American Eagle Paper Mills Employee Reviews

Showing all 20 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Look for a job somewhere else.
Team Leader/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  PennsylvaniaMay 15, 2019
A lot of back stabbing good ole boys running the place, although even the original owners have been disappearing. The place only survives due to little competition in what there doing. I'm afraid one major failure on the poorly kept up machinery and Poof its all gone, No jobs for anybody. But when your running a shoe string, with all the talent leaving for various reasons its no wonder its a scary place to work.
Pros
cant think of any
Cons
Managemant
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uneducated managers
MANAGER (Former Employee) –  PAApril 18, 2019
The managers are very poor, not efficient or effective leaders. They do not practice ethics, the machinery is poorly cared for. Owner fight amongst each other.
Cons
Owners
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, relaxing enviornment that can be fast pase at times
Coal unloader (Former Employee) –  Tyrone, PAJanuary 14, 2019
Overall a good place too work I highly recommend, it has good benefits pay is good too, the people that work there are nice as well which made it easy to come to work every day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consistent Work
Operator (Current Employee) –  Tyrone, PADecember 19, 2018
The shifts are a long 12 hours, but it's a very fast-paced environment. I've learned the paper making process quickly and learned my job within a couple weeks. Although some of my coworkers don't feel the same, I feel that my supervisor seems to care about the employees in his department and about the work that the employees are doing. There is a big emphasis on safety around the plant. The hardest part of the job right now is covering all of the vacancies, but as soon as the department is fully staffed that will not be an issue. I enjoy working with the coworkers that are on my crew and everyone seems to get along well.
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work in Tyrone - One of the Best paying jobs in area.
Production Associate (Current Employee) –  Tyrone, PADecember 19, 2018
AEPM is a good place to work for. Group of local owners really care about success. Over 200 employees. Pay is excellent. Full time employees eligible for benefits that are very good in comparison to other companies in central PA. 401K plan. Good dental plan. Company paid life insurance plan. Vision plan. Overtime can grow tiresome when short handed and that is a major complaint at this time. Normal work schedules allow time with family. People leave and then want to return. Unfortunately, some people that post on indeed seem to be disgruntled past employees. Often, one doesn't really want to share anything but negative thoughts when things didn't go the way they wanted. If someone is employed for 5+ years, they should post what kept them here for so long. They forget the company is what provided for them and their family for that time being. The company has drastically changed ways for the better in the last few years. People get to where they are at in the company due to hard work.
Pros
Pay, Benefits, Overtime Pay, Co-Workers
Cons
Swing Shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operator
Operator (Current Employee) –  Tyrone, PANovember 19, 2018
Good job for the area. Plenty of learning experiences. Management tends to be hit or miss depending on department. Small town and company. Advancement is there for those willing to put in the effort.
Pros
7 days off a month, quick advance
Cons
Dirty job, variable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it, live in a tent first!
Loader/Unloader (Former Employee) –  Tyrone, PAOctober 21, 2018
They care nothing about their employees! Very unorganized poor management! Over 9 years i watched HUNDREDS of employees come and go, most quit but a lot were terminated also.
Pros
decent benefits and pay
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paper Mill run by good old boys that goes through a lot of people
Supervisor/Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Tyrone, PAJuly 24, 2018
This place is crazy with an abnormal amount of hiring and firing. The business seems to think it is very successful, but if they had any competition they would not have very many employees. They do not treat their employees well and its a "good old boys system. If you have a differing opinion that any of the owners, you won't be there long. Do yourself a favor,and find a different job.
Pros
People
Cons
Weak Management Team
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are great them to work with
Broke Hustler (Current Employee) –  Tyrone, PAApril 16, 2018
It's a great places to work and to learn about the making of paper and how to run the machines great work please for young men or women to get into the business
Pros
Great pay
Cons
The 12 hr shifts and the swing shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of hours due to people calling off constantly and people leaving
Technician (Former Employee) –  Tyrone, PAJanuary 2, 2018
Would go back to work there if I had to. Hours were erratic constantly switching back and forth from day shift to night shift. Once a month you get 7 days off in a row but is never guaranteed due to people calling off for whatever reason.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work
Warehouseman and Yard Jockey (Current Employee) –  Tyrone Pa.October 2, 2017
Poor management with no place to go...1 minute they'll tell you that your job is secure, the next you'll find yourself on Indeed because your job is being "dissolved"...
Cons
no breaks...rotating scheduel
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to gain knowledge and skills
Boiler Operations Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tyrone, PAJune 6, 2017
Overall a good company to work for, especially if you are looking to build your skill sets. I started out working an entry level position earning $12.50 an hour and at the time of my layoff, I was earning $17.56 an hour, I moved up fairly quickly There was plenty of opportunity for overtime and work/life balance if you didn't work all the overtime. I was able to utilize previous experience I gained serving in the U.S. Navy and gained new and useful experience. Management wasn't overtly overbearing and accepted input from employees from my experience.
Pros
great opportunity to gain experience and OT.
Cons
nothing remarkable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place for a helpful "starter" job...
Furnish Tester (Current Employee) –  Tyrone, PAMay 7, 2017
American Eagle Paper Mills is a facility that has been in operation in Tyrone, PA since the 1880's. Parts of the mill and its equipment are rather old, many years or decades in some cases. It currently produces various types of paper from recycled papers of many kinds and sources. The areas of the mill where in-coming paper is processed and new paper is made are not exactly the most comfortable places to be, as much of that part of the mill is partly open to the outside year-round. The recycling process can be noisy and messy in some ways, but to a certain extent that is the nature of the process. Safety is a constant emphasis by management, with ongoing training and various postings about it across the mill.
Pros
Safety is emphasized throughout the facility.
Cons
Limited benefits, no real opportunity for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 9Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former employee with 4 years and 7 months service.
Boiler Operators assistant (Former Employee) –  Tyrone, PAAugust 20, 2016
Don't waist your time with this company it's a dead end company unless you've recently graduated from high school and looking for work experience, have been released from incarceration or overcame drug addiction. Everyone needs a place to start out or over. It's not a company you want to relocate to with any previous experience.
Pros
Overtime availability
Cons
Substandard leadership, health insurance and growth potential.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad pay for this area
Paper Mill Machine Room Operator (Current Employee) –  Tyrone, PAJanuary 5, 2016
-Long days, decent pay, on call A LOT.
-Laid back atmosphere.
-No scheduled breaks.
-Decent benefits.
-Somewhat dangerous. Minor injuries are common.
-
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
treated poorly at the end of my career
machine operator (Former Employee) –  tyrone paAugust 10, 2015
After almost six years lost my job, had some difficulties and no one cared or communicated the difficulties I was having. Followed the chain of command but it didn't help. Basically feel it was a good place to work, but realized if you can't do exactly what they want then they have no problem letting you go.
Pros
good pay and benefits
Cons
no scheduled breaks, lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Let go after 6 years, no security
machine operator (Former Employee) –  Tyrone, PAJuly 12, 2015
Was a good work experience, until they started moving seasoned workers into all different areas. I found that this company isn't professional in following there own protocols. Very disappointed.
Pros
only work 14, 12 hr days a month
Cons
not professional in dealing with problems, doesn't follow chain of command.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Coal Operator (Former Employee) –  Tyrone, PAJune 29, 2014
Loading and unloading coal into the bunkers greasing up the chain as well on the conveyor belt
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better at night
Finisher (Former Employee) –  Tyrone, PAJanuary 15, 2014
The pay was great. If you get used to there schedule its not a big deal. I did unfortunatly have to work just about every holiday while i was there because of my seniority and vacation coverage. There are no scheduled breaks or lunches, and the shifts are 12 hours long. But as far as work in this area goes it pays great, they hire with no experience, and you get a week off every rotation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 7Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Eagle Paper Mills. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 20 reviews
53
45
35
23
14

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.5Management
3.1Culture

American Eagle Paper Mills Reviews by Location