Alco Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
CREW MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Broken Bow, NEApril 7, 2018
The store manger at this location was a good and fair man who knew how to treat people with respect. I would work there again if it had paid more. Not really enough to live off of though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job
Stocker/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cordell, OKApril 1, 2018
loved working here. the salary wasnt something you could live on, the managment was fun to be around, they worked with when you needed time off. you had the ability to move up in the company. the mananger would help you to advance,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work
Operations Group Manager (Former Employee) –  Miller, SDMarch 17, 2018
It was a good place to work. I did like working there, however, I did not get any type of advancement in management higher then where I was at. At the time I worked there, I had no idea that the company was closing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow pace
Sales Floor Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Grafton, NDMarch 16, 2018
An average day at alco is count up the tills read emails from the company on what they wanted done on the sales floor asign employee tasks helping customers
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  IllinoisMarch 8, 2018
Helping people find the items they are looking for and checking out in a timely manor so they would have a pleasant shopping experience. Customers are more often likely to be pleasant when offered help when they can not find what they are looking for.
Management was encouraging and a great team.
Pros
Merchindise discounts
Cons
closed with out any notice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Employment
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Rockingham, NCMarch 3, 2018
The hours were a bit inconvenient at times. The work atmosphere was welcoming at times. I thoroughly enjoyed the customer service aspect. If it wasn't for scheduling, I could have continued employment there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alco was a good company to work for they cared about their employees
Group Manager (Former Employee) –  South Hutchinson, KSFebruary 25, 2018
I was hired as a team leader I went from there to ops manager toward the end of filing bankruptcy I became the store manager.
I was planning on retiring with Alco.
Pros
Something different going on every day. A good work enviroment
Cons
The store filed bankruptcy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alco is closed
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Talihina, OKFebruary 21, 2018
I worked there for a long time and if they hadn't gone bankrupt I would still be there. For a small community it was exactly what we needed. I was very sad to see it go.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company was great to work for.
Associate (Former Employee) –  Eureka, KSFebruary 15, 2018
The people were fun to work with. Every day was kind of different. We always had things to do to stay busy, but it was not overwhelming. It helps to learn people skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  American Falls, IDFebruary 13, 2018
As this was my first job, I was able to absorb and thrive on the new environment. It taught me many things about the common workforce. I was able to take that experience and apply it in my next job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer in business
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Cordell, OKFebruary 6, 2018
Alco is no longer in business. It was a good place to work and taught me a lot about being a manager. This was my first store manager job and it was a place I miss
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and busy
DELI/CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Cheraw, SCJanuary 30, 2018
assisted with preparing the meals for the next shift
worked as a cashier
provided satisfactory customer service
assisted with answering the phone and placing orders
Pros
made friends
Cons
no benefits poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Orange City, IAJanuary 29, 2018
Long days but they did fly by most of the time. Coworkers were really nice and easy to get a long with. Pay was decent for a young high school student.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
store closing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alco
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Winamac, INJanuary 16, 2018
Decent company to work for. However they wen't out of business in 2015 after over 100 years in business. They had over 100 stores at the time they filed bankruptcy and closed them all within a few months.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company went out of business
Softlines Manager (Current Employee) –  Llano, TXJanuary 4, 2018
Company repeatedly told us everything was fine, then without warning the day before the sales started announced it was going out of business. Other than that it was a great job that I really enjoyed, very high stress in the end. Was never paid for the vacation pay they owed me in the end.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hands on. Always something to do.
Appliance Technician (Current Employee) –  Bakersfield, CADecember 11, 2017
Mechanical inclination is a must in this type of work. Loading and unloading industrial laundry equipment to and from locations. Refurbish or change out bad motors or boards on equipment as needed.
Pros
Stress Free, Good management
Cons
No Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The place is closed
Cashier, Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Willcox, AZDecember 9, 2017
The place went bankrupt but i loved it. Defiantly would love to work at a place like this again. there is no more alco so it pointless for me write this review.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place until the store closed down
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Tioga, NDNovember 26, 2017
Alco was a decent place to work until poor decisions at the corporate level caused the whole chain to file for bankruptcy and close down. Normal retail store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours hard work.
Machine Set-up Operator (Current Employee) –  Elyria, OHNovember 16, 2017
I have worked there for going on 10 years. After feeling like I was finally advancing I was pushed back and demoted without any reason given. They have an immature culture there very childish. Decent benefits, pay scale is below industry norms. Typical good old boys club in the management and they like to create positions for family and friends while not promoting from within.
Cons
One 1/2 hr break per day. We run 11 1/2 shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cut Bank, MTOctober 26, 2017
Alco was a fun place to work with many friendly faces. Everyone who worked there I knew personally so nothing ever felt out of place. I always looked foward to going to work there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport