Amber Charter School Employee Reviews

Found 11 reviews matching the search See all 12 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lunch room
School lunch supervisor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 4, 2019
I love working in the school children are friendly and the staff I set up lunch for children serve 3 periods then clean up and get ready for the next day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
ART DIRECTOR (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 13, 2018
Working for Amber Charter School was definitely a highlight in my career. I learned a great deal about children and how they learned. I was able to cultivate great relationships with co-workers and received great trainings every year.

The Administration changed and with that the school culture and their commitment to me as a worker. I chose to work independently as a cab driver.
Pros
Great professional development opportunities
Cons
new adminstration did not follow the mission
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of work
teacher (Former Employee) –  East Harlem, NYJanuary 8, 2018
The school requires a lot of work and not a lot of compensation. Staff members are tired and often burnt out. More and more is required from everyone but proper compensation isn't provided.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great collaboration among teachers, but a hard school to grow/improve in.
Former Teacher (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 30, 2017
The collaboration between teachers at Amber is incredible! There are many opportunities to voice your ideas and thoughts. There is a nice family atmosphere. It has a long school day, and I found that I had to stay beyond the school day as well as bring work home. It's a hard place to grow in because there are high expectations, and if you don't keep up with the pace the administration wants, they are not very forgiving. Yes, a certain pace has to be kept and teaching is a very busy job, but it is tough and overwhelming.
Pros
Students come first, collaboration among teachers, pay
Cons
Administration does not give time to grow, communication among admin is lacking, long school day
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amber Charter school is a nice place to work at. As a teacher you have a lot of responsibilities and work. For the most part the children are lovely a
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 17, 2017
Amber Charter school is a nice place to work at. As a teacher you have a lot of responsibilities and work. For the most part the children are lovely and so is the staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Community Charter School!
ELA Teacher - Grades 5/6 (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 5, 2017
A great environment for both students and teachers! The school day is longer than public school, but filled with instruction designed to improve achievement among students.

The staff is truly dedicated to their kids. This was a great place to work.
Pros
community-minded, growth mindset, supportive staff and admins
Cons
longer school day (yet typical of a charter school day); hopefully the pay is better as well
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lunch Attendant
Lunch Attendant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 18, 2016
The most enjoyable part of my day is seeing the kids smile
The experience is rewarding
I enjoy working with the team I have
My day starts at 7:30 and ends at 1:30
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school with great teachers
Teacher (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 25, 2016
Amber is a great place to work! It's a family environment and where your ideas and voice is heard. Administration is always available.
Pros
Union
Cons
Teachers, Students are awesome
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teachers but moral is making them leave
Former teacher (11 yrs) (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 31, 2015
Ots a great place to work if you are dedicated and dont have a personal life. They preach 8-4 but you end up taking work home and it doesnt end. If you dont succeed they make you feel like garbage. Admin hires a lot of their friends and teachers are left without supplies because admin has no idea what they are doing. Teacher moral is low and there is always something admin will complain about
Pros
Teachers stick together, union, students are great, pay
Cons
Admin, work load, they will belittle you
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 9Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amber is a great school with teachers that are really there for the kids.
Tutor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 19, 2014
Amber gave me a lot of insight about becoming a teacher. I've gotten the chance to work with some incredible teachers. I believe it's such a great school that I even enrolled my son.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report

See more Amber Charter School reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Amber Charter School. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 12 reviews
55
43
33
20
11

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.9Culture

Amber Charter School Reviews by Location