Allen School Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Online Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee) –  Nyack, NYNovember 23, 2017
great place to work. Nice people and always willing to help. Challenging work of many aspect and interesting topics related to education. Course authorship offered.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Assistant
One-on-One Assistant to 5th grade student (Former Employee) –  Medford, NJNovember 15, 2017
I assisted the Special Education Teacher in lessons. Helped students in writing essays and life skills. I supervised students on the playground and in the lunchroom. I learned that communication with teaching and other staff is crucial. The workplace culture is a relaxed in nature with monthly gatherings in order to socialize with staff members.
Pros
free lunch from parent association
Cons
lack of benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Financial Aid Officer (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 10, 2017
My first experience of how an unpleasant work environment can lead to the detriment of the company and lack of staff morale. The most enjoyable part of the job was my clients and the 2 friends I made.
Cons
Unprofessional environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working with the children and friendly staff
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Little Rock, ARJuly 26, 2017
Love working with the children and the friendly staff members.... Good environment, the staff are very passionate about working with kids that have disabilities...... Good communication skills between the staff and the parents
Pros
Good environment
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun atmosphere
Instructional Services Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYApril 21, 2017
Working with other co-workers I learned to help
Others and be there for other people the culture
Was a positive one at the allen school the hardest
Part was when I made a mistake but as they say you
Learn from your mistakes and just move-on.
Pros
Good working place
Cons
Long hours 6 days a week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Teacher/Instructor (Current Employee) –  Jamaica, NYJanuary 10, 2017
Well organized. Lectures are given thru prepared PPT presentation. Friendly environment. Lot of subjects to teach for a period of 5 weeks. Again renewal of contract required.
Pros
Flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and high energy working place
Associate Director of Financial Aid (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYDecember 27, 2016
I have enjoyed my time at the Allen School. Everyone i have had the pleasure to work with has been nothing but supportive. I have learned so much in my 4 years there that I will take with me as i continue to grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Longest and Best Job Every Had
Dir. Stdnt Accts/Accts Receivable & Payable (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 25, 2016
I enjoyed coming to work on time and leaving after my scheduled time. Although we weren't paid for overtime, I enjoyed staying and getting projects completed. I learned everything from the bottom up. I learned how to deal with irate students, teachers, and parents. Learned to be compassionate and understanding to students. Customer Service skills were used daily. Collection and recording of cash and credit card payments. Updated ledger cards. Understood transferring of funds from Federal Accounts into Business Accounts. Learned how retention is so important to schools revenue.

The hardest part of my job was getting students to pay their tuition on time.

Most enjoyable part of my job was the rewards after completing projects.
Pros
Co-workers felt more like family. Team work.
Cons
Not being able to get a better handle on delinquent students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
school is located near the subway
Director of Academic Affairs (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 11, 2015
It is a small school with only two basic courses, Medical Assistant and Nursing assistant. It needs to improve on student retention and career development
Pros
faculty works well together, classrooms are small and well lighted
Cons
attendance is more important than learning
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workable
Course Builder (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 17, 2015
I worked online answering the phones, helping students use the internet, microphone and run lectures. Also, helping them long into live lectures. When I was not helping students online I was building out or revising courses.
Pros
A lot to do
Cons
was laid off
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to be and learned a lot in 6 months
Student (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, New YorkJune 14, 2015
Met a lot of friends there and learned a lot from the teachers. Great school to be at. Lots of fun activities to enjoy like holiday food drive and thanksgiving food fest, bring a friend/family to school day and a lot more
Pros
Long Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Teacher's Aide/Assistant (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARMay 23, 2015
I loved, loved, loved this school. Absolutely wonderful place, everything is well thought out and organized. Everyone there was sweet and I enjoyed working with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a place where you learn alot of new things
medical assistant (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMarch 3, 2015
i learned how to draw blood, take vital signs and many more great things. management was good. my classmates wanted to learn as much as i did.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great College
Honor Student (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 15, 2014
The Allen School provided a wonderful opportunity to learn and achieve my goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical assistant
Externship (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 2, 2014
Love during the time, I was there, I did my externship there for 300 hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Assistant to the Academic Dean (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NYFebruary 7, 2014
The staff was very hel[pful to new employees, I worked with a intelligent and professional administration where the business was productive and busy daily. All co-worker got along and assisted each other to whenever necessary. Would recommend this company anytime, very goal oriented and helping the community company.
Pros
Very nice staff and employees
Cons
Distance traveling
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic company with excellent training.
Online Admissions Representative (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZDecember 5, 2013
I loved my job here. Unfortunately, I left Phoenix after 15 yrs to come home to Chicago as I had a family member who was ill and needed me.
Pros
hours, employee respect and good culture
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and fun environment
Lead Admissions Advisor (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 25, 2013
My typical work was consistent on the go, helping student change their lives. Co-workers are like a family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management team. high turnover rate
enrollment advisor (Former Employee) –  brooklyn campusAugust 16, 2013
turn and burn company. they get you in then get you out fast. not stable at all
Pros
good starting salary
Cons
no 401k, not stable, lack of advancement opp, no perks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management team love everyone
Admissions Representative (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 14, 2013
Enjoyed working for the company and helping to enroll students
Pros
Great management team
Cons
No upward mobility
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Allen School. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 30 reviews
514
46
35
23
12

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.8Culture