ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Donor Engagement Intern (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNAugust 5, 2018
I don’t have much to say. I’ve oretty much answered your questions in all of thin other questions I have answered for you already. Too many questions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting WorkPlace with lots of learning and growth
Director of Operations (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 3, 2018
You get to learn a lot in all roles at this company. They encourage creative thinking within your work group. Everyone is very mission focused and we are constantly looking for way to improve in our support of St. Jude Children's Research Hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working Environment
Systems Engineer/ Quality Assurance Engineer (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNMay 14, 2018
ALSAC is an inclusive,innovative organization full of fun,dedicated people who never lose sight of the St.Jude mission.The work Is Challenging,and the Pace fast,but i always feel supported in my efforts and inspired to achieve more.
Pros
Accessible leaders, great benefits, food trucks, vending machines, innovation space
Cons
None that i can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business Analyst Contractor
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNApril 30, 2018
Gather requirements to assess the current state of system, and meeting with stakeholders and users to target pain points for the upgrading of the system. Learn Crystal Reports and Kronos systems. However, management displayed a low loyalty to employees. In that I worked for a contractor, the manager of the contracting company and the ALSAC manager frequently discussed other employees in my present. The hardest part of the job was gathering information due only one SME was assigned to specific task and there was not a backup person for SME. The most enjoyable part of the job was I met new people, the pay, and the time off.
Pros
pay, culture
Cons
poor leadership, limited trained employees, poor management intergity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Summary
St. Jude Support Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNApril 26, 2018
I would verfy calls that co worker's have taking from customer's that was wanting to sign up for different types of events. Also place order's for prizes.When school complete there Event.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great mission. Very strategic.
Specialist, Donor Engagement (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNApril 23, 2018
ALSAC is the best in the business when it comes to fundraising strategy. I learned a lot about how to scale a fundraising plan to include many vehicles of giving, donor stewardship, and event logistics. My team at ALSAC was my favorite team I've ever worked for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment & Great Benefits
Scrum Master (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNApril 21, 2018
The full time employee benefits can not be beat in the Memphis area. The salary is above average for the area. The work force is welcoming, kind and fun to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organization driven by passionate people
Director - Southeast Region (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 3, 2018
ALSAC/St. Jude is driven by the passion for the mission of tasing funds for St. Jude Children's Research Hospital. We have aggressive goals, and we work hard to reach them. The organization focuses on having high performers, providing professional development opportunities, and supporting work-life integration.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10/10 would recommend
Field Operations Intern (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXMarch 13, 2018
Interning at ALSAC was the best thing that could have happened to me. The employees at the local office were so welcoming and taught me so many pieces of valuable knowledge to build my professional toolkit. I found my first job out of college because of a connection I made during my internship.
Pros
Long group lunches, great benefits, meaningful work
Cons
Rebuilding capital every year because the root of the job is fundraising
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love st jude
Intern (Current Employee) –  MemphisMarch 5, 2018
Working for ALSAC allowed me to be a part of something bigger than myself. St Jude is doing so much good and it is awesome to be a part of that. The management is good. ALSAC creates an employee first job environment. The employees are loved and cared for.
Pros
Some free lunches
Cons
Some days are long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place to Work
Director (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 1, 2018
This was my dream place to work for years and I finally took the plunge and moved to Memphis to make it happen about 6 years ago. Best move I ever made.

Just like any place of employment, some days are better than others, but when you stop and think about the mission here, you quickly realize your "bad" days aren't so bad.

I've had great leadership from the start and it's such a collaborative workplace. There is a team environment that I've not experienced in previous workplaces.

I feel that I'm compensated fairly and the benefits are outstanding.

It's just such a great feeling to know that my work is helping save lives.
Pros
Benefits, Collaboration, Development Opportunities, The Mission
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No place I'd rather be.
IT Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNFebruary 22, 2018
I left America's #1 city to come here specifically for the mission of St. Jude Children's Research Hospital.

This experience has given me an open sky for career growth. I'm great at what I do and now I know many other new things that I can continue to expand my working knowledge on.

A typical project can introduce you to upwards of 40-50 new people in our organization. We're willing to fail together and able to celebrate wins together.

We're family friendly and compassionate. We're able to eat on campus, workout, sing in a choir, and many other human activities. What sets us apart is that we allow time for these things, instead of offering them and then forcing everyone to work too much to enjoy them.
Pros
Health Care, Pto, Location, Food Trucks, Flexibility, Great Pay, Great Mission, Renovated Working Spaces, Awesome Team Building
Cons
Fast paced, Not for the anyone with weak work ethic
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission focused, diversity and culture
Senior Philanthropic Advisor (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAFebruary 19, 2018
This mission, finding cures, saving children, and the fact that no family ever receives a bill, are amazing and inspiring. There is a significant commitment to diversity & inclusion. There has been from the origins of the organization - designed by an African-American architect in the 1950s and the patients and families as well as staff were multi-faith, multi-ethnic and fully integrated as well. Culture pillars are a priority - People First - including diversity & inclusion, Strategic, Innovative, Collaborative, Working without silos, High Performing, Service.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An absolute dream job
Specialist - Marketing Strategy & Planning (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNFebruary 19, 2018
I came to ALSAC/St. Jude as a contractor, relocating and hoping for the best. Within 11 months I was able to obtain a full time position and expand my knowledge, responsibilities and involvement across the organization. I had a team of empowering men and women that were constantly paving the way for growth and challenge.

ALSAC is fair, transparent, and embodies a culture that is inclusive of everyone. It's truly a top-down effort. Management and senior leadership treat you as a friend and respect the work/life balance need.

There truly is no better place to work than ALSAC/St. Jude.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Internship
Strategic Partnerships Intern (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNFebruary 14, 2018
During my time at ALSAC I was able to learn so much about the professional workplace. They placed an emphasis on our professional development and being able to work within a team. A typical day consisted of me collaborating with my team members on the days task, getting details ready for specific upcoming events amd gathering research and date on existing partners.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large, effective organization, spotty culture
MARKETING RESEARCH SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNFebruary 1, 2018
I enjoyed my time at ALSAC. It's a first-rate organization that's growing every year my every metric--geographically, number of employees, and most importantly in terms of fundraising for St. Jude Children's Research Hospital. Opportunities for advancement abound, and, although I didn't get them as a contractor, it provides excellent pay and benefits for a nonprofit.

There's certainly a culture of high performance, strategic thinking, collaboration and people first at ALSAC, however, at such a large organization, it shows up to different degrees depending on what department/team you're in, and depending on management. The most consistent factor I can point to is that everyone is religiously nice. The term ALSAC-nice gets tossed around a lot. On the other hand, two other culture pillars, "innovative" and "without silos," were not as consistent in my experience. Although I would assume they do great work, the innovation team is small and has trouble disseminating information through the organization. Also, because of the organization's size, departments rarely tend to operate "without silos." Having said that, it's great that leadership has prioritized these culture pillars as ideals to strive for, and if the organization keeps growing and drawing talent like it has, maybe it will fall into place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Intern (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJanuary 13, 2018
Wonderful place to work with many people who care about the cause. It is a young work environment, and every day they become closer to ending childhood cancer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non-Profit Organizaiton
VOLUNTEER (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAJanuary 9, 2018
ALSAC/ST. Jude Children's Research Hospital volunteers work for no payment. It's all about the fundraising and general enjoyment. I enjoy the annual (once a year) Walk/Run that they hold every September. It's immensely enjoyable for me to see the Walk/Run participants having a great time at the stands we set up, where they can participate in making small projects, and there are little creative things for young children to do as well.
Pros
Non-Profit, snacks and refreshments
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay
Specialist I (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNDecember 19, 2017
This is a good company to work for but some of the management should not be in their positions. They are not promoting if you do a good job they are promoting if you are a pick.
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
The hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Lead Strategist (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNNovember 8, 2017
ALSAC is a great place to work, however, after working there for years I began to feel the need to see what other opportunities were out there. It's a great place to grow with excellent people and benefits.
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
Limited advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 97 reviews
544
432
315
22
14

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.9Culture