Alameda Health System Management reviews

Found 32 reviews matching the search See all 87 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It sucks
Billing Specialist (Current Employee) –  San Leandro, CAAugust 7, 2018
To many messy people including management to much back biting, talking about people and telling on each other. If your friends with management your in if not the stay on you. People fighting
Pros
Location
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away
Sr. Revenue Integrity Analyst - EBEW (Current Employee) –  San Francisco Bay Area, CAJune 5, 2018
This organization takes dysfunction to another level. Management changes and there is a lack of training. Benefits are excellent but salary levels are horrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of leadership and poor management skills for the program I am working
Masters Social Worker (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAMay 14, 2018
Poor management skills. Person does not understand the program under management; therefore, making poor decisions affecting patients quality of care and service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of leadership, poor communication
Nurse Manager, Highland Hospital (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAMarch 7, 2018
Join the new epic ehr team only if you are desperately looking for a job. The epic ehr program director lacks clinical and operational knowledge, no epic experience, zero people management skills, poor communication skills, but full of attitude and will always belittle you. On top of that very low pay and lots of uncertainty. The only positive side is good health benefits and generous personal time off policy.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Uncertainty, poor/no leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
IS Analyst (Former Employee) –  San Leandro, CAMarch 6, 2018
Worked in the IS department. There was a leadership change and the new EHR program director has no knowledge of Epic or clinical applications and was very hard to work with, so decided to quit.
Pros
good health benefits
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Financial Counselor (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAMarch 2, 2018
Great company to work for. I wish I get more hours. Management are great, employees are friendly. ED is fairly busy. Workload is perfect. You are required to work every other weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good luck with this one
Billing Technician II (Former Employee) –  San Leandro, CAFebruary 27, 2018
lack of leadership, and training tools. Usually nothing but a bunch negativity from the supervisor. it was nice to be able to listen to music on our smartphones while we work. But, I still don't understand why the supervisor complained about me listening to sports podcast with my headphones on. I wasn't disturbing anyone, and if music isn't distracting us from working, sports talk radio shouldn't either.
Pros
benefits, and free shuttle rides to/from the BART
Cons
lack of leadership, and training tools. Usually nothing but a bunch negativity from the supervisor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unorganized
Associate Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAJanuary 11, 2018
Very unorganized and unprofessional place to work. i would not suggest anyone to work here, nothing but stressful and your manager and department rreally does not support you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrific Management
Systems Administrator (Former Employee) –  San Leandro, CASeptember 19, 2017
Management here is horrible. How they have become managers is beyond me, many of them take advantage of working away from their own managers so you hardly ever see them there is a lot of them "working from home" and away from their staff. Very little job intelligence. Expect to do things outside of your job duties and for your manager to take credit.

Feedback from employees is not welcomed and instead you'll be viewed as a problem when you bring to light that many employees are not interested in doing their job. Culture is more like dealing with children, having to constantly babysit. AHS went through a name change two years ago yet many internal documents that employees are expected to use still have the old name, that's how little care there is here. Lots of turnover from the top all the way to the bottom except for those just waiting to ride out their retirement pension.
Pros
Not enough
Cons
Disorganized and poor management, systemwide dysfunction
Was this review helpful?Yes 26NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CASeptember 14, 2017
the management here is horrible. I am glad it was only a temporary job. I would not have taken the permanent role even if they offered it to me. I feel the employees are underpaid and overworked. The health and safety of the employees is not sought after at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport

Want to know more about Alameda Health System?

Ask a question
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse work enviornment
Senior Applications Analyst (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CASeptember 12, 2017
A typical workday at A.H.S. is some what hectic. The management and direction of this organization needs to improve. The work culture can be very challenging. The most enjoyable part of the job is serving the community.
Pros
Serves the community
Cons
To many managers and supervisors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good enviroment and the people are undestanding
CNA/Caregiver (Current Employee) –  Perth Amboy, NJAugust 11, 2017
i like helping and wroking with co-workers and to help the patients. i have had learn many things working there, i learn to be more patiens in what i do and i also learn time management.the people are nice and understanding.
Pros
healthcare
Cons
not enough people to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Staff
Research Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAJune 25, 2017
This hospital is full of wonderful caring devoted individuals who care for Alameda County population.
Management is open to changes and improvement.
Hardest part of job is at time redundancy and lots of paper work.
Pros
wonderful diverse colleages.
Cons
lots of paper work and outdated systems.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work except when managers are replaced for a new one
REGISTERED NURSE II (Former Employee) –  San Leandro, CAJune 7, 2017
A typical day at the job is somewhat busy 1 admission per shift per nurse is standard ratio=4=1 tele 5=1 medsurg, most nurses work hard but management is poor, mgmt, unfair, focus on certain employees, some new managers has poor decision and management skills, management turnaround 1-2 years, some staff has no teamwork in getting job done..
Pros
When it was managed by sutter and eden lots of free lunches during holidays
Cons
Sometimes no break relief at all, Always missing 15 minute breaks due to heavy workload
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Challenging
Radiology/Mammogram QA Technologist (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAMarch 31, 2017
Excellent learning experience for any X-ray technologist graduating.Training in Operation procedures, Emergency room procedures, orthpedic examines, mammogram-screening / diagnostic studies.
Pros
excellent training
Cons
micro management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work!
Interim Manager Employee Health Services (Former Employee) –  San Leandro, CAMarch 17, 2017
Hard-working employees and a sincere desire to take care of their clients. Management is very supportive and while there are some who have yet to transition to a newer way of thinking that aligns with organizational goals and values, there is a noticeable trend to attain that in all members of management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
*** HR Recruitment Team Fears Change
Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CADecember 27, 2016
If you have strategic and/or innovative ideas and enjoy sharing them AHS is not the organization for you. Decent pay, but does not compensate for the lack of overall support.

Im rooting for AHS, but would NOT suggest leaving your current job to work with the organization.

Best of Luck !
Pros
Decent Compensation
Cons
Gossip central, lack of confidentiality, lack of integrity, fear of change from "senior" recruiters, and questionable work ethic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AHS was great!
Health Advocate (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CADecember 20, 2016
AHS provided volunteers with $6.50 for lunch once a week, created a safe space for volunteers, and the management was great. The staff were all so kind.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hr review
Business Partner (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CANovember 16, 2016
you will have awesome coworkers but management is suspect. the overall direction constantly waivers. pay is pretty good for the bay area and the benefits are also fare.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Billing Tech II (Current Employee) –  San Leandro, CASeptember 15, 2016
Coworkers are great and Management recognizes your had work. Everyone is very hardworking and we all have one thing in common, we get the job done. Management is always supportive and is here when we need them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 10Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Alameda Health System. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 87 reviews
524
426
321
29
17

See reviews about

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.1Culture