All-Star Transportation Employee Reviews

Showing all 34 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
All-Star Transportation selected this as a representative review
Great workplace atmosphere and great teamwork
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Torrington, CTFebruary 25, 2019
This company prides itself on safety and provides the best training for new drivers. You will obtain a Class B through this company. You can have your children ride along with you if you don’t have child care available. They offer flexibility for a busy parent.
Pros
Great schedule for those with kids
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very dedicating job
Bus Monitor (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, CTSeptember 26, 2019
Children become a real part of your life. I would return to work with this company, they truly become another family. I would return to work here if I felt as though I would be able to drive the buses.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  New Milford, CTSeptember 24, 2019
I loved working at All-Star Transportation. The company pays well and I also knew some of the people I would have been working with so I had a good time while I was there. I got about halfway through training and I couldn't pass my permit test. It's also too far of a drive for me to pick up my son from preschool in a different town in the middle of my shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drivers are professional.
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Newtown, CTSeptember 22, 2019
I hate writing about my employment, it doesn't seem professional to me. I like the drivers, they are professional. That's all I have to say about this employer.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible work hr for person w children
School Bus Driver (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Woodbury, CTAugust 28, 2019
great place for someone w children free training and holidays to enjoy w love ones advancement opportunities place to grow in your workplace should consider it as a possibility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It eas a good place
Bus Monitor (Former Employee) –  Prospect, CTAugust 20, 2019
Everyone was nice became friends with a lot of good people and are still friends with them as of now and hope to aleays be frirnds my boss was great very understanding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gratifying
Dispatcher/School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Seymour, CTAugust 10, 2019
If I didn’t have to move, I would have still been working there. I sincerely loved and enjoyed going to work at All Star Transportation, Seymour Lot.
The best group to be a part of.
All Star to me was my family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay company to work for.
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Seymour, CTJuly 23, 2019
I would not recommend it. There's a reason why they're always hiring. No benefits, no holidays pays. No hours during the summer except for the favorite ones.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for moms
Driver (Former Employee) –  Torrington, CTJuly 12, 2019
A good job for mothers or retired people who want to make extra money. Not the perfect job for the person who wants to make money, it is impossible, they do not let you do more than 40 hours per week to avoid paying time and a half. You have to be calm with the children or you will hate your work every day. If you like helping young people, talking to them may be work for you.
Pros
summer and weekend off if you like it
Cons
not to many hour to make
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect job for the end of the Carrier.
Bus Monitor (Current Employee) –  Oxford, CTJune 28, 2019
It gives you time to do some errands between shifts and people are nice and friendly. Pay is good comparing what else you have to do somewhere else for the same money.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best School Bus Company yet.
CDL License Driver (Former Employee) –  Monroe, CTApril 19, 2019
I've worked for three companies in the past 15 years and All-Star is a very good company for drivers. Good training, newer clean buses. Management is effective and well organized.
Pros
Newer Buses
Cons
Lack of overtime hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not employee friendly
School bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Oxford, CTApril 11, 2019
Not employee friendly, you’re not valued. High turnover. High responsibility job, no high pay, no health insurance, dental offered and paid by employee. Able to collect unemployment in summer was only perk.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Company Feel
Recruiting Manager (Former Employee) –  Pacific, MOApril 5, 2019
Good family atmosphere, small company. For the most part, was a good company to work for. Located outside of the heavy traffic areas in St. Louis area for commuting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
School Bus Driver• Driver (Current Employee) –  Waterbury, CTFebruary 3, 2019
Manager is understanding. Job is easy Consists of driving a school bus. CDL licensing is paid for by company. Hours are during school hours and very easy to work. Summers and holidays off but unpaid.
Pros
holidays off
Cons
unpaid snowdays, no paid holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You get to see your smiling children's faces everyday
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, CTSeptember 5, 2018
The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing that each and every student was dropped off safely at their distination. Interacting with parents and teachers during my tenure.
Pros
Flexible schedule for my child
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sparse office area. sometimes clean
Student Transportation (Former Employee) –  New Milford, CTAugust 31, 2018
There is a huge responsibility driving a bus full of children. Drivers are not compensated based on job, even though the demand is high. No health Benefits are provided.
Pros
split schedule
Cons
lack of benefits and lack of management support
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace ,friendly ,respectful
Bus driver-Monitor (Current Employee) –  Torrington, CTAugust 13, 2018
It's great Job for Single mom
They help with your schedules work .
Friendly, respectful.They focus on student safety.The drivers are very responsible etc
Cons
You have time for your appointment groceries laundry, etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for part time work
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Torrington, CTJuly 16, 2018
Part time morning and afternoon. only during the school year. Best to get another p/t job in the middle of the day. Some weekend work. Summer and holidays off with no pay. Nice managers.
Pros
weekends, holidays and summers off
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, CTMay 8, 2018
Come in at 6am ,start all busses ,and when they come in from their morning route fuel busses
Good place to work if you have little ones and cant afford a baby sitter
Going out their and drive on snow days
Love having summers off with your childs
Pros
Summer cook outs
Cons
Getting paid from employement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Torrington, CTMarch 5, 2018
bus driver is a good job because has a flexible schedule but the thing is that is outside whether condition plus there are a lot day off and holidays without being paid ...
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
no school no paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont work there
Driver (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJanuary 8, 2018
I would not recommend anybody to work there no benefits vans are not up to good working standards employers are unprofessional and they lack the basic skills needed to run a successful company
Pros
None
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Official response from All-Star Transportation
September 4, 2018

Every company has disgruntled former employees. This comment does not truthfully speak to the professionalism of the company and its employees.

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at All-Star Transportation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 34 reviews
514
49
35
23
13

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
2.5Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.5Culture