Alside Employee Reviews

Showing all 84 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team and family feel at each supply center.
Inside Sales (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 6, 2018
Each supply center had it's own way of operating depending on certain products sold and client needs in that region. Was interesting getting to know different customers and the products they used in certain areas compared to other areas. Some contractors sold certain products that others did not and made their living with them.

Typical day at work was fullfilling contractor product orders, ordering windows and doors from the factory for contractors, taking phone calls from contractors, maintaining warehouse duties, loading and unloading trucks of building materials, acting as liaison between sales representatives and 100 accounts.
Pros
Always busy, lots of customers, lots of benefits, consistent workload, free lunches and meals, 401K matching, Monday - Friday schedule, no nights or weekends.
Cons
Lots of driving to deliver customer materials.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and a variety of cultures
Production Lead (Former Employee) –  Cuyahoga Falls, OHAugust 22, 2018
I was a lead of 3 production lines. Management was tough and set unrealistic goals to push their employees and the working hours were subjected to change at the drop of a dime.
Pros
There were always hours to work not much slow time
Cons
Busy season was extremely busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCJune 29, 2018
I worked for Alside as an Inside Sales/SSR for almost 4 years. Constant change over in employees, had a change in branch management who had zero background in building supply, horrunable people skills and could not manage the center do to his incompetence in the job knowledge necessary to direct subordinates. This is a direct reflection from upper management who stresses more work with the least amount of staff possible, which in turn makes it extremely difficult to service customer base. In essence, if you want a highly successful, no support. And a manager that doesn't know the job, then I would highly not recommend this job. Inwokukd not recommend working for Alside, other building supply companies are far more superior in price, pay, benefits.
Pros
8 hours, medical benefits
Cons
Terrible management, highly stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse worker
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHJune 5, 2018
Not paid enough for working that hard not enough benefits for the worker pay need to be raise I learn how to work at a face pace the hardest part was putting the windows up
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work and pay was decent. Upper management, not so much
Driver/Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCMay 31, 2018
My ops manager was great, but above him it was all about that dollar. They didn't care about the average worker. Pay was ok for this area, but could have been better. There was an environment where if you were willing to work then you got a lot put on you, however if you are the type to sit in your truck at a jobsite for an hour then you had it made and not a lot asked of you. They typically employ 2 drivers, and have been open at my location about 4 years. So far that I know of, they have been through about 8 drivers which averages out to 6 months per driver. If things get slow, you can be assured you will not get 40 hours.
Pros
Decent work for the pay and benefits, home every night
Cons
Unfair work environment, slow time, cut throat upper management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employment
Inside Sales (Current Employee) –  Lubbock, TXMay 16, 2018
Great place to work. Plenty of opportunities. Great place to get training. In my eleven years of employment, I went from warehouse to window specialist
Pros
Overtime
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, Excellent Staff!! Great Management
Driver Warehouse (Current Employee) –  Cheektowaga, NYMay 15, 2018
Here at Alside the normal day would consist of handling roofing appointments to numerous drop shipments all day weather pending. The crew they currently have are all hands on and ready to assist any fellow driver on any given hour of the day. I knew nothing of roofing and siding or any type of product that serves constructing a house or garage etc. I wasnt here long but i would refer anyone i know and encourage you to apply. I could not get accustomed to the early morning shift of 6-7am until 4-5pm then driving an hour home to wake up and do it again. I have been running a 2-3am schedule until finished around 9-10 am or noon then home, my own schedule as delivery route driver, so....wish i could mention names because this place is a great family type atmosphere and i wish i could take them with me, good people to work for are hard to find, AAA+++ Manager and Warehouse Manager are GREAT!! I dont want to forget about the inside sales team i have been lucky enough to meet, really great people working here at this location but i had to go back to nights!!
Pros
Management, Supervisor, Warehouse Manager, Entire Staff
Cons
Not able to get used to the hours, and consistent customer changes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull
Roof Loader/roof loader trainer (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLApril 24, 2018
Place is very stressful. Some decisions made by the staff don’t make any sense. Full of childish people with negative attitudes. Not much room for growth. Company is very slow to put any plan into action.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good group of people
Employee (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXApril 20, 2018
Great place to work. Like the people who are there and management is great to work for. Teamwork is mentioned alot and safety is a talked about also, sometimes too much.
Sometimes it is very busy , but like working with customers. They do a pretty good job in hiring but occasionally one slips through.
Ok medical and 401k. Pay is decent. Great hours. Sometime OT is needed but not often.
Pros
Good people to work with and good hours
Cons
Could pay better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
provide glass and windows for companies and customers
Screener (Former Employee) –  Cuyahoga Falls, OHApril 14, 2018
This was a very fast paced and stressful job. Very hot and long hours.I was a window screener. My duties included cutting screens to place them in the windows. We always had to be very careful and focus so that the screen were cut in the precise manner in order to fit the window.
Pros
There was always overtime available
Cons
No air condition in the factiiry
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXApril 12, 2018
Management loves to play favorites and there are too many cliques. If you are not in their clique, they will make your life a living mess. No room for advancement. When a position opens up, they would rather hire someone outside of the company instead of hiring from within. Do not walk away from this job...RUN AWAY!!!
Pros
Decent pay, set schedule, weekly paychecks
Cons
Bad management, cliques, will not promote from within
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work place
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Cuyahoga Falls, OHMarch 24, 2018
I have been working for AMI more than 11 years
-long hours.
-slow in winter
-good team work
-you can advance
-a lot of mangers changes every year
- after all I enjoy what I do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ran poorly. Had been thru 3 managers in last 2 years. Treated like a forklift while the other driver couldn’t do his job. Would advise against them
Driver/Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Saint George, UTMarch 19, 2018
Over worked. Under staffed. Management was poorly ran. Always had to try to make excuses for the management not doing. What he told customers was going to be done. One of worst run companies I have worked for. System from the 80’s. Not very efficient. Doubled and tripled monthly goals with no raise and not having the staff to do it. Over worked under paid
Pros
None
Cons
A lot of different issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pallet jack
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Kinston, NCMarch 11, 2018
Moving window parts, relocating boxes and equipment taking parts to their correct line.
Management was very lax they never really questioned what you did as long as everything was done for the day.
Hardest part of the job was they never trained on the forklift so we had to hand stack boxes
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice work environment
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMarch 7, 2018
Easy going and sometimes extremely busy. Hard work but rewarding. The management really takes the time to get to know you and treat you like family. Good work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job intended to work 6 months or less.
Driver/Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXMarch 4, 2018
This is a company that refuses to adapt to modern ideas of thinking and technology who's sole mantra is "if it isn't broke, don't fix it." There is absolutely no room for career growth and despite doubling/tripling company profits, management scoffs at the idea of giving their employees raises. Throughout your tenure when working at this place you will be introduced to a policy in which they treat like the 10 commandments only to discover that that same policy bends and folds depending on who/what they feel like applying it too. Training for your job and teaching about product knowledge is little to nonexistent, and oftentimes I'm not sure that legal business practices are even being upheld. Upper management oftentimes will mock their customer base as being "the bottom of the barrel of society" while seemingly having no problem doing business with them despite employees voicing concerns of their safety when presented with numerous racist/homophobic threats. Work for this company for no longer than 6 months and use it as a transitional type of job and you will be ok but don't rely on it as your only source of income. You will always be understaffed and ill-equipped with the tools necessary to complete your job and will be met with a shoulder shrug should you decide to seek help from management.
Pros
M-F schedule, holidays off
Cons
no career growth opportunities, extreme micromanagement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary job, no room for growth
Driver/Warehouse (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXMarch 4, 2018
This is a company that refuses to adapt to modern ideas of thinking and technology who's sole mantra is "if it isn't broke, don't fix it." There is absolutely no room for career growth and despite doubling/tripling company profits, management scoffs at the idea of giving their employees raises. Throughout your tenure when working at this place you will be introduced to a policy in which they treat like the 10 commandments only to discover that that same policy bends and folds depending on who/what they feel like applying it too. Training for your job and teaching about product knowledge is little to nonexistent, and oftentimes I'm not sure that legal business practices are even being upheld. Upper management oftentimes will mock their customer base as being "the bottom of the barrel of society" while seemingly having no problem doing business with them despite employees voicing concerns of their safety when presented with numerous racist/homophobic threats. Work for this company for no longer than 6 months and use it as a transitional type of job and you will be ok but don't rely on it as your only source of income. You will always be understaffed and ill-equipped with the tools necessary to complete your job and will be met with a shoulder shrug should you decide to seek help from management.
Pros
decent work hours, major holidays off
Cons
no advancement opportunities or raises.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty straight foward
Glass Cutter (Former Employee) –  Kinston, NCJanuary 15, 2018
The place is like any other warehouse job, quick passed and just no time for errors. If machine broke down the whole line would be sent home and not even relocated to another site. Just not a good place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
free lunch at caferteria
Inside Sales/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHJanuary 7, 2018
answer phones in call center, advise customer of shipment, or help them with a problem. take orders by phone or from faxed in order. ETA given to customers. give part numbers for warrenty
Pros
benefits
Cons
manager didn't understand daily life
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work hard
EOL Inspector (Current Employee) –  Kinston, NC 28504November 4, 2017
long days at work
making sure all windows were made right n the glass are good
management work with you
small place to work in
trying to stay out of people way
working with other
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Alside. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 84 reviews
516
420
323
210
115

See reviews about

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.8Culture