American Marketing Association Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great learning organization
Director of Regional Conference (Former Employee) –  Eau Claire, WIJune 4, 2018
The American Marketing Association is a student run college organization that works to to prepare marketing students with the tools for them to be successful in the business world after leaving college.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent way to gain real-world experience
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIMay 16, 2018
The work schedule throughout my time there was sporadic as we had meetings every two weeks, but worked volunteer events throughout the academic year. Not only were we in charge of working events for the college, but we took to creating, managing, promoting, and working our own events. The event development was the most difficult portion of our chapter, but also the most valuable as it provided skills in event management, promotional activities, and team management.
Pros
Real-world experience, diversity of team mates, fantastic advisor
Cons
Inconsistent schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a day in the life at the siue american marketing association
Director of Programs/ VP of programs (Current Employee) –  Edwardsville, ILApril 30, 2018
I would usually contact potential sites for us to visit. It was student run so everyone had a lot of autonomy. There was a lot of opportunity for networking
Pros
autonomy
Cons
no budget
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful Organization
Member (Current Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIMarch 5, 2018
AMA is a helpful organization for young marketers. The AMA helps connect young professionals to established professionals in the marketing industry. Through the AMA one can truly get ahead in the business world.
Pros
Networking, social events, and job opportunity
Cons
Expensive dues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is an organization
Member (Former Employee) –  Morgantown, WVFebruary 26, 2018
I do not work at this place. This is an organization that I am currently in. I like it a lot and it provides a lot of great connections. I really enjoy being a part of this organization,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marketing
Member (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAJanuary 9, 2018
it was very flexible and something that can be done on a part-time basis. There is a great amount of autonomy and to be able to make your own hours. the pay can fluctuate and might not be a steady stream of income,
Pros
autonomy, flexible
Cons
not steady
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Member (Current Employee) –  Killeen, TXDecember 19, 2017
This was one of the first major learning experience I have had. It was great to have this during school. This allowed me to grow my skills. The American Marketing Association allows each chapter to do things differently.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All over the place but it worked!
Director of Public Relations (Former Employee) –  Danbury, CTNovember 28, 2017
It was in fact all over the place, but it worked! I happen to have learned a tremendous amount working with people who wanted to cut your throat on an occasional basis.

I cannot complain, as I learned a tremendous amount, however I wish the management was more eager to make you grow and further assist in growing their company.
Pros
Fast pace learning
Cons
Bad administration
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School Club
Director of Sales (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, INNovember 22, 2017
I was involved in this through my school as the Director of Sales. It gave me great leadership experience while providing me with an extra workload to my school work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ama
Director of Recruitment (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 12, 2017
AMA is an organization that a allows marketing professionals to interact and network with each other while also attending conferences and events. I would recommend AMA to any business professional.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard play hard enviroment
Director of Programs (Current Employee) –  Northridge, CANovember 12, 2017
Very excited every day because I learn something new almost every time I attend meetings. Having young professionals by my side with similar goals and willingness to help one another makes the working environment like no other.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student organization
Due paying member (Current Employee) –  Athens, OHNovember 5, 2017
It is a chapter student organization that I am a part of on my college campus. The meetings are really laid back. We are able to compete in case competitions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Good
Marketing Consultant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 1, 2017
This place showed favoritism and racial bias. Management was terrible. Some managers certainly weren't fit to be managers. It was evident that even managers lied about their performance for bonuses. Managers were profane and disrespectful and took advantage of their authority. It was a cut throat sales environment which was good to get insight on the world of sales. It was direct marketing mostly which was door to door. Had the management been better this company would have received at least 3 stars overall from me.
Pros
Great sales experience
Cons
Management was horrible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive and social environment
Director of Professional Development (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 8, 2017
This organization allows you to play different roles within their roles as an association. It is a great opportunity for students. I enjoy going to the weekly meetings the most because they have different activities going on and it is a time to socialize.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a member
Member (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJune 26, 2017
It is not a job. It is an association I joined while in college. I do not get paid. I do not have any tasks to complete. I am just a member. I recommend students joining to gain connections.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization to get involved with during college educaiton
Vice President of Programming (Former Employee) –  Clarion, PAJune 19, 2017
Planning, coordination and execution of social outreach events
Organization of ‘Marketing Week’
Design of AMA shirts and management of their production
Pros
Starting your network while in college
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Executive Board Member - Great Experience
VP of Internal Events (Former Employee) –  OhioMay 2, 2017
I was able to connect to many companies and from relationships with many members and other exec officers. A great club to join at a university, and you learn a lot.
Pros
Free, Exposure to Businesses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School Club
Treasurer (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYApril 27, 2017
● Supervised the budget for our on campus chapter, was a member of the board, and helped plan our projects and events. I don't know why i have to do a review of this
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Member (Current Employee) –  ConnecticutMarch 29, 2017
I love this club at my school it is an amazing organization! We do a lot of projects and skill builders. Gaining real life experience while still in college is ideal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alwayslearing something new
EVP of Membership & Retention (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 14, 2017
Great organization to be apart of.
Your voice is heard
Continuous professional improvement with your peers
Flexible work schedule
lay back work culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Marketing Association. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.7
Based on 74 reviews
556
412
35
21
10

Ratings by category

4.5Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
4.1Job Security/Advancement
4.2Management
4.4Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.5

3.2Personal Development

3.8Career Opportunities

3.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight