Altair Engineering Employee Reviews

Found 28 reviews matching the search See all 61 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Good place to work
SharePoint Web Developer Intern (Former Employee) –  Troy, MIJune 1, 2018
It was a fun experience working at Altair. Collaborative team and fun work place. Work area is quite and productive. Flexibility to work from home is a plus
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to build professional relationships
"Vehicle Dynamics Sr. Consultant/Specialist" (Former Employee) –  MichiganMay 9, 2018
Great learning environment;
Complicated leadership;
Not the greatest benefits;
Overall a good place to work, but it will defined depend of where/when you are in your career.
Pros
learning, work relationship, and locations
Cons
benefits and unilateral upper management decision
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Support Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Malta, NYFebruary 7, 2018
Altair is a great place to work. If you are an engineer, there is lots of room for growth. The company cares about it's employees and, in turn, the employees care about the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIJanuary 24, 2018
I have no complaints! Very health conscious company, offered health clinic at main building, many outings, great benefits, management is excellent to work with, very kind, professional and responsive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good company for fresh graduates
CAE Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Troy, MIJanuary 17, 2018
Work life balance is good. Flexible working environment. Lack of long-term plan and kind of arrogant management. It is a good place to start your career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi-disciplined engineering company
Technical Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Troy, MIJanuary 2, 2018
Family-oriented work culture. Good management. Open door communication style. Work-life balance. Attractive benefits. Onsite health clinic. Diverse workplace in both employee skills and backgrounds.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed company culture
Anonymous (Former Employee) –  MichiganDecember 17, 2017
Good products. Excellent health benefits with convenient amenities in Troy, MI headquarters office: Gym and Clinic. Many long term employees and good people. Nice work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, bad department
Senior Communications Specialist (Former Employee) –  Troy, MIOctober 31, 2017
I worked hard until I realized that nothing I did was used. I received an excellent review, and continually asked if they had any feedback for me. Encouraged them to tell me if I needed to improve anything I did. But they never used my work in anything. We all want to feel valuable and that our time is not wasted. I left.
Pros
Great products, some very good people
Cons
My manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging always as new task
Manufacturing Solver Development Intern (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXSeptember 6, 2017
The ultimate outcome requirement is to validation the new solver for which we have to approach different ways and step by step.
As we resolve one problem need to start working on next step, so overall i would say its always learning new thing for me and i am really grateful to Altair for providing the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Program Manager, Engineering (Former Employee) –  Troy, MIJune 14, 2017
Flexible work schedule. Diverse projects. Many CAE tools to solve customer issues. Highly recognized worldwide products. Offices worldwide. Good learning environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Altair Engineering?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace with good work life balance
Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  INJune 7, 2017
They have a good office. The management could be a bit better. Juniors aren't given too much of oppourtunities. But nevertheless its a good place with free food everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to learn is enormous
Software Engineer Intern (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 12, 2017
Writing from a Software Engineer perspective. Good opportunity to learn. Cultivates interests on the project you work on as they are always challenging. Work culture is good.
Pros
Technology
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Work Hours
Corporate Wellness Intern (Former Employee) –  Troy, MIMarch 13, 2017
Nice work environment with amenities provided such as massages, physical therapy and a nurse practitioner which helps boost the health and wellness of the employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for!
Legal Assistant (Current Employee) –  Troy, MIDecember 21, 2016
Altair is a great company to work for.

The flexibility is the biggest benefit in addition to the culture and atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Altair provides innovative solutions
Senior CFD Documentation Specialist (Former Employee) –  TelecommuteSeptember 11, 2016
Altair offers a suite of tools that are useful to automotive, aero, manufacturing, and other industries. Altair is able to respond relatively quickly to changing market needs.

On the employee relations side, they are a bit conservative. Flexible work schedules are offered by some, but not all groups. There is a certain amount of pressure for employees in the trenches to adapt to how their manager works, rather than the managers trying to figure out how the employees work best...
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Accounts Receivable Associate (Former Employee) –  Troy, MIJune 8, 2016
I really enjoy the corporate setting. The innovative work that the company is doing is great. I like learning new things and hearing about all the ways Altair is changing technology.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Troy, MINovember 1, 2015
I left the company because I was looking for opportunities in areas which the company did not operate. If it were to operate in such fields, I'd willingly go back to the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Made a lot of achivements
Intern (Former Employee) –  Troy, MIOctober 7, 2015
Very interesting company culture, good leadership, learned a lot, made a lot of project, good team work. Willing to give student intern big responsibilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free work culture, flexible hours,Huge potential to grow
Senior Technical Specialist (Current Employee) –  malaysiaAugust 3, 2015
Good management
Open culture
full project responsibility & rights
Good compensation & benefits
Personal growth is good but lack of training
Pros
Free work culture
Cons
Job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lazy Recruiter
Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIMay 14, 2015
I was in need of a job and did research getting results with other contracts I shared with a Altair recruiter. They pretty much used my information I shared to post for Level 4 Designer job I wanted they got from me. The other company recruiter said I wasn't quite there. Altair hasn't kept in contact or supported me after I shared this information with them. Hasn't even tried in effort to find me anything.
Pros
Friendly if he can use you
Cons
Lazy
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 8Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Altair Engineering. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 61 reviews
523
428
310
20
10

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.1Culture

Altair Engineering Reviews by Location