Alverno Clinical Laboratories Employee Reviews

Showing all 69 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Phlebotomist III (Former Employee) –  Munster, INFebruary 14, 2019
Manager was a joke, would go to her with problems and she did nothing ! Had a note on door “ don’t zone to me with issue, unless you have a solution” isn’t that what management is for .....she would tell her friends what was being said when you went to her with issue ...she could careless about midnight staff !!
Pros
Patients
Cons
Everything but patients
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Current
Phlebotomist (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INFebruary 11, 2019
Its time to go...when a warehouse and fast food pays more wit less stress its time to go. Short staffed all the time and no one cares... .its abt points
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee) –  Aurora, ILDecember 27, 2018
I work for Alverno but the site I worked on was presence mercy medical. That was a great team to work for. Good management and great coaching moments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for if you plan to advance
Manger (Current Employee) –  Hammond, INDecember 21, 2018
I have worked for Alverno for many years and have had opportunities for advancement due to working hard. Alverno has helped my advancement with their lucrative tuition assistance program. Alvenro is a strong diverse organization that is always promoting patient care and employee satisfaction and is a great company to be a part of.
Pros
Benefits, 401K, Tuition Assitance, Work Place Culture
Cons
Hours due to being in health care 24/7
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management needs work in Michigan City
Phlebotomist 3 (Current Employee) –  Michigan City, INNovember 15, 2018
I love what I do for my job. I love the people that I work with. Not being heard or having an option for opinion gets a little old. I was once asked about my opinion on something and was told flat out that they did not agree and that was the end of the discussion. They have told me if my shift does not agree with home or school life we will work on it, but any suggestions I have to helping are only declined. Tuition help is great but you have to stay with the company for a year after your classes end or you have to pay everything back to them with your last paycheck.
Pros
love phlebotomy work and interacting with patients
Cons
under staffed, over worked and underappreciated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management and coworkers
Phlebotomist (Current Employee) –  Hammond, INOctober 12, 2018
I love working with my coworkers great team work and great supervisor and coordinator. We all help each other. The supervisor and coordinator help when needed are flexible on schedules and are willing to work with you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hammond, INSeptember 23, 2018
Working on midnights and being in charge of peoples specimen and being required to move as quickly as possible with no mistakes is a lot to ask of people with little to no help.
Pros
45 min breaks
Cons
midnights
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and hard working enviroment
Laboratory Scientist (Former Employee) –  Danville, ILAugust 12, 2018
I enjoyed working at Alverno. A typical day included, receiving/processing specimens, performing and analyzing multiple tests. Example of the types of tests include: gram stains, differentials, spinal fluid and synovial fluid cell counts, plating microbiology samples, hematology, rapid strep screens, influenza screening, RSV, HCG, HIV, mononucleosis, sickle cell screening, and urinalysis/microscopic examination.
Pros
Professional environment and always busy
Cons
I preferred working 40 hours a week, rather than less.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Monticello, INAugust 9, 2018
the work place was fun and I liked all the employees. Would love to work here again if given the opportunity. The benefits were great and the hours as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
changing campuses not always good for continuity of work
Medical Technologist (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 19, 2018
5th amendment would prefer not to say.
very guarded for job advancement policies.
the new students seemed favored.
some personalities seemed to do as little as possible, and were not checked.
The smaller campus, although at times more hectic, had easier personality compatibilities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place
Other Experience (Former Employee) –  IndianaJuly 6, 2018
As others have said, management in various departments speaks poor to and about other employees. HR is led by dishonestly and favoritism. Complaints are ignored. Compensation is low as the reputation of the Lab is poor so new or existing business suffers.
Pros
No longer an employee
Cons
So many
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
CERIFIED PHLEBOTOMIST (Former Employee) –  Olympia Fields, ILJune 27, 2018
Very pleasant environment to work in. I learned a lot about the company and the missions the company stood on. The hardest part of the job was letting it go.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unrealistic Compensation
Medical Technologist (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 7, 2018
I like the people I work with and the culture. However, the lack of competitive compensation is causing me to leave. This also causes very high turnover.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working without supervision
Phlebotomist/clerk (Former Employee) –  Hammond, INJune 2, 2018
Worked all over. Peds pre surgery floors icu oncology. Nursery . Got specimens for pick up ready. Clerk prepared pick up for morning run. Did phlebotomy per Dr orders
Pros
Good lunches
Cons
Management changes poor pick
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alverno
Phlebotomist II/III (Former Employee) –  Crown Point, INMay 23, 2018
Alverno was the first company I started off being a Phlebotomist. I truly enjoyed working for them but the hours I had was not working for my everyday life. Alverno Was a very great company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workday
Data Entry Clerk (Current Employee) –  Hammond, INMarch 26, 2018
You come in, set up your station, and get straight to work.

If sitting down not being able to move, this is the perfect job for you.

If your used to moving and doing various tasks on your feet, this is not the job for you.
Pros
45 Min break
Cons
Long hours of sitting
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alverno
Lab Assistant III (Current Employee) –  Lafayette, INJanuary 30, 2018
Amazing place to work. The staff is great, helpful and willing to advance your career in anyway you want to advance it. The supervisors will bend over backwards to fix any issues you may have.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough money, managers kind of rude.
Histology Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hammond, INNovember 15, 2017
I liked working there, but the pay wasn't great and the manager wasn't very personable.Not very approachable.I loved my co-workers, but management was bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a good job to start with.
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Champaign, ILOctober 13, 2017
It was a good experience... a great place to start to get your foot in the door with a phlebotomy job. It was very fast paced. You must be a person that works on your toes!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay to work
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Hammond, INOctober 3, 2017
I worked at night.
Did what was asked
Okay
Working nights
Diverse
Hard of job nothing
Enjoy not dealing with traffic
I learned on the job
I dont ratewhere I work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Alverno Clinical Laboratories. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 69 reviews
523
418
315
27
16

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

3.9InHerSight Score

3.7Personal Development

4.1Career Opportunities

3.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight