Amarr Garage Doors Employee Reviews in Lawrence, KS

Found 57 reviews matching the search See all 97 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Warehouse Team Member (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSNovember 30, 2018
Hard factory work. Must be able to withstand working on feet for hours.
Good people.
Able to work up in business.
Must be focused and ready to work..
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Stacker (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSNovember 30, 2018
It was great job for anyone to work for. Would recommend it, if someone needed a job. I worked long days and nights. It is a lot of pressure if a someone can't handle it.
Pros
Employee
Cons
Long work weeks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Lead Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSNovember 28, 2018
Great place to work great pay good people to work with and for willing to work with you pto time every week can't go wrong working here has allot of over time
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very tough work but there's some good people that work there
Face installer (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSOctober 2, 2018
My job as face installer was very physical very repetitious had to pay very close attention to detail it was somewhat hot next to an oven no teamwork in that area whatsoever those people like to see failed and succeed or help them
Pros
Get in good shape quickly
Cons
Sore back tennis elbow very stressful carpal tunnel the list goes on
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and busy
FIP Widnow (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSSeptember 18, 2018
Worked there for over a year, really a great company to work for. Would considering going back if have to. Looking to see how they grow in the future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was very relaxing there
Bander (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSAugust 17, 2018
First we stretch for the day then we go to work.
I personally learned how to do a lot of things including different positions on the assembly line and shipping and the management was great very nice and helpful.
Pros
Descent size breaks and a lunch break
Cons
very loud and a lot of things to trip over
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSJuly 30, 2018
Long hours
No days off
Unfair management
Racial distrimination
People get hurt frequently
Management seems not to care about employees
People department don’t hold employees conversations private
Pros
Okay insurance
Cons
Short breaks, no room for advancement, and low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Shipping Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Lawrence, KSJune 15, 2018
Working for Amarr is all around a good experience, with good wages and the opportunity for advancement all the time.. I would differently recommend this place to family and friends..
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production Maintaining Safety
Process Supervisor/Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSMay 6, 2018
The foundation of Amarr felt sound. The People working within the establishment seemed friendly enough....Amarr continuously stayed on the cutting edge evolving it's product. Turnover during the summer months sayed pretty high...
Pros
Variety of duties to be done. Multitasking a plus!!
Cons
Late night overtime for Supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult to advance
2nd Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSApril 27, 2018
Initially, my experience at Amarr was very positive. However, with frequent changes in management it was difficult to gain a sense of continuity. Just as you become accustomed to how a manager likes to run the department, he/she would be replaced and the learning process would have to start again.
Advancement seemed next to impossible and there was heavy turnover throughout the plant.
I also ran into instances of management undermining my efforts to maintain production standards and personal responsibility due to personal relationships between my work crew and my immediate supervisor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3rd shifter
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSJanuary 12, 2018
3rd shift was better than others for working relations and less tensions. Learned many aspects of making garage doors. Was a lot of overtime and 3 shifts operations. Worked about every Saturday.
Pros
Good knowledge of door manufacture
Cons
lot of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very quick paced job
Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSDecember 29, 2017
Very fast paced and lots of heavy lifting. Understanding the computer syatem and press operation was easy. Pay was very good but the hours tend to cut into personal life and family life
Pros
Surprise meals
Cons
Not enough time for family
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its very unsafe
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Lawrence, KSDecember 26, 2017
If osha was called the plant would never reopen in lawrence
We have black mold
Unsafe handrails
Old fall arrest systems
ECT
If your willing to be injured then this is your place
Pros
Its a job
Cons
Saftey
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun working there
Assembly Worker (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSDecember 21, 2017
I love working at amar garage doors ..it was fun working there ..i love the way its been managed ,the most enjoyable part is that i get my pay time off .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working with peers
Foam applicator/cardboard wrapper (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSNovember 9, 2017
My experience working at Amarr made me feel comfortable by working with coworkers. I had a great supervisor. All in all great place to work at in my opinion
Pros
Free lunches in a department
Cons
Not long enough breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co workers, horrible management
Bottom Angle EPS (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSOctober 23, 2017
They seem to only care about the production of doors and hitting quota then the well-being of the employees that are working for them. The machine is constantly break down because an employee who work there from the beginning of 1990 said that the equipment hasn't been updated since he got there. The management and supervisors lack the leadership needed to run a productive warehouse. Always forced to work overtime and to come in 2 or 3 hours early no work-life balance. You will have to keep track of everything yourself do not depend on management to do so because you will get screwed.
Pros
Getting paid after forced overtime
Cons
Short breaks, management, equipment, everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced.
Warehouse Department Lead (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSOctober 17, 2017
There are three different shift at that plant. It runs 24hrs a day and oftentimes on weekends. There are several departments and a lot of cross training. So one could be reassigned to a different department depending on needs. Lots of training and opportunities. Good pay and good benefits.
Pros
best paying place in Lawrence.
Cons
Could work 7 days a week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard long work
Picker/Packer/Shipper (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSOctober 2, 2017
again forced to create a review for a job in my past. i do not wish to comment on this job specifics. it was a demanding job with alot of overtime required. paid well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modern day sweat shop poor management
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSAugust 16, 2017
If you are looking to work somewhere that's poorly managed with no work life balance Amarr is the place. Expect to work seven days a week and go months without a day off with extreme physical labor no chance for your body to ever rest or recover. The company is very poorly managed and always over capacity. The compensation for the hours and labor expected out of employees in not adequate. Very high turnover rate for employees and supervisors basically because you have no life outside of Amarr. Worked as a supervisor there and in my 19 years working in the manufacturing industry poorest managed company I have ever seen. Seriously like working in a overseas sweat shop. Only work here if you are desperate for money or a in between job because you will have zero life outside of work period.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
No work life balance poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a high past type of work environment
Shipping loader / lead loader (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSJune 22, 2017
If you're a hard worker and willing to work this would be a perfect job for you and if you enjoy over time this would be the place for you they have made it much better in the past few years for work life and outside work life it was a great company for me to start in my young career
Pros
Great benefits fun enjoyable people to work with
Cons
Differences between shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Amarr Garage Doors. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 97 reviews
517
428
324
212
116

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.1Culture