Amarr Garage Doors Employee Reviews

Found 94 reviews matching the search See all 96 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3rd shifter
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSJanuary 12, 2018
3rd shift was better than others for working relations and less tensions. Learned many aspects of making garage doors. Was a lot of overtime and 3 shifts operations. Worked about every Saturday.
Pros
Good knowledge of door manufacture
Cons
lot of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and non climate control warehouse!
Insulation Installer (Former Employee) –  Mocksville, NCJanuary 11, 2018
While this company offers great benefits it is a terrible place to work!! They don't care about safety as much as they claim. Over the time I was there I saw no changes to improve safety in the area I worked. That along with the extreme heat make it one of the worst places I have ever worked. I would highly recommend not working here unless it is your last option!
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Work conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool Co-Workers/GM is a JERK
Warehouse Worker/Driver (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 7, 2018
Overall the job is cool. I just load up garage doors and components to installers sometimes you deliver doors all over the state. Truck days SUCK!!! but its ok cause everybody is pitches in. The GM is a know it all and always tries to find something negative to say even when you show up to work on time and ready to work, they always find something wrong you did. Found every excuse not to give me a raise and always had an excuse when you bring up things that could be done better.Good company BAD management.
Pros
Monday thru Friday
Cons
General Manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very quick paced job
Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSDecember 29, 2017
Very fast paced and lots of heavy lifting. Understanding the computer syatem and press operation was easy. Pay was very good but the hours tend to cut into personal life and family life
Pros
Surprise meals
Cons
Not enough time for family
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its very unsafe
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Lawrence, KSDecember 26, 2017
If osha was called the plant would never reopen in lawrence
We have black mold
Unsafe handrails
Old fall arrest systems
ECT
If your willing to be injured then this is your place
Pros
Its a job
Cons
Saftey
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun working there
Assembly Worker (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSDecember 21, 2017
I love working at amar garage doors ..it was fun working there ..i love the way its been managed ,the most enjoyable part is that i get my pay time off .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working with peers
Foam applicator/cardboard wrapper (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSNovember 9, 2017
My experience working at Amarr made me feel comfortable by working with coworkers. I had a great supervisor. All in all great place to work at in my opinion
Pros
Free lunches in a department
Cons
Not long enough breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love it
OFFICE ADMINISTRATOR (Former Employee) –  Addison, ILOctober 25, 2017
good place to work, easy to learn business, flexible, hours good, fair, family environment, always busy with something to do, so many variety of cusomers
Pros
n/a
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co workers, horrible management
Bottom Angle EPS (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSOctober 23, 2017
They seem to only care about the production of doors and hitting quota then the well-being of the employees that are working for them. The machine is constantly break down because an employee who work there from the beginning of 1990 said that the equipment hasn't been updated since he got there. The management and supervisors lack the leadership needed to run a productive warehouse. Always forced to work overtime and to come in 2 or 3 hours early no work-life balance. You will have to keep track of everything yourself do not depend on management to do so because you will get screwed.
Pros
Getting paid after forced overtime
Cons
Short breaks, management, equipment, everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced.
Warehouse Department Lead (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSOctober 17, 2017
There are three different shift at that plant. It runs 24hrs a day and oftentimes on weekends. There are several departments and a lot of cross training. So one could be reassigned to a different department depending on needs. Lots of training and opportunities. Good pay and good benefits.
Pros
best paying place in Lawrence.
Cons
Could work 7 days a week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard long work
Picker/Packer/Shipper (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSOctober 2, 2017
again forced to create a review for a job in my past. i do not wish to comment on this job specifics. it was a demanding job with alot of overtime required. paid well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warehouse
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLSeptember 19, 2017
It was a warehouse job. unload semi trucks while helping customers that came in. Check inventory to ensure that the product was accurate. load up trucks for delivery.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a nice working place
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Haltom City, TXAugust 27, 2017
Not a bad job gets slow at times but easy job An cool workers. Customers who come are very nice An respectful when they come to pick up the items they need.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modern day sweat shop poor management
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSAugust 16, 2017
If you are looking to work somewhere that's poorly managed with no work life balance Amarr is the place. Expect to work seven days a week and go months without a day off with extreme physical labor no chance for your body to ever rest or recover. The company is very poorly managed and always over capacity. The compensation for the hours and labor expected out of employees in not adequate. Very high turnover rate for employees and supervisors basically because you have no life outside of Amarr. Worked as a supervisor there and in my 19 years working in the manufacturing industry poorest managed company I have ever seen. Seriously like working in a overseas sweat shop. Only work here if you are desperate for money or a in between job because you will have zero life outside of work period.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
No work life balance poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the job itself is pretty easy
Truck Driver/Warehouse (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAAugust 15, 2017
The hardest part of the job is unloading trailers in the extreme heat during the summer months,there is a lot of heavy lifting. I have built some personal relationships with a few of my customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a high past type of work environment
Shipping loader / lead loader (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSJune 22, 2017
If you're a hard worker and willing to work this would be a perfect job for you and if you enjoy over time this would be the place for you they have made it much better in the past few years for work life and outside work life it was a great company for me to start in my young career
Pros
Great benefits fun enjoyable people to work with
Cons
Differences between shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amarr is a good place to work for if you have others around you that also want to work .
Commercial press operator (Current Employee) –  Lawrence, KSJune 16, 2017
Amarr is a okay place to work, i have made some good friends and learned new jobs , They are not a good place to retire from, Retirement is the same as loosing your job from what i have heard from others who have retired with over 10 years exp.
Pros
Good people to work with.
Cons
short breaks, some employees that don't want to work and make more work or overtime for others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hr is horrible
Warehouse Associate/Backup Driver (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJune 15, 2017
Overall a good company but the HR is horrible. You could be sexually harassed and they wouldn't do anything but scold the person. Sweeping things under the rug and never resolving them.
Pros
Good money
Cons
Hr
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company to work for
Associate (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMay 8, 2017
nothing to say but this is a excellent employer to work for and there are no problems with working for this company, moving garage doors around and pulling orders for customers
Pros
working conditions
Cons
lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small production facility servicing a wide area of customers.
Shipping Process Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSApril 22, 2017
Amarr Garage Doors was a fine working environment for as production facility. Pay and benefits were average for the industry and the workplace was properly equips for the job required.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Amarr Garage Doors. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 96 reviews
516
428
324
212
116

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture