American Medical Response Employee Reviews

Showing all 844 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amr
Crew Resource Manager (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAOctober 18, 2018
great company overall. scheduling and management not so great. i enjoyed the experience i received. i learned a lot and gained a lot from my position with amr.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gain experience and move along
Paramedic/Preceptor (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVOctober 18, 2018
this job was good for the sole purpose of gaining experience. there is very little room for advancement within the system. very high turnover with poor compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. great people to work with
Emergency Medical Technician (Former Employee) –  Hemet, CAOctober 15, 2018
whether you're in operations, field, or admin. theres great people to work with. plenty of opportunities for OT. flexible work schedules. Work closely with other fire/police/ems entities.
Pros
fun place to work
Cons
salary, but plenty of ways to get overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work day
EMERGENCY MEDICAL TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Taunton, MAOctober 15, 2018
What ever time you are scheduled to work you will most likely not get out on time. The company comes first at all costs. Your concern are not considered. People in EMS tolerate this work environment because we want to help others, and we do it well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amr
Vehicle Service Technician (Current Employee) –  San Joaquin County, CAOctober 9, 2018
Great managers, terrible employees. I am the only one who works. The supervisors, are not available when needed. Not allowed to use sick time for emergencies with my pregnant wife.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AMR pay
EMT-B (Current Employee) –  Bridgeport, CTOctober 4, 2018
Wages were not competitive with years of experience. Emt with 10 years job experience and 20 years in the emergency response field via local fire dept and ems volunteer maxed out at $18.48 on their new pay scale while working next top an EMT with 1/4 of the experience on the old pay scale making $24.00.
Pros
experience
Cons
pay/clickey/poor mid management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers promoted to their level of incompitence
EMT (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZOctober 1, 2018
The job, as an EMT, Medic, or Nurse is fun but the company is terrible. I have nothing good to say about the supervisors. They just don't have the education or social skills to function on a human level
Pros
some hospitals give perks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Emergency Medical Technician (Current Employee) –  Waterbury, CTSeptember 28, 2018
Amazing job if you love what you do. Can work long hours and may get out late. Mentally and Physically demanding at times. Overall good place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding but Tiring
EMT-B Full Time (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTSeptember 28, 2018
Worked 10 years there and put in a lot of hours both selected and ordered in. Management is the bully tactic but as long as you do your job your fine. Union is very weak and has been for a long time. Not the right leaders in there anymore. New hires are very green and young, not what you want for a busy service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to help people.
EMT-Paramedic (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLSeptember 27, 2018
By choosing a job working in EMS allowed me to help people and serve the public. AMR had a great number of interesting opportunities and experiences.
Pros
Helping people and opportunities
Cons
very little pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Emergency Medical Technician (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZSeptember 25, 2018
we would get overworked at times running calls nonstop for up to 16 hours without a break or a chance to eat, when we would ask for time to eat we were usually told to just run the call and they would try to give us a break after
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Capital region needs better management
Paramedic (Former Employee) –  Capital region (D.C. and Baltimore)September 24, 2018
In the capital region, the management/supervision is unapproachable, inconsistent, hypocritical (for example the management parks their personal vehicle in the ambulance bay but line staff are told not to, and to park in their designated area) and does not listen to line staff. The managemet here does not lead staff by The operational buildings are deplorable, filthy, a fire trap, and should be condemned. The HR rep at the Capital Region, is very rude, unapproachable, and nepitistic. In the Baltimore area, there are periods when there is not a scheduled supervisior for days, and the building is simply left wide open and unsecured and unattended with supplies (Lifepak 15’s and 12’s, vents, and other supplies) open for the taking. AMR all in all seems to have its operation together everywhere but here. A positive structural change in supervision/management would attract and retain more quality ALS and BLS providers and improve morale.
Pros
Benefits and wages
Cons
Supervision and management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Quality Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Rancho Cucamonga, CASeptember 21, 2018
very competitive,stress full environment
people can't take criticism
learned to watch over yourself
management can be annoying
culture is fun
hardest part getting to follow the rules
people made the day go by fast
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling job
Communications Specialist/Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Monroe, LASeptember 16, 2018
The job itself is very fulfilling; knowing you are a part of the team and the front line of assistance for people in need is great. Hours are long (12 hr shifts) and lots of overnight work. Management could use an overhaul and the company could adhere more strictly to the processes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs improvement
Emergency Medical Technician (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WASeptember 13, 2018
Inconsistent training standards. A lot of the trainers should not be training due to their inability to be a teacher and promote learning. This employer provides exposure to patient care and medical terminology. The pay in unfair and our union has threatened to strike multiple times for livable wages.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You get out of it what you put into it
Operations Administrator (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVSeptember 12, 2018
High potential for advancement for motivated individuals. Fair compensation and challenging work environment. Something new to experience every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
EMT-Basic (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 12, 2018
fun work place
great benefits
paid holidays
overtime
friendly staff
401 k
stipends
face paced
good incentives
flexible hours
good working equipment/trucks
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is what you make of it
EMT-B (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSSeptember 11, 2018
The company is good as a whole, with a few bad apples.
i thouroghly enjoyed working there
the hardest part of the job is some of the scene calls and the things that you see
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job with many opportunities
Emergency Medical Technician (Current Employee) –  Hartford, CTSeptember 11, 2018
i feel this is one of the best jobs I've head its like one big family all in all everyone looks out for each other and all share the same drive to help people in the community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical work day
Emergency Medical Technician Intermediate (Current Employee) –  Stone Mountain, GASeptember 11, 2018
working at AMR has given me the experience to open my mind to what working in EMS really entails, I have been working there for well over 10 years and never wanted to work anywhere else. I would even work on my days off.
Pros
abbilty for work in an area with a wide variety of calls
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Medical Response. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 844 reviews
5235
4267
3202
270
170

See reviews about

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

2.3InHerSight Score

2.2Personal Development

2.6Career Opportunities

2.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight