American Furniture Rental Employee Reviews

Showing all 43 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exhausting, but good pay
Kitchen and Lenin/Retail (Current Employee) –  Pennsauken, NJSeptember 29, 2018
AFR was a great place to work at with supportive people, however you have to have a strong mentality and worth ethic because it can be exhausting most days.
Pros
lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work for AFR
Driver/Installer (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GASeptember 12, 2018
Good pay almost $17 hourly. longs days, some heavy lifting, on the road all day. they hire felons with various back rounds. they treat you with respect.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
warehouse driver (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDSeptember 9, 2018
excellent place to work and advance yourself. good teamwork and environment. good hours and good management. management was always nice and flexible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good place to work out
Driver/Packer (Former Employee) –  Pennsauken, NJSeptember 3, 2018
had to pack kitchen items in a bin . things like everything that you would need for your kitchen -- coffee maker ,toaster,can opener,dishes,glasses,mugs also would pack linens for your bathroom and your bedroom. there is a checklist that you go by. then I would get ready to go out on the road. to set up houses or apartment with the kitchen and linens we would set it for people they would use the stuff for week or more. sometimes i go to their place to change out the old stuff and bring ion the new stuff.
i learned to work with customers .And I learned how to do Q.C drive a van. the most enjoyable time of my job is making other people happy. And getting done work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasn't no team work in loading furinture on trucks or off
Unloader and Inspector (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 9, 2018
If you just looking for a job and need it for right then and you can put up with the fighting on a job it would be good , It use to be a good place to work but the management has went down.
Pros
Having a job
Cons
no team work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, strong willed and focused co workers, while keeping a fun work atmosphere
OPERATIONS MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Secaucus, NJAugust 2, 2018
Checking emails for request and availability of product, how many trucks are being used, joke with co workers, while maintaining a focused and strong work environment and fulfilling company expectations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very cool place to work for.
Loader/Unloader (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 13, 2018
I loved working there because they taught me a lot about moving quickly. The staff was very helpful and we all got along great. I would love to work there again.
Pros
Good poeple to be around
Cons
It was hot, but thats the way warehouse work is.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Jessup, MDJuly 7, 2018
there could be some days that it would be a lot of orders and some days where ok. i learned organizational skill and doing things in a timely manor. management would help out when there was a man down. and there were many different cultures that worked there. keeping up with the loading and off loading of the trucks. it was a fun place to work.
Pros
lunch brakes
Cons
and other brakes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall
Operations Manager/inventory control (Former Employee) –  Jessup, MDMay 28, 2018
great place to work- good people there-exciting challenges-good atmosphere-great pay if you're in the right division-overall operations manager sucks-will not be in your corner when needed
Pros
good job
Cons
operations manager sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Job but poorly ran..
Driver Helper (Former Employee) –  Jessup, MDMay 23, 2018
Managers arent on the same level as workers, Some get better treatment because of who they are and not how they perform.
Poor management of orders thay are given,not enough research on jobs and poor communication with drivers and helpers.
Pros
Paid lunches and breaks
Cons
Mandatory Weekends and overtime occasionally because of poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helper
helper (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLApril 14, 2018
the hours were all over the place. you can't have a life. you have to just live for whenever the company wants to schedule you. you never get raises even when you work hard.
Pros
overttime
Cons
too many
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good part time job
Lead Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLMarch 30, 2018
Mostly worked in hotels and event spaces hanging drapes.

It was a great part time job with a lot of flexibility.

I would recommend this to someone who was interested in a slow base, light labor intensive job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pour management and schedule
Driver (Former Employee) –  Henderson, NV 89074January 24, 2018
Mangers don’t care about employees work too much for little pay it’s fast paced hard work they get mad when you ask for vacation or a sick day if you do manage to get a day off manager will try cut your hours for a week
Pros
Lots of overtime
Cons
No days off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Cleaning (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, MAJanuary 18, 2018
Todo estuvo bien en mi trabajo, es bueno trabajar con ellos
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet new people everyday
Truck Driver/ Warehouse (Forklift Operator) (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCJanuary 4, 2018
A ( typical day at work)come to work, do the job go home. Its a great place to work with pay. Management. Workplace culture. The hardest part of the job is the weather. The most enjoyable part of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Driver/Installer (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 19, 2017
Very thorough and friendly process. Met with accounted executive and general manager. They asked about my history and let me know what would be expected. I really liked to process. It was fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Find another company
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Jessup, MDOctober 30, 2017
If you don't mind working for people who are inconsiderate of their employees, this may be the place for you. Otherwise, apply elsewhere. Don't expect too much in regards to pay either,
Pros
Unfortunately nothing comes to mind.
Cons
Compensation. Management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for work
Driver Helper (Former Employee) –  Woburn, MAOctober 1, 2017
Is good company for work but the jobs is really hard sometimes you fill in your body but is fun i quiet because i find a different job close to my house
Pros
Over time
Cons
Work hart
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Accounts Payable Specialist (Current Employee) –  Pennsauken, NJJuly 6, 2017
This is a wonderful company, with great coworkers. Appreciates employees and makes sure all are properly trained to best perform. Management is very approachable and willing to help. Pay is alright but medical benefits are excellent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Afr is very good place to work
Warehouse Clerk/Driver (Current Employee) –  Durham, NC 27703July 4, 2017
Afr is a good place to work. Afr has good benefits and the employees treat you like family the first day you start working there. its always overtime if needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Furniture Rental. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 43 reviews
516
413
36
24
14

See reviews about

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.5Culture