America's Car-Mart Employee Reviews

Found 247 reviews matching the search See all 249 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love car_mart of tuscallosa
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cottondale, ALOctober 9, 2018
Great place to work period !!!!!! Awesome managers & co_workers great pay for the type of company it is and they actually give an annual raise and commend you on your work if you have been doing well.
Pros
free food
Cons
They will work thru any situation with you
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
America's Car-Mart
Inventory Associate (Current Employee) –  Elizabethtown, KYSeptember 6, 2018
Better than working in fast food but don't believe everything they tell you upon hire because it's most likely a lie to get you to work for them. You will work there for 2 years without getting a raise or bonus and everything you do will be unappreciated and unacknowledged.
Pros
Somewhat decent hours.
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run and don’t look back, you will not be valued and will always be reminded that you can be replaced
General Manager, Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Forrest City, ARSeptember 3, 2018
They paint an awesome picture and make very large promises that will never be delivered upon. While i can say that I did enjoy my job and working with and helping customers and employees be successful. If you are luck y to get a good location you can do well and make great money. However if you are not one of the select few and end up with a small lot in a poor area like the lot I ended up with in Forrest City AR. You will struggle from day one. I did have success and was the manager of the month which was a first for that location and I won several other awards as well. They ultimately decided to close my location down and I was relocated to Springfield Mo. as an assistant Manager. The general manager position came open around that time as well and I was not even considered for it and they stuck a guy in there that had never ran a lot. He had been an AOM for a few years but there is a lot of things about running a lot that he didn’t know. If you are lucky to be handed the keys to a store like Springfield North a six figure salary is very easy to attain. They do try to live up to their mission vision and values however they are getting so big they have lost sight of it all. I was treated like I had done bad and that my store closing was all my fault, however at the time all I had was praise and pats on the back. In this company it’s all about who’s butt your kissing and that’s all there is to it. It is hard to hire and keep decent employees because they don’t pay well at all...unless you are in management and if you are you are in constant fear of loosing your job. They are  more... now making a transiston to having a GM run more than one store, but only that select few golden boys. Take it from experiance and don’t fall into this trap and run fast the other way.  less
Pros
Helping customers, meet a lot of nice people
Cons
Everything else, selling High prices low quality vehicles to people that don’t have any other choice
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Future Manager (Current Employee) –  Oxford, MSAugust 29, 2018
Great company. Great management. Awesome company to look for if you’re looking for updward mobility. I’ve enjoyed working here and plan on continuing my career here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay focused on task at hand!
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Camden, ARAugust 27, 2018
You're not there for friends! No one has your back but you!! Do your job duties to the best of your ability and knowledge! Learn when possible! The training videos are very helpful and come out monthly.
Pros
Great atmosphere as long as you stay focused!
Cons
Trust no one.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with room for advancement
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Corinth, MSAugust 25, 2018
Most everyone in upper management has moved up in the company. Room for advancement. Car-Mart has great values that you won't find with most companies. Great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Sr. Office Manager (Former Employee) –  West Memphis, ARAugust 24, 2018
The company is ok to work for, however, men advance quicker than women in this company. This is the case even when the women were more qualified to do the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rat Race
General Manager (Current Employee) –  ArkansasAugust 24, 2018
Don’t waste your time. It’s cut throat and all about who you know not what you know. The hours are long and they expect you to stay over not caring about your home time
Pros
Decent money
Cons
Long hours work 6 days a week
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Claremore, OKAugust 24, 2018
I had a great experience at Car mart. The manager to the lot assistant made everyday fun and exciting. I wish I could go back! I made a mistake which was used against me from an account rep and her co-worker after HR conducted an investigation proving I was innocent by the other co-workers backing me up.
Pros
People and customers
Cons
Time away from family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Potential to Be a Great Company; Preaches Core Values and Uses Them Only When It Benefits Them and Their Preferred Outcome
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Bentonville, ARAugust 11, 2018
If you are a "people person", this is a rewarding career. Very competitive environment amongst other lots. Room for fast advancement throughout. BUT...... always remember "FAIR is what you pay to get on the bus (fare)". The tenured managers gets away with producing hostile work environments, as long as they are selling cars and profitable. Do not count on this company to "look out" for you or care about you being treated badly. HR and corporate is there to protect the company (ei top producing managers) and not anybody who may be effected by his or her manager's poor leadership, untouchable and demeaning rhetoric spewed on them, violent outburst and fits (not to mention yelling and throwing thing) that is somehow being translated by his/her superiors as "passion", getting your job threatened once a week and plain ole everyday, dark cloud and uncomfortable work environment. You will consistently be told you "have no integrity" but the same ones that lie to you everyday about something.
Most of these very tenured GMs are considered "unapproachable" but their own managers and associates. Formal or informal complaints against them are not taken seriously with no investigations/interviews and usually swept under the rug. Which tells me all I need to know in the years I've worked for Car-Mart. They're core values DO NOT match their unspoken actions. You will get snatched under the bus if you are not liked by the wrong person, no matter how good your work history and likability is within the company. I want to have a long career at America's Car Mart, but they are still stuck in
  more... the 90s "boiler room" tactics of car sales and employee/employer relations. The new CEO is a good man and proven. I'm not sure if he knows what's going on at the lot level with these issues.  less
Pros
Advancement, fast paced, fulfilling, stability, longevity, and decent, but not great pay
Cons
Long hours for non-hourly employees, tons or stress, bad GMs (not all but most), usually an hostile work environment, and a HR department that turns a blind eye to those complaints and environments
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
can go far with company if you have the right attitude
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Carthage, MOJuly 25, 2018
I was given a great opportunity with this company. the compensation for the job I do is great. The monthly managers meetings are usually fun and informative.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Senior Account Rep (Former Employee) –  Duncan, OKJuly 21, 2018
Company takes pride in the business and employees they have great advancement opportunities and promote within based on experience skills. They offer a great benefit package just no DUI,s while working for company or suspension will be issued
Pros
Compensation
Cons
Saturday work required
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High level of excellence expected.
Sales (Former Employee) –  MississippiJuly 13, 2018
Great place to work. If you work consistently the job is easy. If you slack off it is impossible to get caught up. Lots of advancement possibilities. Management does care about employees lives. They strive to have a good work-life balance
Pros
Constantly something to do
Cons
Customers complaining
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not do it!
Car Mart Account Rep Manager (Former Employee) –  Enterprise, ALJuly 8, 2018
I worked for America's Car Mart for a year I was an Account Rep Manager and the employees there not only have absolutely no customer service skills, they are very rude to customers, they are racist, they discriminate and are extremely lazy the employees there expect someone else to do their job for them and get paid to do nothing at All! The pay is not worth the stress level you go home with everyday! They make where achieving a bonus is almost impossible and there standards as well. You work your butt off for absolutely Nothing! The job is definitely not worth it . I loved my job there in the beginning then new management came in and everything went downhill. The management and employees there are very hard to work with and get along with , no ,leadership at the Enterprise store what so ever!
Pros
None
Cons
Management stinks
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Streesful and seldomly rewarding
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Owensboro, KYJuly 5, 2018
It wasn't worth the pay. to not be allowed to help people who you were its your job to help them meet the end of their contract according to our mission statement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people at ACM are what drives their success! They are wonderful!
Benefits Compliance Manager (Current Employee) –  Bentonville, ARJune 28, 2018
I enjoy working with the people at ACM! They are the best! The culture is excellent! Good work/life balance. The leaders genuinely care here! Advancement potential is quickly a reality.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work NLR Car-mart
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARJune 26, 2018
Great place to work, my sales experiences is great . The new manger is very competitive which like.The hardest thing is just dealing with the weather.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on who you know in the company
Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJune 26, 2018
Will not work for them again it depends on which state you work in as to how you can handle the customer . Will not work for this company again. With current management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARJune 13, 2018
To many promises that were never kept. When time off requested if it was a weekend they wanted you to plan your time off during the week. Good ole saying to many chiefs not enough Indians fits them perfectly
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Americas cartmart overall
Account Representative (Current Employee) –  Springfield, MOJune 9, 2018
I would highly recommend working for Car-Mart to anyone that I know. I absolutely love my job here and I could not ask for better employees or managers. I am so thankful to have such a great job and such a great work experience.
Pros
Great management, awesome co-workers, and winderful benefits
Cons
There are no cons! 😊
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at America's Car-Mart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 249 reviews
573
455
347
229
145

See reviews about

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

4.1Career Opportunities

1.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight