Aloha Petroleum Employee Reviews

Showing all 23 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being productive and resourceful
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Honolulu, HIJuly 10, 2018
Working as a new employee with aloha , they give me fair treatment , teaching me all the chores I wanna learn with no hesitation ,,! Benifits are good ! And management is excellent !
Pros
Holiday paid
Cons
Short break
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gave bonuses if store passed evaluations
Full-time manager trainee (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIJuly 2, 2018
Aloha Petroleum did not take care of their management team. Some of the managers are working 60- 112 hours per week at a salary pay.
But working as a manager in training was okay because it was hourly pay and your work day was 40 hours a week.
Pros
gasoline benefits
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Company I've ever worked for.
Terminal Operator (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIApril 7, 2018
The hours can be long and a bit unpredictable but I never had a stressful day there. They really took the time to train me and the environment was friendly and welcoming. The compensation and benefits are outstanding. I couldn't recommend this place enough.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kapolei, HIMarch 5, 2018
It was a faced pace type of job. Had to learn how to take constructive criticism. I got promoted to lead sales and was a part of the management team. The hardest part of the job was working by yourself.
Pros
Not micro managed
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIFebruary 7, 2018
working there was ok
the thing i liked is we all got along well..the only thing was management needed to be worked on. The supervisors were ok just the main manger he was bringing his religious ways towards work which we all go to church its just some had different beliefs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face paced yet loved interacting with customerers
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hilo, HIOctober 19, 2017
A typical work day at Aloha Petroleum usually consist of assisting customers with quality customer service skills. Keeping the work area safe and clean. I'd say the hardest part of the job would be completing all your job duties in a timely manner. If you miss use your time by slacking off than your duties will not get done and it'll fall on the next shift. I enjoy working in a fast paced environment, it make the time go by faster.
Pros
Interacting with the customers
Cons
On our feet for 8hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aloha Petrelium Store good place and fun place for me
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HISeptember 27, 2017
My days of working, I worked very hard as a good team worker, we learned a lots, good working place as we do every day, good management also do the very hard best manage the company in our working place.
Pros
own lunch
Cons
good break time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Waipio Point, HIAugust 11, 2017
Always smile...answer all questions as best as you can..have good customer service....keep moving all the time...always help others if help is.needed...
Pros
Free 24hrs fitness
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Captain Cook, HIAugust 8, 2017
during my shift at aloha petroleum, I had requested off ahead of time for a funeral. And never gotten my requested day off. so I had left the job to move back to Hilo and help take care of my grandparents.
Pros
benifits
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun! Friendly!
Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Nānākuli, HIApril 14, 2017
Aloha Petroleum is one of those best place to work at. They really take care of they're employees. Rate is awesome and my Manager was awesome too. You just have to work at the right location.
Pros
Strictly
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

Want to know more about Aloha Petroleum?

Ask a question
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Nānākuli, HIApril 9, 2017
small convenient store. Low customer count. Very easy, no stress. Clerks and customers very friendly. Management works with clerks on schedules. Not that much to do. Assignments can be completed within1-2 hours. Figuring out what to do for the next 4-6 hours is the question.
Pros
Pay for your own food items
Cons
Slow
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day as a gas station associate
LEAD ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Kalaheo, HIMarch 31, 2017
Typical day here would involve just watching employees, opening up the shop closing the shop. Waiting for customers to come buy gas or cigarettes. Waiting for something or anything to do.
Pros
Just sitting waiting for customers
Cons
Gets very slow
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company resources are at every employees disposal
Construction Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Honolulu, HIMarch 21, 2017
Aloha Petroleum treats their employees well. The systems and standards are still a work in progress which for a company that has as much resources available due to a extremely large parent company is somewhat baffling. Some long time employees are resistant to the changes that upper management wants to do for the betterment of everyone. For productivity to be better among the various departments, these "silos" must be taken out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Aloha Petroleum
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  HawaiiMarch 20, 2017
They string along contractors with hopes of making them perm, but the reality is they rather have contractors due to company revenue issues. HR presents false advertisements and attempts to lure bright individuals, but after only a month I was able to see their inner workings and made full effort to abandon their ship.

Pros
There are good peeps working in the trenches (NOT Management)

Cons
The list is too long...
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is a challanged and different day
Driver/Operator (Current Employee) –  Honolulu Harbor, HIMarch 12, 2017
Great Company to work for, Safety is number one. great benefits,
job security is a big plus. A very family ordinated company.
The people are good to work with.
Pros
Job security
Cons
you have to be mentally fit and focus
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and easy going work place
Lead Diesel Mechanic (Former Employee) –  kapolia HIMarch 2, 2017
Great job nice people I wouldnt change anything about the place or the people. Even the office people are kind and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Environment
Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Honolulu, HIJuly 14, 2016
They string along contractors with hopes of making them perm, but the reality is they rather have contractors due to company revenue issues. HR presents false advertisements and attempts to lure bright individuals, but after only a month I was able to see their inner workings and made full effort to abandon their ship.

I'm much happier now!!
Pros
There are good peeps working in the trenches (NOT Management)
Cons
The list is too long...
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work and fast paced with enjoy able attitude
Cashier and Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hilo, HIJuly 5, 2016
Any typical work day varies. Lots of duties to be done on time management. Very easy with a dependable partner and with job skilled experience.
Everyday duties was ALWAYS left behind because of late arrivals, lack of team work and communication, employee excuses and over all lack of control by Management.
Over All Employment here pay is Good also benefits.
Pros
Benefits, and Pay
Cons
Excuses, Lies, Conspiracy and Favoritism.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very dangerous job, had to be on your toes all the time,
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  HawaiiJune 7, 2015
With a young family it was difficult being on call 24/7 but I did it. Co worker was a little strange but tolerable, sometimes it was fun. Learned a lot about the petroleum business and maintaining equipment.
Pros
Drove company van. lunch at leisure time while on tnhe road. Working outdoors
Cons
Pay did not match the job position and responsibilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management needs to be more organized.
Terminal Operator (Former Employee) –  Kapolei, HIOctober 28, 2014
Co workers work well with one another and make work pleasant. Management is always out to cut heads and blame and point fingers. Although the Petroleum industry is a very rewarding career, the down fall is that theres very little for alternate jobs being that hawaii is so limited in this industry.
Pros
decent pay
Cons
one man crew at night, very dangerous and high risk
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Aloha Petroleum. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 23 reviews
59
44
36
22
12

See reviews about

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture