Admin Support 1 (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CADecember 14, 2018
If you know someone at the alameda county agency or insider, you're treated well if not they looked down at you, you are just a second class citizen. Management doesn't communicate very well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical government agency
Auditor Associate I - Clerk Recorders Office (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CADecember 10, 2018
Mundane work, learned to listen to podcasts while working, senior management was excellent, middle management was far from impressive. When management tells new employees "don't try and change anything" on their first day, not a positive start.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work but...
Specialist Clerk I/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Eden HospitalDecember 10, 2018
The company has good values however it is not executed by the staff. As a TAP Temporary woker you are treated as a second class citizen. The test are very difficult which makes the TAP positions hard to fill.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very competitive and rewarding job
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CADecember 2, 2018
Very competitive and rewarding job. Offer challenging roles and provide career growth. Trainings are provided in a very satisfying manner. Pays are high and very reasonable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Short or long term.
Janitorial Worker (Former Employee) –  San leandroNovember 26, 2018
Good place to work.
Great benefits, retirement & medical.
Terrible boss. Depending on department no teamwork. Some put staff against staff
Supervisors don't check the work that has been done or not.
Pros
Some staff are nice and helpful.
Cons
no teamwork. SENIORITY MEANS NOTHING.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and thriving workplace
Secretary I/II (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CANovember 16, 2018
Many fund memories of good, educated, and caring managers and staff at Alameda County. No matter which department a new hire lands in, they will be given an opportunity to learn their job functions well, build their resume by growing in all other areas in the department with supportive supervisors and co-workers.
Pros
Decent wages, great benefits and high morale
Cons
Difficult exam process
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive.
Head Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Emeryville, CANovember 1, 2018
I learned a lot from the years with this company and I really appreciate the freedom that was given, also the confidence in me to do the job right. If I could ever have another job like this, where I can be creative freely I'd most likely stay as long as I can like I did there.
Pros
Location at the time.
Cons
Weather some days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast paced in this department for registrar of Voters
Clerk Intermittent (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAOctober 31, 2018
Showing clients how to use the new voting machines
how to communicate with people who speak other languages
Very fast paced especially during elections
staying up on election night
Seeing my community come out to cast there vote
Pros
overtime
Cons
hours when it is the night of election
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management needs Improvement
Account Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAOctober 23, 2018
The management at Alameda County is very challenged. Management doesn't communicate with non management. Can be very stressful. Many - not all of the employees walk around very sad.
A class in business acumen would not be a bad idea.
Pros
I met some great people
Cons
Terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pension benefits
Applications Systems Engineer III (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAOctober 15, 2018
Pretty typical work environment - meetings, politics, plusses and minuses. Most of the people are fun and great to work with but of course there are exceptions. The pension is awesome if you can stick it out long enough. I'm impressed by the County's efforts to stay leading-edge current, even with government budget limits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a great time while working in the TAp program
Floor Specialist/Custodian (Former Employee) –  Dublin, CAOctober 10, 2018
The job was well paced .I enjoyed the work and upper management isn’t to hard on just enough for you to get the job done .Every thing was extremely fair
Pros
Relaxed Overseeing
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Class room instructor assistant
Admin Support - Registrar of Voters (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CASeptember 28, 2018
I am the class room instructor assistant. Responsible for ensuring the class room is set up properly and help with hand on part of the training. I set up the class room and ensure all supplies needed is available for providing excellent service/
Pros
Reliable work
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Registrar Vote Office (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CASeptember 28, 2018
Fun place to work and my co workers were nice and corporative. My supervisor was very nice and easy to work with. The task were easy to complete. And the pay is okay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work with the County
GSA Janitor (Former Employee) –  San Leandro, CAAugust 27, 2018
Well the County of Alameda was an OK place to work. The work was lite and easy. I would recommend it to anyone getting their first job. The retirement I heard is good.
Pros
Freedom
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Dispatcher/Specialist clerk1 (Former Employee) –  Hayward, CAJuly 19, 2018
interacting with prisoners, learned law enforcement skills and some clerical. The culture was not inviting, the hardest part of the job was being isolated from the public and locked in with inmates the entire shift. The most enjoyable part was the experience and knowledge acquired.
Pros
Being trained to protect yourself
Cons
Being scared of what might happen next
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment
Registrar of Voters Department - Clerk 1 (Temp) (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAJune 13, 2018
It was the best job for a fast understanding on how to file and count votes. We worked long hours because the election was taking place. we finished faster thean expected.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job and helpful people
Registrar of Voters (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAMay 16, 2018
It was a simple job.. Take your time and do everything right the first time and you won't have to do it all over and be late with the materials for the election.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Alameda County, CA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 102 reviews
538
435
319
23
17

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.4InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

3.8Career Opportunities

2.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight