American Foods Group Employee Reviews

3.4
Overall rating
Based on 42 reviews
Ratings breakdown
59
411
314
25
13
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 42 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive and fast paced
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIJuly 7, 2018
They pay their workers pretty well and decent benefits. You have your good and bad managers like anywhere. For the most part you do your job and they leave you alone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIJune 7, 2018
American Food's Group is a great place to work. It has an easy to get to location, near the express-way. The job positions are not hard to learn. The supervisors are very nice.
Pros
Great Place to Work
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice people to work with except management
Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Yankton, SDMay 6, 2018
Very hostke work environment due to management
Very little focus on employee needs or working conditions
Safety is not a priority
Managers are abusive verbally and treatment of employees
Very low morale at the workplace
Pros
Nice area to live
Cons
Management treatment of subordinate employees no involvement from HR
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company Culture
HR Assistant (Current Employee) –  Green Bay, WIMay 1, 2018
Being one of the largest employers in the Green Bay area, American Foods Group is an excellent place to work. The company culture is relaxed and your managers do an excellent job motivating the team. The managers are also very knowledgeable and want the best out of all their employees.
Pros
Relaxed culture, managers are knowledable
Cons
Not much vacation offered
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my job and workplace
Claims Representative (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIApril 10, 2018
Calling customers, confirming payments, checking on orders processing, watching credit line. Updating credit line with recommendations to management. Responsible for clients accounts and balances.
Pros
Discounted product
Cons
no cons.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Foods Group
Payroll Manager (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIMarch 30, 2018
Enjoyed starting the payroll and finishing. Working with the time clock then transferring to the payroll system. Balanced the payroll from the time clock to year end.
Pros
Fast Pace
Cons
Did not speak Spanish
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Lead (Current Employee) –  Green Bay, WIMarch 25, 2018
Great work place but theres no time for family. To many hours at American Foods Group as second shift. You spend more time at work than at work and you work most saturday and some sundays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super fast pace job
Line Worker (Current Employee) –  Green Bay, WIJanuary 6, 2018
Everyday is pretty much the same. You focus on cutting your only piece of meat. The line is very fast especially if you have a big piece of meat that you are assigned to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIJanuary 3, 2018
Was the first factory setting for me, I liked the factory line of work just didn't like the position I held there. There's so many different positions there and if you have the right one life can be great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people and management is what made this job a fun place to work.
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIJanuary 3, 2018
When I started with this company I had just moved up here from S.C. so I was a little nervous. But management was really nice and helpful they help me to unwind and do the best at my job.
Pros
I really like this company because they provided you with a $15 a day in the lunch room.
Cons
And again I really don't have anything bad to say about this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical meat packing life
Quality Assurance Specialist/SQFP (Former Employee) –  Yankton, SDDecember 28, 2017
Employees must be prepared for difficult work that is not only physically demanding but financially. Pay is average to other factory pay however much overtime is to be expected.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great job with even better co-workers.
Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Long Prairie, MNNovember 17, 2017
As an Engineer Intern with AFG, I was provided a variety of challenging and interesting projects. Everyone was willing to help you succeed at your job while making you feel apart of the team. If you want a faced past internship that will teach you more about your intended profession than a year in school, I recommend working at AFG.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible workplace a lot of favortism
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHOctober 30, 2017
The workplace consists of a lot favortism and a lot of Mexicans who had first serve work placement. the first shift supervisor had underlying issues with some folks who worked there. I was told a lot of bad reviews about the supervisor. I hadn't noticed until I got to see for myself.
Pros
None
Cons
The cut throat work place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a pretty much 6 day a week job can"t really plan anything
Material Handler and Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIJuly 20, 2017
it was a good plkace to work except a person really works hard for the wage,the vacation time is a first come serve basic and you need too get approved b4 you would be able to get off .I got the experience that i needed as far as unloading semi trailers
Pros
give a nice employee apprciation meals dounuts
Cons
work certain areasn and never know what time you will be done work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, good company
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIJune 27, 2017
Working for American foods allowed me to gain experience in the beef/cattle industry. I learned alot, gained good associates and overall was a great start for me without me relocating to Green Bay, WI.
Pros
Great management, good benefits
Cons
Mandatory overtime went on to long
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accommodating Workplace for Interns
Operations Engineering Intern (Current Employee) –  Versailles, OHJune 22, 2017
Overlooked many different departments such as Quality Assurance and Production. Very accommodating staff. Helped me out when I needed them. Fast paced
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long days filthy conditions
office maintance, (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIJune 1, 2017
work hard, treat people with respect do what has to be done.the work is stressful job training is lacking co workers poor attitude made it stressful six days a wk for months at a time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging workplace
DIRECTOR OF HUMAN RESOURCES (Former Employee) –  VariuosMay 22, 2017
A good place to work if one enjoys solving problems. One is given freedom to manage as though the company was their own. Help is available when needed but one needs to ask.
Pros
Management is treated well
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you work hard
General Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIMay 17, 2017
I liked working for American Foods, but their point system makes it hard to take off for appointments. The long hours are also something to think off, if you have a family this place does not work well for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a fast pace job
Cattle sorter (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIApril 9, 2017
it is a fast pace job it has great benefits, they also help with schooling after you have been there for a year. management is great, they really help when it is in need.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Foods Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.4InHerSight Score

1.6Personal Development

2.6Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight