American Modern Insurance Group Employee Reviews

Showing all 117 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing Organization...Not for the better
Multiple positions in multiple departments (Current Employee) –  Amelia, OHJuly 24, 2014
I have been at American Modern for over 7 years and it is quickly transitioning from a small-company feel to a corporate organization. There is not much collaboration between the departments. It is a very hard company to work for if you do not have a solid connection (i.e. relative) who is high up. A lot of promotion is from within, but again, it is not necessarily based on performance, rather based on your connection(s). Since Munich RE bought out the company, (6-7 years ago) they are starting to make huge changes and layoffs. There is a stress to higher internationally and minorities (women and various races). Management is scattered and does not communicate well. A great company to gain experience, but not a good company to invest a career in.
Pros
Great cafeteria, co-workers
Cons
Exclusive, poor wages, career advancement, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Claims Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Amelia, OHJune 19, 2014
Fun place to work, and room for advancement. I enjoy talking to and helping customers everyday. I have learned so many more parts of the business aspect and have bettered myself as customer service representative.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet days
Data entry (Former Employee) –  Amelia OhioJune 18, 2014
You really just work at a desk all day sitting around typing no interaction with people. management was alright kind of rude at time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employee oriented atmosphere
BPO ANALYST (Current Employee) –  Amelia, OHMay 26, 2014
Great benefits, a leadership that listens, and trying to make a difference in the area,
Pros
Health and ancillary benefits
Cons
Some outdated culture issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Professional Employee (Current Employee) –  Amelia, OHApril 27, 2014
The company has had a lot of change in recent years, but is a good place to work.
Pros
People and fitness center
Cons
Career advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Amelia, OHApril 10, 2014
good company to work for enjoyed talking with our customers and enjoyed working with my peers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and work/ life balance
Customer Service Representative, Claims (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHApril 3, 2014
American Modern is an exceptional company to work for. The people that I work with add to the laid-back culture. This is a company that I can have a career with, but the position is just not there for me. I am looking to gain more experience in the administrative field and to become an integral member in the company I choose to start my career with.
Pros
Cafeteria, benefits, Pto
Cons
scheduled breaks/ lunches, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate enviroment with supportive programs
Field Staff Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMarch 7, 2014
Quality stepping stone into the progression of my insurance career
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Summer Internship
Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMarch 3, 2014
• Troubleshooting daily reports that identified problems with
consumer information in our stored database.
• Given weekly deadlines to accomplish reports and other
miscellaneous jobs.
Pros
Consistent schedule, good pay
Cons
Only a summer job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Licensed Sales and Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Amelia, OHFebruary 23, 2014
•a typical day at work
•what you learned
•management
•your co-workers
•the hardest part of the job
•the most enjoyable part of the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Licensed Sales and Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Amelia, OHFebruary 22, 2014
•a typical day at work
•what you learned
•management
•your co-workers
•the hardest part of the job
•the most enjoyable part of the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Licensed Sales and Support (Current Employee) –  Amelia, OHOctober 16, 2013
great place to work, customer care in a professional setting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very family oriented company to work for.
Agency Contract Coordinator II (Former Employee) –  Amelia, OHOctober 5, 2013
Everyone knew everyone and we all felt like family after awhile. In the last department I was in there were at least10 or so out of about 25 that had been with the company longer than 10 years and I think that says a lot these days. I went from being a secretary to having opportunities to learn so much more and advance within the company by being given the chance to spread my wings and take additional classes to become better at my job when needed. I live on the opposite side of town and drove 64 miles a day because I enjoyed being a part of the many teams I was fortunate enough to join.
Pros
Free Fitness Center, plush cafeteria with a variety of food for everyone to enjoy no matter what your taste, state of the art Training/Conference Center, classes offered to further your education or to get certifications
Cons
After spending over 18 years at this company I really don't have any cons to share, this was my life and I loved the company and the people I worked with no matter what job I had
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small company culture
Product Analyst (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMay 31, 2013
Small company culture, but part of a large Reinsurance company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and strategic envioronment.
Assistant Vice President (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OhioSeptember 6, 2012
Strategic mission and values. Alignment of management through all levels of associates.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
CSR/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Amelia, OHAugust 5, 2012
Good manager. No room for advancement unless you wanted to sell insurance
Pros
no room for advancemet
Cons
good people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Modern Insurance Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 117 reviews
533
446
324
211
13

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

2.4Career Opportunities

2.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

American Modern Insurance Group Reviews by Location