American Furniture Warehouse Employee Reviews for Delivery Driver

Found 18 reviews matching the search See all 261 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced got to be productive
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Thornton, CONovember 14, 2018
Like any employee I had my ups and downs but it takes away from family time and family is important the pay was great drivers are paid commission so that means you can work for hours
Pros
Great pay and benefits
Cons
Bad management not enough communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Days, heavy lifting
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Pueblo, COSeptember 28, 2018
Very long days on the road. Management not easy to work for. If they didn't want you working there, they would change your schedule without letting you know.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsat conditions and poor management
Delivery driver to furniture loader (Former Employee) –  Englewood, COJuly 19, 2018
Management had no communication or leadership skills. The job was relatively easy, but no room for error. Management literally compared us to robots and expected us to act as such. Contingency was a foreign language to this company, protocol was unheard of. Workplace conditions were horrific.
Pros
good compensation
Cons
management, workplace conditions, constant denied PTO
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is good, everything else needs work.
Deluxer/Delivery prep (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 17, 2018
Ever heard of the term; too many chiefs and not enough Indians? Paycheck is nice. But management has a hard time appreciating their employees. They very quick to let you know when you messed up. But getting them to tell you good job after a busy day of work is unheard of
Pros
Pay, hours
Cons
Managers, scheduled days off
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paid weekly and benefits
Delivery Check in/Payroll (Current Employee) –  Glendale, AZFebruary 1, 2018
Overall great place to work at. Just as any job there is drama and disadvantages. I loved the position that I worked in as I was able to work 4 10 hour days with 3 days off. Met some amazing people, but it is a younger group to work with. With that being said there is more drama than there should be. It is not as professional as I would have preferred it. Kind of reminded me of high school. Like I said overall, great place to work.
Pros
paid weekly, benefits
Cons
younger crowd so there is more drama than usual, no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Official response from American Furniture Warehouse
April 3, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback and being a team member of our company. I’m glad to hear that you enjoy the wage, benefits, and hours. We strive to offer our team members a competitive pay and benefits package and are always looking for ways to improve. Thank you again for your feedback, as it helps us make AFW a better place. Thank you again, AFW

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
never a boring day at work.
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COJanuary 14, 2018
There is always something to do. When you finish a task you will aways find another. to cleaning up the truck to building a bed. When you're finished move on to the next stop. By the time you look at the time, you find yourself done with a route.
Pros
Lots of freedom on the road.
Cons
physically demanding on the body.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from American Furniture Warehouse
April 3, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback and I'm glad to hear that you had a positive experience here at AFW. Sincerely, AFW

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Private Company to work for
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Thornton, CONovember 1, 2017
If you are a hard working individual, this is a great place to work. Some positions are hourly, and others are commission, but all have full benefits. You work hard, but you can make a very comfortable living.
Pros
Full benefits, good pay
Cons
Busy season can be very demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from American Furniture Warehouse
April 3, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback and being a team member of our organization! I’m glad to hear that you enjoy the wage and the overall atmosphere within the company. We strive to offer our team members a competitive pay and benefits package and are always looking for ways to improve. Sincerely, AFW

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favoritism and lack of communication. A lot of egos and testosterone
Delivery Check-in (Former Employee) –  GilbertOctober 24, 2017
Not the best job but did my job. Management turn over was a joke. No training for new management. Wasn’t part of the job description but still landed on my desk.
Pros
Work/life balance
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Official response from American Furniture Warehouse
April 3, 2018

We value and consider all feedback and we will continue to find ways to improve, so thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience. I wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors. Sincerely, AFW

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice place to work
Delivery driver (Former Employee) –  Mrytle beachOctober 16, 2017
I work plenty of hours I delivered a lot of furniture some days I work late put a lot of furniture together in the warehouse we worked plenty of hours I was averaging 80 to 90 hours a week hard work delivered a lot of furniture and big houses Upstairs Downstairs 16 flights of stairs up a lot of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
DELIVERY DRIVER/SALESMAN (Former Employee) –  Grand Junction, COJuly 31, 2017
Awesome Job to have, I worked in delivery and every day was a new day and was very enjoyable. Compensation for work was great and would work there again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCJune 11, 2017
One of the best jobs I had but when I worked here gas was 5.00gallon and at the time I didn't have my own car and had pay someone take me Burlington to Greensboro
Pros
Free lunch on saturday
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outgoing people
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Centennial, CODecember 7, 2016
I enjoy warehouse work and the people associated with it. A typical day just isn't sitting behind the desk but actively working out and about all day. I find running around and completing task a nice exercise and a perk to the job. Overall quota and safety is still top and number one priority in any job at hand.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job for schooling
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Golden, CONovember 4, 2016
Does that work for Jeffco Public Schools is being a custodian which consist of cleaning up the school after hours so that staff and students how to clean a building to come into the next day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Pay
Delivery Driver/Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Thornton, COApril 6, 2014
Deliveries are a great way to make the money if you need/want it but it certainly comes at a cost. If you want to make the money that the top earners do in this department you have to sacrifice a lot of your personal time. If you have a family or maybe you have joint custody of your kids than you really need to consider your situation before accepting this job. I was there for almost three year and have seen many guys come and go from this department. If you are easily deterred by "pain" and working with constant aches than this is not for you.
Pros
More money than you have time to spend.
Cons
You have no time to spend the money you make.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excersize
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Thornton, COAugust 15, 2013
load trucks with furniture and deliver. learned to assemble furniture. management ok, awsome co-workers. hardest part was heavy lifting.
Pros
discount furniture
Cons
heavy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money but really didn't feel they cared for employees
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Grand Junction, CONovember 26, 2012
We had to deliver heavy furniture, sometimes items weighing more than 400 lbs without the use of dollys, back braces, ect. I felt that they were more concerned about the customer than the employee, which I didn't agree with. I fell the company is only as good as the employees, and if your employees always get hurt due to bad practices than the company is hurt.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very physical job
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Thornton, COJune 3, 2012
start off with the bill of ladding and load truck accordingly with delivery times and area. wrapping all firniture that was un-boxed and loading truck per stop. hardest part of job was carrying heavy furniture of flights of stairs when there was no elevator.
Pros
great money
Cons
commision based deliveries
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report

See more American Furniture Warehouse reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Furniture Warehouse. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 261 reviews
574
477
354
225
131

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.2Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

2.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight