Ameren Employee Reviews

Found 151 reviews matching the search See all 152 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Talent Acquisition Specialist (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOSeptember 7, 2018
This is a great place to work for engineers, customer service representatives and union workers. High pay, great benefits. Many people retiring in the coming years so opportunity for growth.
Pros
culture, pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ameren is a great place to work
DISTRIBUTIONS OPERATIONS SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILSeptember 5, 2018
Ameren is a great place to work. They have excellent benefits, training and job security.

I loved my job at Ameren- I was just tired and the swing shifts required to do my job were taking a tole on my health
Pros
Excellent Pay and benefits
Cons
Shift work and most jobs are in the St Louis area-
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Apprentice Lineman (Former Employee) –  Peoria, IL 61614August 25, 2018
its a good career if you like working in all weather coniditions. A lot of overtime and plenty of time off when you get your time in...................
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked at Company for 10 years
IT Worker (Former Employee) –  Saint Louis, MOAugust 14, 2018
I worked at Ameren for 10 years and thought I would be there for the long haul. The company and culture depends on your immediate supervisor. The last supervisor I had was more than horrible when it came to being fair. Upper management has no clue what is going on and the company thinks things are changing. It was an interesting last year at the company. There are many changes, new senior leadership and lots of "new" college grads. The people that have been there a while are frustrated because they are left out of the new changes and no one in senior leadership cares what is going on.

It seems like the people who choose not to work are the ones getting promoted while the worker bees are left out in the cold.
Pros
Some of my coworkers were great, others were horrible
Cons
manipulative people, the pay is sub par, the middle aged generation is getting pushed out
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fair workplace
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJune 26, 2018
I was at Ameren for almost 9 years. customer service rep. took calls gas and electric service, made at least 7 calls per hours. bonuses not good also pay not good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILJune 14, 2018
To become part of a group that shares a vision of helping those in need while allowing the opportunity to use critical thinking and emergency medical training in a health care setting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Strict
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Pawnee, ILJune 13, 2018
I was only with the company for a couple months past training (which is the same with most of my entire training class that I started with) before I was let go for having to miss some of training. Training was fun but as everyone that works there will tell you, after training it is very stressful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old school
Cyber Security Analyst (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 1, 2018
if you haven't been there for more than 15 years, you don't matter. they don't listen to new ideas. they are stuck doing things just because that is the way they have always done them, at least in the IT world.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Great people and above average benefits.
Procurement Supervisor (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 22, 2018
Fun place to work with exceptional benefits. Hard to move up and if you turn down a promotion don't expect to be ever asked again. Very top down mgt. style (military). Have many union employees working in what are traditional salaried positions which I found quite bureaucratic and which slowed progress.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
LIGHT INDUSTRIAL TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  IllinoisMay 1, 2018
Great company with solid room for advancement - competitive work environment but managers are enjoyable and work day is typically fast paced. Would recommend to a friend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great position
Customer Accounts Bookkeeper (Current Employee) –  Saint Louis, MOApril 12, 2018
I learned a lot about collaborating with other departments. The most frusterating part about working at Ameren communication between the union and management, it can be difficult to find answers to questions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very big company with lots of change happening.
Consultant Writer (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOApril 8, 2018
This is a very big company with lots of change happening. The benefits are excellent, and there are a lot of great people there. Particularly good for those just starting out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do quality work and you can climb quickly
Distribution Systems Operating Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Peoria, ILApril 5, 2018
Turn off your cell phone. Don't bring problems to work. Respect others. Treat your co-workers as if they are your second family. Learn what is being taught. Work hard and you will be move up the ladder.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job in every way!!
Utility Worker (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOApril 2, 2018
Ameren is the best company a man can land a job with. I would still be there if I did not have a very uncommon situation back in 1996.
The company really endorses first rate training and follows the union labor contract perfectly. The stewards have their work cut out for sure as they are between professional workers and professional management. Nonetheless I highly recommend any opportunity to work for this company. AAA+++
Pros
Great pay, advancement, stability.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
credit
Credit Specialist (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 19, 2018
Great company I enjoyed it. they were always eating and having parties. the company really care for its employees and didn't mind showing it...............
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed but professional atmosphere
Gas Records Specialist (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILMarch 19, 2018
Everyone in my department got along. Highly technical work in a fun, relaxed atmosphere. Mapping of gas facilities.and calculations of pipeline integrity. Review of completed orders scanned and sent from all over the state..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace good working, and safe place to work
Troubleshooter, overhead repairman, lineman. (Current Employee) –  Union, MOMarch 5, 2018
Like I have said, Ameren has been a great place. I just want to see what else is out there. I know when you read the good things about what I say with Ameren, and why he wants to retire, ,,it’s hard to explain. I just would like to do something different.
Pros
Good work place
Cons
Many long ot ours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Distribution Design Specialist (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILFebruary 21, 2018
The individuals that were placed as supervisors over my department in the Pioneer Park office were ill equipped to be in that position and therefore there were many problems and complaints by all of my peers. Also, in this department, there was not much room for growth in the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excelant work enviroment
Engineer Co-op (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILFebruary 17, 2018
I enjoyed my time at ameren, very easy culture
helpful team , challenging tasks , supportive management very outgoing and easy going group, love working there and i enjoyed my time at Ameren
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavily Regulated Industry Creates Slow Paced Business Environment
HR Professional (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOFebruary 11, 2018
Strong leadership at highest levels, but it becomes muddled in the middle because of people who have been in the same job for 30 years. Many people assume they will be promoted because they are next in line after their supervisor retires. Low diversity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ameren. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 152 reviews
558
438
338
28
110

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.2Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.1InHerSight Score

1.9Personal Development

2.2Career Opportunities

2.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight