Albany Public Library Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull day
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYAugust 15, 2018
Pretty simple job with some complex community members. Your tasks are straight forward but there is room for your own personal flair. They respect those who bring new ideas to the table.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
On Call Front Desk Temp (Current Employee) –  Albany, ORAugust 9, 2018
It is a great please to work. We get to meet lots of new people all the time and help them. Coworkers are nice and the bosses are nice too. I would definitely try to work this temp job again next yr if its available.
Pros
Nice coworkers, meet new people, relaxed place to work
Cons
Not many hrs as a temp
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYMay 19, 2018
Really nothing to say other then great place to work and good area and feild also alot of other out reaches that can be useful also good to also interact with the youth program one day a week.
Pros
No free lunch
Cons
Good lunch time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing environment
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYJanuary 27, 2018
It is a great job that's not stressful or fast-paced, but requires a decent level of organizational skills. There is some room for leniency, but it's honestly difficult mess the job up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work and learn new skills, easy paced, good salary
Library Clerk / Part -Time (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYApril 7, 2017
a typical day at work was a very relaxed pace, checking in and out of library materials, helping library customers with questions about library materials and or their library account. help to monitor/manage school aged children in the library after school hours.process new books and discontinue old ones. I learned how to use the library computer system. management was good with giving you feed back about your job performance, i liked that about them so I could focus day to day on the skills I need to improve on. workplace culture was quiet and relaxed but engaged on improving customer service or maintaining excellent customer service. the hardest part of the job is working weekends but I guess that is subjective.the most enjoyable part of the job was the learning process and being able to help the customers.
Pros
easy, quiet environment, fun to learn job
Cons
working weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Atomsphere
Custodian/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYJanuary 30, 2017
Great upper management and work environment.
Great benefits.
The work environment is good with many perks.
The retirement package is also great for long term employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close-knit staff and caring community
Reference Librarian (Former Employee) –  Albany, ORSeptember 30, 2014
The Albany Public Library is a great place to work. The close-knit staff supports and encourages one-another. The community is a pleasure to serve and appreciates the library services. I would highly recommend this library to new librarians looking for experience. The management plays to individual strengths so you have the opportunity to shine. Great people, great place!
Pros
Excellent bennefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Public Computing Center
Public Computing Center Intern (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYMay 2, 2014
The Public Computing Center at Albany Public Library is a great resource for those interested in career building, resume creating, and life advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Albany, ORMarch 18, 2014
In this experience, I got to work with other young adults my age and help out with childrens activities and straighten books.
Pros
Free library card, no late fees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Albany Public Library. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.9
Based on 10 reviews
59
41
30
20
10

Ratings by category

4.6Work/Life Balance
4.3Compensation/Benefits
4.3Job Security/Advancement
4.7Management
4.9Culture

Albany Public Library Reviews by Location