America's Car-Mart Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Potential to Be a Great Company; Preaches Core Values and Uses Them Only When It Benefits Them and Their Preferred Outcome
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Bentonville, ARAugust 11, 2018
If you are a "people person", this is a rewarding career. Very competitive environment amongst other lots. Room for fast advancement throughout. BUT...... always remember "FAIR is what you pay to get on the bus (fare)". The tenured managers gets away with producing hostile work environments, as long as they are selling cars and profitable. Do not count on this company to "look out" for you or care about you being treated badly. HR and corporate is there to protect the company (ei top producing managers) and not anybody who may be effected by his or her manager's poor leadership, untouchable and demeaning rhetoric spewed on them, violent outburst and fits (not to mention yelling and throwing thing) that is somehow being translated by his/her superiors as "passion", getting your job threatened once a week and plain ole everyday, dark cloud and uncomfortable work environment. You will consistently be told you "have no integrity" but the same ones that lie to you everyday about something.
Most of these very tenured GMs are considered "unapproachable" but their own managers and associates. Formal or informal complaints against them are not taken seriously with no investigations/interviews and usually swept under the rug. Which tells me all I need to know in the years I've worked for Car-Mart. They're core values DO NOT match their unspoken actions. You will get snatched under the bus if you are not liked by the wrong person, no matter how good your work history and likability is within the company. I want to have a long career at America's Car Mart, but they are still stuck in
  more... the 90s "boiler room" tactics of car sales and employee/employer relations. The new CEO is a good man and proven. I'm not sure if he knows what's going on at the lot level with these issues.  less
Pros
Advancement, fast paced, fulfilling, stability, longevity, and decent, but not great pay
Cons
Long hours for non-hourly employees, tons or stress, bad GMs (not all but most), usually an hostile work environment, and a HR department that turns a blind eye to those complaints and environments
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Senior Account Rep (Former Employee) –  Duncan, OKJuly 21, 2018
Company takes pride in the business and employees they have great advancement opportunities and promote within based on experience skills. They offer a great benefit package just no DUI,s while working for company or suspension will be issued
Pros
Compensation
Cons
Saturday work required
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High level of excellence expected.
Sales (Former Employee) –  MississippiJuly 13, 2018
Great place to work. If you work consistently the job is easy. If you slack off it is impossible to get caught up. Lots of advancement possibilities. Management does care about employees lives. They strive to have a good work-life balance
Pros
Constantly something to do
Cons
Customers complaining
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not do it!
Car Mart Account Rep Manager (Former Employee) –  Enterprise, ALJuly 8, 2018
I worked for America's Car Mart for a year I was an Account Rep Manager and the employees there not only have absolutely no customer service skills, they are very rude to customers, they are racist, they discriminate and are extremely lazy the employees there expect someone else to do their job for them and get paid to do nothing at All! The pay is not worth the stress level you go home with everyday! They make where achieving a bonus is almost impossible and there standards as well. You work your butt off for absolutely Nothing! The job is definitely not worth it . I loved my job there in the beginning then new management came in and everything went downhill. The management and employees there are very hard to work with and get along with , no ,leadership at the Enterprise store what so ever!
Pros
None
Cons
Management stinks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Streesful and seldomly rewarding
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Owensboro, KYJuly 5, 2018
It wasn't worth the pay. to not be allowed to help people who you were its your job to help them meet the end of their contract according to our mission statement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people at ACM are what drives their success! They are wonderful!
Benefits Compliance Manager (Current Employee) –  Bentonville, ARJune 28, 2018
I enjoy working with the people at ACM! They are the best! The culture is excellent! Good work/life balance. The leaders genuinely care here! Advancement potential is quickly a reality.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work NLR Car-mart
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARJune 26, 2018
Great place to work, my sales experiences is great . The new manger is very competitive which like.The hardest thing is just dealing with the weather.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on who you know in the company
Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJune 26, 2018
Will not work for them again it depends on which state you work in as to how you can handle the customer . Will not work for this company again. With current management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARJune 13, 2018
To many promises that were never kept. When time off requested if it was a weekend they wanted you to plan your time off during the week. Good ole saying to many chiefs not enough Indians fits them perfectly
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Americas cartmart overall
Account Representative (Current Employee) –  Springfield, MOJune 9, 2018
I would highly recommend working for Car-Mart to anyone that I know. I absolutely love my job here and I could not ask for better employees or managers. I am so thankful to have such a great job and such a great work experience.
Pros
Great management, awesome co-workers, and winderful benefits
Cons
There are no cons! 😊
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job would've been great if the management wasnt horrible
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lufkin, TXJune 5, 2018
Job is fairly simple and can be enjoyable if you're willing to deal with a manager that will throw you under the bus to save her skin. She constantly leaves work, even when short staffed and leaves employees scrambling. You are never sure what new policy will come up, and once you implement that policy she gets angry with you for doing what she said because shes changed her mind. I wouldn't recommend working or purchasing from the lufkin dealership. Others may be fine, I'd check other cities first.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Horrible and unorganized management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my coworkers
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  OklahomaJune 2, 2018
It was the most stressful place I have ever worked. Could careless if your home with your family or not. It’s a very greedy corporation. I loved my co workers but hated the upper management. I asked many times about advancement and would not listen.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Muskogee, OKMay 30, 2018
it was a very hard job as the dealership changed management several times while I was employed there. they were for the most part flexible to the changes in ones own personal life
Pros
fun
Cons
sometimes wishy washy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't
Employee (Former Employee) –  Bentonville, ARMay 29, 2018
They don't care about their employees. You can make more money almost anywhere else. They over charge customers. They repo everyone whenever they feel like it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
at the work place
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Conway, ARMay 27, 2018
Was hired at one location then moved to another that was out of the way. Was hired to do a job and was then moved to another where I not only had make phone to collect payments but had to go out and find the vehicle and repo.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
On call driver (Former Employee) –  Poplar Bluff, MOMay 21, 2018
I highly enjoyed working for this company, the management was amazing and so was my fellow co-workers. Always had fun while working. Awesome company with great people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only apply if you can handle stress
Payment clerk (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKMay 17, 2018
A very stressful atmosphere. Certain management was difficult to deal with. Turnover rate is high. Learned how to keep filing system up to date and organized. Co-workers were mostly great but some were difficult to get along with.
Pros
1 hour lunch, 1 week paid vacation after 1 year of service
Cons
Overly stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay but quality of life at work was sub par.
Sales (Former Employee) –  Warrensburg, MOMay 13, 2018
If you want to sell junk vehicles to good people for bad management then this is the place for you. The hardest part of the job was selling junk cars. The best part of the job was the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Hard get promoted must have common sense
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Palestine, TXMay 11, 2018
If you have a good work ethic and have common sense you can get far in this company, Now that being said GM's make less that a GM at McDonalds, Panda Express, and other fast food facilities on the base Salary not counting bonuses and GM at Car-Mart works 3 times as hard promise you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience was good
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Little Rock, ARMay 4, 2018
Car-Mart offers many opportunities for career minded individuals. I enjoyed my time with the company and the customers. Car-mart offers a unique opportunity to develop strong relationships with the customers. Car-Mart does their own financing so the flexibility to work with customers are there
Pros
Team work, Build relationships
Cons
Service
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at America's Car-Mart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 239 reviews
570
453
344
228
144

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.9

2.6Personal Development

4.1Career Opportunities

1.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight