Allied Van Lines Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Made a few lifetime friends. Talk to them to this day.
Lead Packer (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKApril 2, 2018
This was not my first job. But overall the best opportunity I had to start with. Was very fortunate to have foud worked there for a while. Did hard work, but everyday was different.
Pros
Overtime after 8 hrs. Didn't ever lose overtime, and in winter had sinourity over all the packers. So, alway had work.
Cons
Benefits, none, just vacation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was able to work over time when needed and was able to pick my time off.
Mailroom Clerk (Former Employee) –  IllinoisJuly 1, 2018
We were always busy in the mail room. We had incoming and out going mail every day. We had to learn new procedures when the mail prices changed. We accepted mail and then had to sort and distribute it throughout the building. At one time we had over 900 employees.
Pros
It was always keeping you on your toes, you had to be careful not to put the wrong postage on the out going mail.
Cons
Sometimes we were asked to do almost impossible tasks, like figure out how to send seashells out inthe mail without getting them broken.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Company just like the rest
Professional Mover (Former Employee) –  United StatesOctober 26, 2018
Allied doesn't go too far to ensure they keep their employees. Always trying to cut costs like most major van lines. The work is fairly consistent if you get in with the right people and are a good mover. But unless you're a CDL driver, good luck in the winter time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work so far if you are with the right agency
OTR Driver Dispatcher Morse Moving (Former Employee) –  Romuslus, MISeptember 17, 2018
Work Morse/Allied van as Dispatcher and OTR Driver. Great place to work for …. You are treated like family...Company takes care of their Equipment. Regular maintenance kept up.
Pros
People care about your needs
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
PACKER/MOVER (Former Employee) –  Turlock, CANovember 21, 2018
great company to work at everyone is like a family there, simple job, lot of heavy lifting, definitely straining work at times, and getting up at 330 am sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
SUPERVISOR/OFFICE (Former Employee) –  Conway, SCOctober 6, 2018
I worked there as a supervisor and office manager. It is really hard work for very little pay for most people. It has very few women. It is a small company and going out of business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast paced way to unpack old residenes and pack new residences
Labor Helper (Former Employee) –  Poway, CAAugust 15, 2018
Allied Van lines moves boxes and furniture from previous residences into new residences. The workers are mostly expert truck drivers who move things. It helps to have a semi truck
Pros
A great move
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly people and great company to work for
Auditor (Former Employee) –  Westmont, ILAugust 16, 2012
A typical day at work at allied van lines consisted of going over paperwork to make sure you had all the necessary documents to audit the move and making a lot of phone calls to the other allied agents to get the proper paperwork you needed. I learned that alot of people have different needs when it comes to moving. The management staff their was great. My co-workers were the best. The hardest part of the job was the summers when it would get extremely busy and the work would start stacking up. The most enjoyable part of the job was the job itself. I really enjoyed being an auditor and talking to the agents everyday.
Pros
health benefits and overtime was great and vacation pay.
Cons
not enough workers to help in the summer with the workload
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent customer communication
Self Employed Owner/Operator (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJune 18, 2018
interacting with customers/client in person and by telephone on a daily basis.
I learned that what clients want most is to know that they are important and that you are listening, that you are sincere about resolving any problems they may have.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mover
Mover/Driver (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 5, 2018
Work was difficult at times, you earn your pay when you work as a mover, hard working. Working with customers was great, manual labor was intensive and hot during the summer months.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful environment. Difficult to work in this environment.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYJanuary 13, 2018
This family owned business was run by a father and son who did not get along with each other and whose management style including a lot of screaming at each other and the employees. It was very stressful to go into this office every day.
Pros
Boss was not on site every day
Cons
Whenever the father and son were in the office at the same time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment Poor management
Call Center Representative (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INMay 14, 2015
A typical day would be 200-300 cold calls a day.

I learned not to be a partial manager

My co-workers were wonderful and caring.

The hardest part was fitting in with the management

I loved my job but the management had something to desire.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good management in florida market
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLFebruary 14, 2018
Good place to work. Rvp is very attentive and hard working. Area is convenient to airport and local highways. Company spends money on safety for the equipment and facility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very unique way of seeing this country
CO-OWNER FRISBY TRUCKING (Former Employee) –  United StatesOctober 2, 2017
Lots of hard labor which gave a sense of personal satisfaction when the job was successfully completed. Used all my skill as an Executive Assistant to be an effective contractor for both corporate HQ and the customers.
Pros
Seeing this country and a sense of accomplishment
Cons
Long days away from home and physical exertion was a constant concern
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
- fun as could be
Logistics Analyst/Sales and Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Greensburg, PANovember 20, 2017
- while not my ideal job, I learned much at B&E; I was thrust into management role, and relied on my skills to enact decisions, and to direct personnel
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would verbally discuss with recruiter.
Berger Transfer An Agent (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHNovember 7, 2017
I would verbally discuss with recruiter. While Allied Van lines is a good company to be a part of, the local agencies are not customer centric. I am looking for an organization to develop and manage new clients business and be able to support to new business operationally.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Contract Driver (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSApril 26, 2012
I am punctual,I am prompt and I am looking for A good employer to demonstrate my professionalism and loyalty. I am also a very good relocation specialist residential and commercial. I have been certified in packing and moving of product. I have a good driving record ,also a very good customer service. I like to stay busy.Have learned to listen. self motivate ,work good with others,hardest thing is having to sat around a lot.finishing a job new or old gives me a good feeling and seeing the satisfied look on a customers face.
Pros
advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life-Altering Work
Specialized Delivery Technician (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCMay 10, 2017
I loved working at Allied. It was an enjoyable experience riding in the truck each day, having many laughs with my driver and learning about the western parts of North Carolina. I was able to improve my ability to speak with customers and learn from them all while providing a valuable service. It is very difficult to transport goods and products to mountain areas and all of our customers were more than appreciative that we were able to do so.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place
Driver and Mover (Current Employee) –  NYJanuary 30, 2017
Was a great experience driving for them but moving forward and growing was not something that was going to happen.
The hardest part of the job is seeing people upset daily when moving them out of their childhood homes into a new location.
The downside is your scheduling you do not have a set schedule you must call in a recording at night.
I enjoyed the traveling you never know where you are going until you go in and get the paperwork in the morning. I've been all over NJ NY CT MASS DC PA ect
Pros
Never boring
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Loader/Unloader (Former Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCJune 5, 2017
you load and unload trucks its ok but for the starting pay and no overtime you have to do to much to get a good check but its a good start for young kids or a person who dosent have a place to work
Pros
good place to get on your feet
Cons
needs to pay better
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Allied Van Lines. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 56 reviews
531
414
311
20
10

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.0Culture