Altria Employee Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Based on 419 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5202
4123
363
221
110
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 336 reviews matching the search See all 419 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teamwork
Project Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 6, 2018
Team atmosphere; work climate relaxed; staff are engaging and knowledgeable to the workings of the company. Learned different ideas and approaches to record managment
Pros
cafe
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Experience
Undergraduate Intern (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 27, 2018
As an intern at Altria I was given plenty of jobs to do that helped me learn about engineering and working in a corporate setting. The tasks I was given felt important and I was able to learn a lot from them and build myself as an individual. My coworkers were all great people. I was not a fan of the politics being stressed throughout the company, but that's to be expected with any large business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Development at every stage of your career
Unit Manager (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJune 26, 2018
Every employee has a development plan to improve skills and capabilities at every level. Great culture throughout most of the company and strong executive leadership.
Pros
great work life balance and benefits
Cons
bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ethics seem to have left the company
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  United StatesJune 26, 2018
While the company ethics used to be an integral part of a day in the life of an Altria Employee, in recent years there has been a major shift. Opinions are often portrayed as facts. A select group of people are often times held to a higher standard than others.

While the compensation and the benefits are great, they come with a very high cost to your own personal ethics and responsibility. The training is the best as the company will teach you to truly sell anything.

If you decide to work there, do not stay longer than 2 years.
Pros
work/life balance
Cons
lack of ethics in Management, promotions are only given to the select few
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work environment was interesting. Pay was good.
Production Manager (Former Employee) –  Concord, NCJune 25, 2018
This is the only job that I have had that paid overtime to management. Based on the hours spent there, I thought that was the best thing. This was also a great way to work with an union environment.
Pros
Benefits, Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Altria
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  NJJune 21, 2018
Experiencing different cultures with the retailers
Respect for others
Management- did not realize how certain communities adapted to the economy

Hardest part with Management is explaining the low income vs high income communities to Management
Pros
Travel
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start my career!
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  United StatesJune 18, 2018
This was prior to all the layoffs in recent years. You not only are selling, but you learn how to interpret data to give you insight on direction and the story the numbers are telling. Excellent management during my time there as well!
Pros
Benefits, Career Planning
Cons
Changing Regulations, Additional Admin
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job.
Machine Operator/Packer (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 10, 2018
Very corporate atmosphere.Not the same company that I was hired into. Be there for the money, while preparing yourself to do something else. It's not personal, just business.
Pros
money
Cons
corporate bs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compania excepcional
Senior Financial and Reporting Analyst (Former Employee) –  Guaynabo, PRJune 10, 2018
Una compañía donde te desarrollas y te dan las herramientas para crecer como profesional , un ambiente super profesional donde el respecto y lealtad es la razón de ser.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment
So Cal Sales and Product Rep (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaJune 8, 2018
Working wit the management team and brainstorming and seeing your ideas taken seriously was great. The team was like a family and made you feel that was also.
Pros
lunches
Cons
down time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you deal with all the politics
Business Unit Leader (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNJune 5, 2018
Great place to work as far as job security. long hours like (12 hrs) 6 days a week depending on your department. But the money is extremely good. Can easily make over 6 figures in a year.
Pros
Great pay, benefits
Cons
Long hours, no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
LEGAL OPERATIONS FINANCIAL ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 1, 2018
Management was great to work with. Company was good. Pay and benefits were great. I highly recommend this company to work for. Work conditions were ideal. Campus was inviting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Trade Marketing Analyst (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 31, 2018
I enjoyed coming to work every day. Management provided the tools and support needed to accomplish assigned responsibilities. Training and support was provided as needed. It was a great team environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Their internship URL is not a lie
Information Services Sales Intern (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 7, 2018
Was a great time and I met great people. The work was good but wasnt what I was into for my career path and management wasnt aware of what my major does
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most enjoyable part of the job
Machine Technician (Former Employee) –  Concord, NCMay 3, 2018
the most enjoyable part of the job was the pay benefits and the amount of time off. The were really good at taking care the their employees, and offered company retreats
Pros
pay and benefits
Cons
work enviorment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain exp and to start a career
Territory Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLApril 22, 2018
Great training and I have made life long friends there! It is what you make it.

If you use the training to personally develop you can make great strides in business. They also PAY 100% for school.
Pros
Benefits, people
Cons
Management, not a true "sales" role- More product/ contract management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An OK place to Work
Brand Manager (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAApril 21, 2018
The company is trying to move into other categories, but the reliance on Marlboro is huge. If you don't work on Marlboro, resources are scarce. Opportunities for advancement are provided to some.
Pros
None to highlight
Cons
None to highlight
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
strong company to work for
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYApril 18, 2018
training and development is fantastic and top of the line. Managers are very specific and are great leaders. The job is stressful and fast paced but very exciting.
Pros
people, benefits
Cons
industry as a whole
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stable company to work for
Flavor Technician (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAApril 15, 2018
Relieve the person working my job, find out what changes (if any) are going on. Start my work day. Notify management if I have any issues that need to be addressed.
Pros
Work on my own for the most part.
Cons
No breaks if we have a lot of problems.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad, relocation option is hard
Territory Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 10, 2018
Hard to work from the car all day, no real social interactions other then with clients. A lot of valuable experience understanding the market and market drivers. Very flexible schedule but work can take over personal life.
Pros
Company Car, Company Gas, Great Benefits
Cons
No office space, Work from Car, Negative Stigma
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Altria. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Women's ratings

3.6Fairygodboss Score

80%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

60%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss