American Eagle Outfitters Employee Reviews

Found 4,444 reviews matching the search See all 4,984 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work part time
American Eagle Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Panama City Beach, FLJanuary 16, 2019
I enjoyed working here and being a stylist. All american eagle staff meme era get treated very well. helping customers was really somthing i strives for and enhanced working in this environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun working environment
Stock/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJanuary 16, 2019
i loved everyone i worked with. everyone was super nice and made the work load a lot easier than what it really was. i love my job and job title as well i was in charge of merchandise etc.
Pros
free clothes/ good discounts
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management staff and co-workers
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Auburn, WAJanuary 16, 2019
I had a lot of fun working with the AEO employees. Customers were wonderful to interact with, the store was always in great shape, and the clothing was so cute (plus great discounts).
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Freeport, MEJanuary 15, 2019
I've worked here through high school and college, and I have loved all aspects of working retail! I have learned a lot about customer service, merchandising, marketing, and supply chain.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced and had little assignment variety
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Wyomissing, PAJanuary 15, 2019
Not too tough. Most days were just fixing up clothes on display that got ruined by customers. Had many questions that were hard to get answers for like how to operate the register.
Pros
Not difficult to work at
Cons
Left to figure some things out
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great perks, not so great work atmosphere
Sales (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 15, 2019
Teamwork was only mentioned in training, almost never applied practically. The interactions between managers and employees were off from day one. Going into my first day, people were already complaining to me about how much they hated the management.
Pros
breaks
Cons
hard to get any hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No hours
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJanuary 15, 2019
My shifts are always cut every week. They would give me 20 hours then call saying their business are slow so don’t come in. Horrible place to work for
Pros
60% discounts
Cons
No hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great experience.
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Daytona Beach, FLJanuary 15, 2019
I enjoyed working at American eagle. They were fair, understanding, and accommodating toward their employees. I would recommend working at this workplace to a friend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked at A@E 7 Years
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, KSJanuary 14, 2019
Poor Management to many Big egos with management they treat there help like they are children. All new Managers not trained at their job and they always play favorite games with people. They treat people not the same.
Pros
health care
Cons
poor managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Schaumburg, ILJanuary 14, 2019
American Eagle provided a challenging yet interesting environment to work in. I always looked forward to work because I always found a well structured, fast paced job that pushed me out of my comfort zone. The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing that I had helped a customer find something that they love.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to start
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  White Plains, NYJanuary 14, 2019
if you work hard enough you can ask for a promotion and even you can apply for being a jean expert and get employees discounts with it
depends on the manager how good your experience is
Pros
good work place
Cons
when its slow they only give you less than 15 hours the week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Associate (Former Employee) –  Hagerstown, MDJanuary 14, 2019
Decent place to work for a part-time or just a job to get a discount on clothes. The staff their was nice. Was a fun an easy job to have. I enjoyed meeting knew people all the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Group Lead Level III (Former Employee) –  Hazleton, PAJanuary 14, 2019
I loved working at American Eagle. The schedules are good the pay was good and the family work life balance was great. The management team is very helpful in helping you grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Flint, MIJanuary 13, 2019
Managers control every single thing you do minute by minute yet your expected to do things without being told. Their available work hours are very small and limited because all managers get to choose the times and days they work first then you just get thrown in the schedule wherever. and it's rare to get a break.
Pros
a lot of days cut short
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice atmosphere to be around
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 12, 2019
Typical day includes merchandising, organizing back rooms and providing excellent customer service. While working I’ve learned how to interact with fellow employees on a business level
Pros
Discounts on all apparel
Cons
Short break times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ok place to work
Stock Lead (Former Employee) –  OKC, OKJanuary 12, 2019
When i worked there, the management was not nice to their employees, barely gave scheduled breaks, would barely schedule you then be upset if you had a second job. Just not a very pleasant place to work for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good experience
Sales associate (Current Employee) –  Nashua, NHJanuary 12, 2019
This was my first job at my fellow employees helped me through it. I did not get enough shifts, so I had to leave. It can be hard to advance in the company unless the managers really like you.
Pros
Some free food
Cons
Not enough shifts, overemployed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Sales Associate/Sales Lead/Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Farmington Hills, MIJanuary 11, 2019
not a stressful job, however it may be more slow-paced than anything. not much to do if business is slow, company is fun, employees make you feel like a part of the team instantly. not enough pay for what is needed to be done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
American Eagle Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Snellville, GAJanuary 11, 2019
A normal day at work would clocking in. Running go backs into their places while helping customers finding clothes then running and doing cashier. Management was nice
Pros
nice employee discount
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and committed workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 11, 2019
Everyone is very friendly and customer-oriented. Meeting the customer's demands is of the utmost importance. Flexible scheduling hours and compensation for one's hard work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Eagle Outfitters. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 4,985 reviews
51.6K
41.7K
31.2K
2348
1210

See reviews about

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Women's ratings

3.3Fairygodboss Score

100%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

67%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss