American Modern Insurance Group Employee Reviews in Cincinnati, OH

Found 23 reviews matching the search See all 119 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Modern is an excellent place to work
Senior Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHDecember 14, 2018
American Modern is an excellent place to work. The culture has a great life/work balance and it encourages a fun atmosphere. The facility is modern and exceptional.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work.
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJuly 3, 2018
Typical day was working on the computer. I learned a lot about underwriting. Management was great. They treated you with respect. Work place was fun. People enjoyed being there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nepotism
Personal Lines Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 3, 2018
O the east side of Cincinnati, AMIG seems "hidden" from everyone but east side prospects and, because there are no rules against it, family members are eligible for hire even within the same departments. Whether or not it is intentional, promotions and transfers are skewed to favor relatives and friends of those in management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
considering response
Senior Commercial Underwriter/supervisor (Current Employee) –  cincinnatiMarch 11, 2018
Maintains a high level of customer service.
◦ Analyzes coverage and limit requests and decides what terms to offer.
◦ Prices business in accordance with company guidelines.
◦ Assesses risk quality and compliance within company guidelines and initiates appropriate loss prevention actions.
◦ Orders and screens miscellaneous reports needed in the rating and underwriting processes, such as Motor Vehicle reports, loss history reports, credit checks, outside inspections, loss control, etc.
• Develops and maintains effective business relationships with internal and external customers / coworkers in order to attract and retain profitable business.
• Visits agents, brokers and producers in order to retain existing accounts, build and maintain business relationships and develop new opportunities in support of divisional objectives.
• Interprets, explains and markets products and services.
• Applies underwriting rules and guidelines, rating manual rules and insurance laws and regulations.
• May provide guidance and assistance to lower level associates.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great when it was The Midland Company
Instructional Designer (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMarch 9, 2018
very poor morale as non-millennial workers' positions were "eliminated"; a lot of learning took place there that helped me in future positions; supportive of continuous professional growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace review
Licensed Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJanuary 10, 2018
This is a great place to work it is very high paced and can be stressful at times. Work load can be extremely high at times due to the amount of turnover in the company however overall it is a great place to work with great benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This si no longer a good company to work for
Policy Writer (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHSeptember 24, 2017
a typical day involves dealing wth people on the worst days of their lives. I learn to handle people in the worst situtaions. Management is always switching. the harderst part of the job is dealing the the high volume of claims. the most enjoyable is the people you work with
Pros
good people that are tin the same boat as you
Cons
the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no review
Licensed Agent I (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHAugust 21, 2017
I do not wish to review this job as it may impact my current position in the company. this review should not be considered an endorsement or a discredit to the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
agent
Licensed Property & Casualty Agent (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHAugust 8, 2017
I started in customer service, got licensed, and now am looking for other opportunities. There are 6 weeks of training before you start which give you a good foundation for the position. I don't think the pay is nearly what it should be, hence why most people leave once becoming licensed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with a great atomsphere
Catastrophe Adjuster (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHAugust 3, 2017
Great company very relaxed, management very easy to work with. Employees are very helpful in assisting with work related matters. The company offers great benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people are not ver nice
Call Center Representative (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMay 24, 2017
Very hard place for new employees. You have one responsibility and if you want to take on more they do not let you. The job I had was very boring and I had time and energy to take on more.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job but won't hire temps
client services (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJanuary 13, 2016
I love this place but the departement I am currently in has a hiring freeze and won't hire any full time employees. I've been working for this company for 2 years as an external temp and have no idea what will become of my job each day.
Pros
Cafeteria, many activities
Cons
Hiring freeze
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced workplace with strong professional atmosphere.
ADJUSTER - PROPERTY (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHNovember 29, 2015
Fast paced workplace with strong professional atmosphere. Handling variety of property claims in a quick and professional manner. Strong commitment to a team culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
System Testing Analyst II (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHNovember 21, 2015
Good place to work with new projects that were challenging and exciting. Worked with some great coworkers. Some management was really good and some needed management training but all in all great place to work. A lot of variety in what I did each day.
Pros
Great hours and benefits
Cons
Placed people in management positions that werent deserving of the title
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good culture and solid position
Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJuly 23, 2015
Great flexible hours, management, culture, and people.

At the core of my position was an imperative focus on accuracy. Perfecting accuracy is the ripple effect that allows everything else to fall in to place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Java Developer (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHApril 16, 2015
Good place to learn
friendly management,
challenging job,
good perks,helping to co-workers,
The most enjoyble part of the job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good Company
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHDecember 3, 2014
- In my role, there is no such thing as a typical day.
- Co-workers are one of the main reasons people stay.
- I've learned a lot about insurance through my current/previous positions, along with classes.
Pros
Workout facility, nurse, cafeteria
Cons
Depending on the department, management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and work/ life balance
Customer Service Representative, Claims (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHApril 3, 2014
American Modern is an exceptional company to work for. The people that I work with add to the laid-back culture. This is a company that I can have a career with, but the position is just not there for me. I am looking to gain more experience in the administrative field and to become an integral member in the company I choose to start my career with.
Pros
Cafeteria, benefits, Pto
Cons
scheduled breaks/ lunches, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate enviroment with supportive programs
Field Staff Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMarch 7, 2014
Quality stepping stone into the progression of my insurance career
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Summer Internship
Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMarch 3, 2014
• Troubleshooting daily reports that identified problems with
consumer information in our stored database.
• Given weekly deadlines to accomplish reports and other
miscellaneous jobs.
Pros
Consistent schedule, good pay
Cons
Only a summer job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Modern Insurance Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 119 reviews
534
446
324
212
13

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

2.4Career Opportunities

2.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

American Modern Insurance Group Reviews by Location