AMC Theatres Employee Reviews

Found 3,050 reviews matching the search See all 3,134 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont Work For AMC
shift lead/manager (Former Employee) –  North Myrtle Beach, SCMarch 19, 2019
You will never be appreciated or paid well... the managers suck and they dont hold people to the same standard. They dont treat anyone well there at all
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Muncie, INMarch 18, 2019
The management at AMC Theaters is less than ideal. It was a very stressful workplace that lacked reward. The pay was non competitive with other places around the area. The amount that is made there is not sufficient for daily life around our area. Would not recommend to anyone whom I care for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good part time job, bad full time for busser
Busser/Prep (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KSMarch 18, 2019
If you are going for this job do not go full time busser. You will not make a living as a full time busser pay is bad and tips are okay. So go in as a server or cook on the fork and screen side
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work but not the worst
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Chicago, IL (AMC Ford City 14)March 17, 2019
Work depends on the location. At the particular location I worked the Gm didn’t really do anything to develop his crew or management team. Most of his days were spent watching cameras from his office and him flying out the door before 6 pm. Some days were fun but most were pretty blah. Good starter job.
Pros
Free movies
Cons
Low wages and short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t work here
Theatre Associate (Former Employee) –  Brentwood, CAMarch 17, 2019
What a horrible place to work. I’ll be positive and start out with the pros: free movies, free popcorn and soda while working (even though it’s disgusting and makes people sick), discounts on food when you’re working (although it’s free if you steal it), fun coworkers, very chill, don’t have to stress if you need a day off, you can do a lot of things and receive no punishment, managers were nice although they can get mean. Cons: high school drama, lots of work, no benefits, horrible pay, nobody cares about you, disgusting tasks, popcorn was nasty, food was nasty, screw you over. For the most part the job was ok I guess except cleaning was disgusting. You get lots of nasty filth all over you and don’t be surprised if you get “trash juice” on yourself it happens to everyone at least once. You constantly deal with rude customers but never did I get in trouble for being rude back so that’s a plus. It’s like high school when you’re new coworkers will talk behind your back and make you do their work. Most managers were super nice although one of them could be rude. You also get short breaks and sometimes no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Cicero, ILMarch 17, 2019
Loved my co workers management was great. i was able to work out school and my personal life with working here. good pay for a 1st job and reasonable hours. only bad thing is closing and not getting on time when it was a busy day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
AMC Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GAMarch 16, 2019
It was good for a first job. Had nice people. Also had young people and a lot of them. I didn’t feel like I recieved enough benefits. That is the main reason I departed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thank
Carpenter Foreman (Former Employee) –  Crestwood, ILMarch 16, 2019
Thank you for the carpenter position and the superintendent position you have a bunch of other information to work with the carpenter and work are garbage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Simply Job
Film Crew (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INMarch 16, 2019
AMC Theaters was a relaitvely easy job that didn't require any skills coming in. Management was friendly and staff was helpful and made the process of learning the requirements of an employee easy.
Pros
Free Movies
Cons
Late Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a good experience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Rosemont, ILMarch 16, 2019
I had a tragic event in my life 6 months ago and I just could not work or meet the hours they wanted. It was a nice place to work. The best part of the job was making friends with other colleagues. The job could be very stressful when it got crowded. Management was flexible and fair. A typical shift was about 4 hours.
Pros
close by
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s was fun
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COMarch 15, 2019
People there were cool, hot schedules made it easy for everyone who needed the day off or needed more hours. Everyone worked together to make the day run smoothly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough work environment driven by guests and management
Film Crew (Former Employee) –  Fullerton, CAMarch 14, 2019
The work is grueling and the guests can be absolutely the worst people in the world. The only saving grace is that it is a low-responsibility job, so kind of perfect for first time workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at, great starter job
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MIMarch 12, 2019
It definitely felt like a home away from home. It was my first job, and was an amazing entry level job. I learned a lot about customer service and business. The job for me was pretty easy because I love to connect with people, but some this might be the harder part because of the diversity with crowds. Overall it was a very enjoyable job.
Pros
good breaks, fun people, great chance to meet new people
Cons
not great hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Greeter Busser Runner (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 12, 2019
It



Working at AMC was amazing greeting great people downtown was beautiful and welcoming. Seeing customers happy when they receive there food makes me feel good for doing anything that would have a customer smiling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you're a student
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Pensacola, FLMarch 12, 2019
I worked here for almost 3 years. I was also in school and this was the perfect job for students. My location was always busy so it was frequently stressful. The pay was a little low considering everything that you have to do for the job.
Pros
Free popcorn, drinks, movies and other discounted snacks
Cons
Low pay, advancement is difficult
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bar
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Holly Springs, NCMarch 12, 2019
If you want to be forced to wear hairnets and make 10$ on a weekday then have managers run the place that are straight out of high school that can’t even legally be behind the bar.....hey have at it
Pros
Free popcorn
Cons
Limited to free popcorn
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 12, 2019
This job is definitely faced paced. You need to be a quick learner and open to anything because of short staff on days when it's packed. if they list requirements and you feel like it inst for you don't work there and assume it will work out. Management is well rounded.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job, not a company I would want to stay with
Crew Lead (Current Employee) –  Yukon, OKMarch 12, 2019
It's a great job for your first job when you're in high school and has plenty of opportunities for career advancement, but the company itself just won't fit well with you if you desire an understanding between even the closest corporate level and the actual running of an individual establishment. The people who work here are very communal and helpful, it feels like a group of friends who help each other. The managers are pretty understanding in most situations as well. One major issue is that they focus a lot on the sales of their "Stubs" program, which is often favored over actually good traits in a worker. You can be a terrible worker and get away with it as long as you sell enough Stubs memberships.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for someone to be in college
Server and Bartender (Former Employee) –  Grapevine, TXMarch 12, 2019
Great job for someone to be in college. I worked multiple jobs through school and Amc was one that I made the most money and enjoyed the most. Anyone looking to make good money through school I would suggest working here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent work place but the pay wasnt great.
Usher (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 12, 2019
I learned how to manage well with my time and work ethic. I left the company because the pay was low at 7.50 and I relocated to a different state but good company overall.
Pros
Lunch breaks
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at AMC Theatres. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 3,134 reviews
5837
4929
3816
2314
1238

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at AMC Theatres.

Powered by Comparably