Alta Equipment Employee Reviews

Showing all 12 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Painter (Current Employee) –  Montgomery, ILNovember 13, 2018
A typical day at work starts with preparing my work environment, forklifts have to be moved out of the working area to provide more space, my paint booth has be cleaned and ready for painting. I start prepping the forklifts I will be working on that are on order to go out to customers, I work closely with co-workers and management to get work coordinated and sent out in a timely manner. The hardest part is making sure that the product is painted properly and finished in a timely manner and it meets the requirements given. Customers satisfaction is the most enjoyable part of my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company
Everything (Current Employee) –  MIJuly 22, 2018
Alta is a growing company. Lots of new things going on. Like any growing company, there are problems along the way. The nature of the equipment business is that there are many branches, departments, and divisions. Difficult to know where to turn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch your back
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  AnonymousJune 11, 2018
Sad depressing draining place to work .. underpaid and mistreated ... no opportunity to advance unless you are in with the big wigs ...
low moral . broken promises when it comes to pay . Have received no raise in pay in the years that I have been employed.
Management is complete trash and are some of the leading causes of gossip.
Have seen managers verbally abuse employees with no response from HR.
Pros
Pay is ok ...
Cons
Cut throat, have seen race issues, needs Union
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Forklift Mechanic (Current Employee) –  South Bend, INMay 15, 2018
Good company very customer friendly good to employees best training in the industry. Great if you just getting into the field or an old timer. Have no complaints.
Pros
Good place to work
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
GPS Support (Current Employee) –  Byron Center, MIApril 15, 2018
Great company to work for! The president has created a good working culture. Any time I ask for help on something due to me being new at the company, they are always willing. They do not micro manage. You are hired to do a job and they expect you to do it.
Pros
Lunch once a week, good benefits, good pay and company
Cons
Communication lacks sometimes but no company it perfect.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Culture
Administrative Assistant/Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIJanuary 10, 2018
You would think of a building in Detroit would be more diverse, well think again. Not only have their been multiple racial remarks made within my two year stay here, but management is poor. There is a lack of organization, as well as opportunities to advance within the company. The pay is higher than most places in Detroit, but is it worth the stress?
Pros
Decent pay and insurance
Cons
No place for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High school management
Shop (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIOctober 18, 2017
They keep people in management roles that have no business being there. Change business model to accommodate someone with no technical knowledge even though the job description requires it (current hires and passed over a current employee for not having enough technical knowledge). They allow a culture of racism and bullying to exist. Not a healthy employer or environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place
PARTS EDITOR (Former Employee) –  Sterling Heights, MIJuly 1, 2017
It was a relaxed atmosphere and for the most part very much teamwork oriented.
The management style was very pro-active and it carried over to all phases of the business
Pros
Good hours, good people
Cons
sometimes lacking discipline
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job but stressful
Driver (Former Employee) –  Sterling Heights, MIJanuary 5, 2017
this job at alta was a hard job but i learned much about hi-los and how they work. a typical day i would load up my van with hi-lo parts and drive to flint everyday. the hardest part of the job was keeping up with the paperwork and dealing with trafficas i delivered.
Pros
nice coworkers
Cons
leave work very dirty
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tense environment, communication an issue
Shop Tech (Former Employee) –  Saginaw, MIJanuary 10, 2014
Unable to do work effectively when management is bi-polar and has childish tantrums. Very clean shop with good supply support and vehicles.
Pros
excellent work space and equipment
Cons
You feel like a bug under a microscope, about to be squashed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Fork lift technician (Former Employee) –  Livonia, MIMay 21, 2013
It was a job, it was long hours and you would drive any where in Michigan, and some parts of Illinois and Indiana
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Alta Equipment. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 12 reviews
53
42
33
23
11

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture