Altman Specialty Plants Employee Reviews

Showing all 42 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company ever
District Manager (Former Employee) –  TexasDecember 17, 2018
Do not work here if you have a family. They dont care and absolutely will let yoy go without notice. Horrible company to raise a family with. Must be single and have no life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work, lots of hours
Welder/Repairman/forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Vista, CADecember 14, 2018
My particular job was something that interested me, and my manager was a good guy who looked out for us, but that is definitely not the case with other sections under different supervision. A standard work day was anywhere from 10-12 hours long with a half hour unpaid lunch break. Its usually a six day work week so work pretty much becomes your life
Pros
Decent pay, outside all day
Cons
Long hours, poor management depending on department
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun working there but Management sucked
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Dallas-Fort Worth, TXDecember 13, 2018
They were a great company to work for until people started getting fired and they switched around management. The job is fairly easy although management is always breathing down your neck and being nit picky. Almost from the very beginning I feared that I’d be let go due to witnessing how they let so many people go all the time. There’s no job security whatsoever. The Home Depot’s were a pleasure to work with and the staff was very helpful and courteous in all my needs. I would recommend working here but don’t plan on staying for too long unless you become one of their favorites. They work you to death for the small salary and basic benefits, telling you that you work whatever hours necessary in order to complete your job. My days consisted of 12hr days and wouldn’t get home till late in the evening and STILL have to do more work such as emails, inventory, etc. etc. There’s no compensation for mileage and traveling. They bother you on your days off and are always blowing up your phone about something. You can’t even enjoy your holidays because they’re always calling or texting. If you do work here I would recommend being hourly that way you get the most for your time and work.
Pros
Benefits, learn some beneficial skills
Cons
Management sucks, doesn’t compensate for traveling, work you to death, no job security, favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is still in its early stages of growth and it clearly shows
Sales Rep (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXDecember 12, 2018
Having been employed for almost a year with them I felt that it was necessary to walk away due to lack of planning and poor management. As a sales rep they would issue you a company phone which I thought was great but theoretically it means they own your time day and night.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Terrell, TXNovember 14, 2018
I really loved working at Altman Plants.. They hold you back.. if something goes wrong and it's not your fault you have to take the fall for it.. I don't believe in claiming something that you have no control over and holding back a hardworking person from getting what they are working so hard to achieve
Pros
Laid back
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Sales Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYOctober 5, 2018
Altman hired a manager who had no prior experience working as a vendor for Home Depot and has made various foolish mistakes that he simply could not own up to. Excuses were made that he is new and that the company is also new to the area. Very unorganized and the company rips you off BIG TIME when it comes to paying for your mileage. Steer away from this position. They will make you work up to 18 stores at a time. Funny that the company has been looking for a replacement for a few months now and they can't find anyone. Use this review to your advantage and dont waste your time!!!
Pros
None
Cons
Pay, wear and tear on your vehicle, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful workplace with extremely poor management
Assembler & part time financial coordinator (Former Employee) –  Allentown, New jerseyOctober 3, 2018
Warehouse was an absolute joke, no professional advisory what so ever. Management was even worse, should think twice before joining this company. I personally do not recommend anyone for this job, you will not enjoy your time here what so ever.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Underpaid, no time off, no vacation days, no sick days, awful management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive And fun environment
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 5, 2018
Fun and productive work environment. Heavy lifting at times. Fast paced and not a lot of standing around. Which is fine with me because the day goes by fast.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont waste your time
Sales Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  TexasAugust 25, 2018
Working at altman plants has been a complete disappointment. i applied because i love plants and thought this job would be perfect for me. I got absolutely no training at all. my boss got absolutely no training at all because nobody knows what they are doing. they expect you to drive to other peoples stores more than an hour away And not compensate you for gas to fix them because they are too lazy to show up to work or do the work and they wont get in trouble but you will get yelled at in front of everyone because one of your tags were facing crooked. they are not flexible for scheduling and will make you come in no matter what the weather to wait for a truck that might not show up. they dont care how good of a job you do if you mess up one time its they will act like you are the worst employee ever. Dont expect any praise or advancement because no matter what they say they dont promote from within and hire outside people to be your boss who have no experience because it is so hard to keep people in your position because it sucks so bad and they fire people for stupid stuff. this has been the case for them everywhere i have been. they dont care about you and they dont even try to hide it. unless you are totally desperate dont waste your time. otherwise have fun working in rain sleet snow hail or 110° weather and have fun with the 15 hour days and then getting yelled at because you have too much overtime (even though it wasnt your choice) and threatening to fire you because customers bought all of the hanging baskets and you didnt re fill them because you ran out. OH YEAH and  more... being bullied by all of the home depot employees you have to work with because they HATE merchandisers and always try to make you do home depots job. AND they signed me up for insurance i didnt sign anything for against my will and won't refund me even though i didnt sign up. and the direct deposit they never do right and youll get your check almost a week late EVERYTIME. just dont do it if you value your life. for real. just don't.  less
Pros
haha
Cons
un organized, not fair, no compensation, hours, opportunity, job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Do It, No Matter What!
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Giddings, TXAugust 24, 2018
The Management there is terrible, not all of them but 90%. When it comes down to it they will put you in a position they think is best and if you don't like it you don't have a job. Or they like to offer things with no intentions on following through.
Pros
Its a job
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
labor intensive, high pace work environment
Sales merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Vista, CAAugust 9, 2018
-Early start, sweeping, merchandising,watering plants,trimming plants, and building product displays.

-I learned how to work by myself while staying motivated and keeping my eye on daily objectives.

-The hardest part about this job is having to deal with dangerous merchandise such as large cactus and thorny shrubs.
Pros
work outside
Cons
inconsistent work schedule, No milage compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
negative
Lowe's Customer Service Rep (Current Employee) –  Vista, CAJuly 20, 2018
Low moral, poor supervision, too competitive. Too negative, good hours. Flexible hours can get off early. Good benefits, poor hourly wage- not even too support myself.
Pros
hours
Cons
negative
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs work
Senior Network Administrator (Former Employee) –  Vista, CAJuly 17, 2018
Make sure you do your home work before you accept a position here. No employee reviews, wages do not match market value and management is under staffed.
Pros
decent pay but there are better places to work for more
Cons
do not recognize hard work. Poor planning, poor aging facilities, lacking communications.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace with somewhat flexible hours
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAJune 25, 2018
Hours are able to flexible when needed and the company is very organized. They understand that this job is manual labor and they demand we use all safety precautions that are provided.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to manage your own stores.
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 11, 2018
Fun outside environment. Learned a lot about plants. Great to be able to educate the garden staff as well as the customer about plants. Winter time is miserable. Watering plants while it’s cold. Covering up plants only to do it again the next day.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Highly demanding
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Sales Rep/Merchandising Lead (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 23, 2018
Altman is a great company to work for. They are very good at what they do and expect the same out of their employees. as long as you are doing your best to get your job done, you will have the help and support of management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lay off allot of locals for h2a immigrant workers.
Grower (Former Employee) –  Peyton, COMarch 19, 2018
Poor leaders who don't speak English at all, 10 hour days 6 days a week, no overtime, not much opportunity for advancement or a raise, also they lay off locals for Mexican migrant workers.
Pros
Interesting job
Cons
Management, pay, hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Perris, CAJanuary 30, 2018
Workers there nice, manager cool.. It's always quite a bit, time was good with 6 hr work schedule, close location, good uniforms, easy check in and check out
Pros
Workers and shift times
Cons
Pay, hours, off days. Some times work 6days straight to one off day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Muy bien. Es una gran empresa agradable
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Salinas, CAJanuary 27, 2018
Me en cantaria. Trabajar en esta empresa sebe que es agradable
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 19Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work and pay compensation
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Peyton, COJanuary 13, 2018
You bust your hump and after x amount of hrs you earn a percentage of an hour of vacation (ex. 160hrs= 1/2hr of vacation) also in a pay period of 2 weeks working 180+ hrs is only straight time NO OVERTIME PAID. During high grow season they bring in immigrants, work them into the ground and ship them back. It is very political and the former owner back from when the plant was colorstar, still works there and has been robbing the new owners blind, taking from them things, gas and plants that he would fire you for immediately for taking when he owned it. If you want to be a slave then it's the best place to work and be disrespected, unappreciated, and discriminated.
Pros
None
Cons
Altman supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Altman Specialty Plants. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 42 reviews
510
412
37
24
19

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture

Altman Specialty Plants Reviews by Location