Alexander Youth Network Employee Reviews

Showing all 73 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very low pay grade and no room for advancement. Minimum pay vacation and management and no aappreciation from
Psychiatric TECHNICIAN (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 27, 2018
Poor employer, not wanting to pay staff that have stayed there any more benefits. Poor staff morale and always demanding change from employees. Will not recommend anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy/enjoyed working for the company
Mental Health Counselor (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 11, 2018
The pay is an issue and could be a lot better for PRN in the behavioral health area. The people are friendly but some of the supervisors have there favorite staff and it is noticeable. Overall I believe majority of the time you are treated fairly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Direct Care (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCSeptember 26, 2018
AYN has a good heart. Most of the people that work there want right by kids. As it is a non profit, it is unfortunate that the bottom line means that the hardest and most impactful employees on the front line get paid very minimal.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
No breaks for direct care staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great structure for children
Behavioral Health Couselor (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCAugust 31, 2018
Alexander youth network is a wonderful place for troubled children. Alexander youth network believes in the care of their clients.Alexander youth network goes above and beyond to train there employees every year to ensure employees are updated on policy and procedures. My experience at AYN was definitely a growth experience for me.
Pros
Exstensive free training and free meals and there open door policy
Cons
Short breaks, no wifi
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work there
Residential Counselor (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCAugust 1, 2018
It was my first huh paying job. The kids were amazing and the staff where too. Great structure and administration was great. Good programs were put in place for staff and kids. Administration balance out how to deal with kids and staff.
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
Was striding at time to deal with angry kids
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
place to work
Intensive in Home Team Lead (Former Employee) –  North CarolinaJuly 9, 2018
They have way too much focus on meetings and documentation and not near enough client focus. Hours a day were spent discussing why were were not productive enough and frequently the meetings would run over client appointments. Multiple "fake reviews" weekly where all charts would be combed through and work would halt. Yet no assessment about client's needs.
Pros
larger company with benefits
Cons
not patient centered, paper work centered
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job
Residential Counselor (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 9, 2018
It was a great please to work at the time. pay was good for me at that time but for now i wont work for that much. I like that people that i work with and i like the job that i had
Pros
good environment
Cons
Manager was bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A house but not a home
Behavior Health Counselor (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJune 3, 2018
My experience with working for Alexander Youth Network was rewarding dealing with the kids only. Management and organization was not as rewarding. Often we would have enconsistency because of lack of experienced PRN's. The lack of appreciation for experienced staff left holes in being able to keep a consistent flow and normalcy.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
lack of pay and employee appreciation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful job with great people but lack of communicatin
Intensive In-Home Counselor (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCApril 5, 2018
AYN was great at first, but unfortunately they started going through a lot of changes in management and things began to change. I worked with a great group of people, but we were not heard or respected by the administration in Charlotte. Pay is decent, but raises are not taken seriously. Pay is not enough to keep employees long term. This is part of the reason for high turn over. I did not intend to leave, the company downsized and I was laid off abruptly and with no warning. This is a great place to learn and meet some amazing people, but you will be very stressed out
Pros
Great co worker and good learning opportunity
Cons
Bad healthcare, lack of communication between admin and workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
MST Therapist (Current Employee) –  WilmingMarch 17, 2018
Decent advancement opportunities, stressful at times, compensation is not competitive enough to retain employees long-term. Several opportunities across the state of NC.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience for Internships
Intern (PT) (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 1, 2018
AYN offers several services making it a great place for a counseling student to receive a variety of training and experience. Very well rounded supervisors also.
Pros
Free lunch and options to move within the company
Cons
High turnover rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning ground and opportunity to grow
Dir. of Best Practice, Perform. Improvement Coord. (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 25, 2018
The staff perform well as a unit keeping everyone safe, and providing for the children. There are continuing development opportunities and leadership traning. The programs are meaningful and help support stability for its consumers.

The company pays well and values experience and education
Pros
free lunch on its campus
Cons
community based staff do not have the same perks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former employee
Former employee (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 25, 2018
Time for a important career move. Over worked and under paid. No room for advancement. Certain employee were nice and respectful, others did not speak and sometimes rude.
Pros
Pto, free meals.
Cons
Low pay raise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Pay
Professional (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 1, 2018
The pay sucks, no room for advancement, unless you're one of the favorites. Everyone is a snake in the grass, so trust no one. Employees are not appreciated. High turnover.
Pros
Free lunch IF you're willing to share your 30 min break with screaming kids
Cons
30 min lunch break with NO other breaks, very low pay, stressful, micro managers, no overtime, hard to get time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsatisfactory
Behavioral Health Counselor (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJanuary 15, 2018
I recommend if you are looking at this job look elsewhere. Ratios are not always met. You can only take off 2 days of paid time off even if you have 80hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great collaborative environment
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJanuary 10, 2018
Restructured organizational processes and functions
Worked with management on the redesign of business operations.
Results: Provided comprehensive recommendations to increase staff efficiency, improve service delivery to clients, and increase agency revenue.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
LPC Internship (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCDecember 9, 2017
Absolutely learned so much from my supervisor and have learned how to counsel children during my internship. This is a great work environment and the company is truly helping children who need it.
Pros
Flexible, great hours
Cons
Driving to clients at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would not recommend working here
Behavioral Health Counselor (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCSeptember 28, 2017
There is little to no staff support as the environment is made up of cliques. I was sexually harassed on a daily basis by co-workers. They promoted men before anyone else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, great kids
Behavior Health Counselor PRN (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCSeptember 23, 2017
Love this place it's a quick paced environment. I've been working here for approximately 10 months and I don't intend on leaving. The staff is amazing to work with, they are super supportive when assisting with the children. The volunteers are amazing as well as supervisors. Great support in this environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, flexible
Intensive In-Home Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCSeptember 14, 2017
Alexander Youth Network is a great place to be employed. Intensive In-Home is very flexible with scheduling to see consumers. Management always has an open door policy where staff can discuss thoughts and feelings regarding job responsibilities etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Alexander Youth Network. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 73 reviews
523
428
316
22
14

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture