Alere Employee Reviews

Found 402 reviews matching the search See all 438 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Security but Very Stressful!
Accounts Payable Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJanuary 3, 2019
They offer great job security with the amount of work that you have to do but the work can be very stressful due to very short deadline pressures. The work culture could improve as I never felt that I was a part of a work family.
Pros
Co-workers make me laugh a lot, helps to de-stress
Cons
Can never seem to take a break, too much work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
RN/Telephonic Clinical Educator (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZJanuary 9, 2019
Only left because I was laid off. Supportive work culture, great colleagues and adequate management. Enjoyed building rapport with patients and being able to see improvements over time
Pros
Culture, autonomy, ability to work from home
Cons
Poor financial decisions in upper management led to mass lay offs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Process Scientist (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CADecember 10, 2018
Layoffs are common. On site management is poor. Product pipeline and new product launches are sparse. Always playing keep-up with cGMP and was under a letter of warning from the FDA.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limited management understanding and Support with low pay
Sr. Report Analyst (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVOctober 24, 2018
Daily heads-down coding of SQL solutions
Little opportunity to learn or advance with limited tools and support
Little knowledge or support from Management culture
Hard to get support or understanding from Management or team
Leaving the company
Pros
None
Cons
Little knowledge or support from Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focus on income
Clinical Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 9, 2018
Despite sending us emails about how well the company has done each quarter, the layoffs continue.
I was laid off after 13 years, (10 of those years as a manager). I did not miss work despite three intervals of cancer treatments. I worked the evening shift to accommodate my treatments in the morning.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paste
Operator (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 6, 2018
Clean room environment, very fast paste. Learned to operate multiple machines. Management was far. Workplace culture was as treated fairly. The hardest part of the job would be catching up on processing units when a machine is down/operator's work ethic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the job at first
Enrollment Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 20, 2019
I was first hired in the maternity dept. We could get as much overtime as possible. Then the company started going down. The CEO and CFO left unexpectedly.
Pros
When you do maternity enrollments
Cons
The goals for Disease Management is unrealistic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management and Lack of Advancement
Certifying Scientist (Former Employee) –  Gretna, LADecember 28, 2018
Overall, the company has poor management from Human Resources down to mangers in the specific departments. Favoritism is shown greatly and the characteristics shown by those who are qualified for management positions are overlooked by those who are liked most by management (which typically does not work out in the companies favor, because the individual ends up leaving for a position at a new company after accepting the position).
Pros
somewhat flexible schedules
Cons
negative attitudes from management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Other (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNJanuary 19, 2019
lack of trainings
long working hours
supportive and friendly coworkers
it's not a bad environment to work for but management has changed
remote work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Workforce Management Analyst (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 17, 2018
Overall this is a solid company to work for. A lot of transition in recent years but a good organization overall. Culture is fast paced and enjoyed the time with the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Customer Care Specialist (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 25, 2018
The supervisors are lazy and are not willing to help. The upper management show favoritism towards certain supervisors so there is no where to go if yo have a complaint.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, Diverse Environment
Packer (Former Employee) –  Freehold, NJSeptember 27, 2018
Alere provides a busy atmosphere and time flies while having fun with your co-workers as long as you are focused. Management builds their employees confidence via positive reinforcement and strategy in order to provide a more satisfactory delivery to the customer as it keeps the team solid. Keeping up with the pace can be a tad challenging at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for Alere
Senior Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 3, 2018
Working in the maternity management division was a a passionate, fun loving job and well paid. that division is no longer in existence. My colleagues were very dedicated and the customer was a great call point.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work.
Operator 1/ Manufacturing Technician (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 8, 2018
Productive workplace. Work related goals were met.
Management knowledgeable of procedures.
Workplace culture 90 percent parallel. Beautiful campus.
Pros
It was great adventure and a new found career path for me.
Cons
Many spoken languages, other than English
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced working enviorment
Medical Assembler and Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CA 92121July 17, 2018
This company has many levels of career advancements. Job duties are a bit difficult same tasks are being performed everyday. Fast paced working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple work place and friendly people
Operator (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 6, 2019
Great place to work just not long term. They train you really well. Supervisor and assistant manager are friendly as well and do a great job in work place.
Pros
Friendly people
Cons
Short work experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
MANUFACTURING OPERATOR II (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 25, 2018
It's My First Job its a good Company but the hourly is not right for the job that im doing i like the people working their and the job is okey for me, I have a good experience working in this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Boss
Home Care Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INDecember 19, 2018
What made working for this company was the wonderful boss "Tracy" She was always willing to help and we relied on her. The patients I cared for became friends. A love grew for this work and the patients.
Pros
Enjoyable work
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sitting and using headset most of day. Fast thinking required.
Personal Health Consultant (Former Employee) –  Lakewood, COMarch 14, 2018
Spend most of day sitting and answering phones on a headset. Develop rapport with callers. Help many people. Some personalities are difficult, but most feel good about advice given.
Pros
Good pay and benefits.
Cons
Long hours sitting and using headset.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work place
Database Developer (Former Employee) –  Rosemont, ILSeptember 19, 2018
It was a very good place to work. Pay was reasonable. Able to learn new technology and use it. Have a chance to be innovative and get challenged. I was able to learn a lot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Alere. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 438 reviews
5103
4141
3109
235
150

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Alere.

Powered by Comparably