American Journal Experts Employee Reviews for Editor

Found 13 reviews matching the search See all 21 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty exploitative
Editor (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCOctober 30, 2018
The Editors do most of the work but receive low pay, you have to stay at home by your PC all the time to get assignments. They keep changing the system to squeeze more out of you.
Pros
Easy work at home for unemployed scientists, extra money on the side
Cons
Not something you want to do full-time, long-term
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
underpaid work at $0.01/word
Contract Editor (Current Employee) –  RemotefAugust 24, 2018
Work is underpaid and preferred editor status is unattainable due to subjective evaluations of contractor performance. The guide is useful but not comprehensive.
Pros
work-life balance, timely reply from managemet
Cons
compensation is low, advancement is undetermined
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great contract work for graduate students
Contract Editor (Current Employee) –  RemoteApril 3, 2018
This was an easy way to pick up extra money during graduate school, but it would not be a great full-time job. It's nice that you can do it remotely and you can work only when you'd like.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Low compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job for the self-motivated.
Preferred Editor (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCMarch 1, 2018
You are able to choose which papers you wish to edit and when you wish to edit them. The pay is relatively fair, and the hours are great. However, you must be self-motivated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great side-job
Contract Editor (Former Employee) –  Home BasedDecember 29, 2016
Flexible time schedule. Edit manuscripts and provide feedback by a particular due date. A manager provides feedback on manuscript edits. Can review multiple manuscripts at a given time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the pay is very low
Contract Editor (Current Employee) –  remoteNovember 10, 2014
They are very clear in their expectations but the work ends up being less than minimum wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work schedule
Editor (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCSeptember 10, 2014
You get to decide when and how much you want to work, which is a great perk for someone juggling multiple responsibilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exploitation of desperate grad students
Contract Editor (Former Employee) –  OnlineAugust 1, 2014
When you set your status as available, they will send you papers to edit and then you upload it once you are finished. Sounds easy, but most papers are written in such garbled English that it takes all day to complete the work (there are strict time limits), making it impossible to earn much more than minimum wage doing this work.

Once you've uploaded it, it goes to a managing editor who reviews your work and gives you a score that seems to depend more on their mood that day than on how well you did. You can take a peek at the additional edits made by the managing editors, but I frequently found that their edits were the unnecessary and inconsequential kind, such as rewording your sentences without changing the meaning at all and then penalizing you for bad writing. I put the same amount of effort into all my edits, but my scores ranged from "better than acceptable" to "very poor." They promise payment bonuses if your scores are high enough, but the managing editors makes sure your scores never get that high.

Some especially bad papers appear to have been translated by some sort of translation software, such as Google Translate, instead of a human being, making it nearly impossible to decipher any meaning out of them. But once you accept an assignment - and you are not allowed to look at the paper until you agree that you'll work on it - you can't give up on it without being penalized, so I did my best to squeeze at least some sense out of these unintelligible papers and submitted my edits as best as I can, even though poorly written papers take an extra long time to complete.
  more...

On one such paper, unsurprisingly, my score was "very poor." But then they sent an email apologizing for sending me that paper, because they admitted that there was no way to do a proper job editing such unintelligible English. However, my score did not change! They admitted it was their fault that they sent me a bad paper, but they gave me a poor score anyway. That's how much they care.

Your score matters because it affects your chance for payment bonuses and your employment eligibility. Eventually I got two bad scores in a row and they "inactivated" my account and sent me a cloyingly polite email expressing regret over how I was not a good fit for that job. It did not even matter to them that my overall scores were actually pretty decent and I did, in fact, get high scores as well.

You may want to work here in order to have something else to stick into your resume's work experience section, but don't expect respect from the management or money.
  less
Pros
Freedom to adjust your availibility & desired workload whenever you want
Cons
Abysmal sub-minimum wage pay, no respect from management
Was this review helpful?Yes 45No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay, uneven quality
contract editor (Former Employee) –  remoteOctober 1, 2013
I worked briefly as a free-lance editor before quitting because I'm not willing to do this highly tedious and technical work for less than $20/hr yet often found myself making half that. The pay per assignment is based on the number of words (short, medium, or long) and on an assessment of the difficulty. These assessments are often wildly inaccurate -- for example, anything submitted from China is invariably difficult to edit, but such manuscripts are often assessed as "average". Occasionally, you'll get something that looks as if it was translated by Google. Such papers cannot be edited at all, and to accept them from a paying client is, I think, unethical.

Some of the managing editors are quite good, but by no means all. As feedback one can download the final MS as modified and reviewed by the managing editor. Occasionally, gross errors were introduced into my edited manuscripts.

Pros: There is work to be had and you get to set your own schedule.

Cons: Uneven editorial staff at the management level. Poor assessment of assignment difficulty, resulting in very poor pay for this kind of skilled work. There is (by design) no way to review a paper before accepting it as an assignment.
Pros
There is work to be had and you get to set your own schedule.
Cons
Uneven editorial staff at the management level, Poor assessment of assignment difficulty resulting in very poor pay for this kind of skilled work, There is (by design) no way to review a paper before accepting it as an assignment
Was this review helpful?Yes 37NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for Grad Students
Scientific Contract Editor (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCApril 8, 2013
A great part time job that you can do from anywhere!
I did this during my free time while in graduate school. You can accept any number and length of papers you like per week. You submit your reviews, which will go to a managing editor and are graded.
Pros
make you own hours
Cons
low compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
contractual but feel part of the mission
Editor (contract) (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCFebruary 7, 2013
Even though I only work as a contractual employee for AJE, I feel like I am part of their overall mission. I receive a lot of good feedback on my work from the managing editors, which has helped me with my writing and editing in other areas. It is nice part-time money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 13Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible workplace with a meaningful purpose
Contract Editor (Current Employee) –  N/AJanuary 27, 2013
I started working with AJE this winter and have enjoyed my work so far. As a contract editor, I am able to work from anywhere in the world and edit manuscripts for publishing in English.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report

See more American Journal Experts reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Journal Experts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 21 reviews
55
46
35
22
13

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
2.7Compensation/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.2Culture