american security programs Employee Reviews

Found 82 reviews matching the search See all 83 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth Oportunity
Assistant Project manager (Current Employee) –  Frederick, MDApril 21, 2019
I was hired as a PSO and was able to be promoted to assistant project manager within a year. The company values strong, intelligent individuals who share a mutual drive in leadership. A wonderful company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but limintations
Bookkeeper/Secretary (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 8, 2019
The company depending on the site is a very peaceful place to work but the company does lack forward thinking and progress. I really like my time and experience with the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Use this Company to get FPS Experience ONLY
Protective Service Officer DC/MD (Current Employee) –  Reston, VAJanuary 28, 2019
Management does a poor job treating employees fairly. HR speaks to you as if they are on your side, but work against the employees behind closed doors. As with any work place there is favoritism, but supervisors wont bother you if you do your job. Extra hours go to the favorites first, and management attempts to keep employees from moving up in the company. Free training offered by the company but the instructors are all racist so be prepared for more insults than actually learning anything. Best part of this job is that employees get paid more then the racist instructors.
Pros
Pay
Cons
People with actual goals wont stay here long
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great overall
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYSeptember 20, 2018
Jobs are always what you make them. I spent 20 years in another field and it stretched and developed me. This field and job is great if you enjoy the principles of L.E. and security. High threat and low stress is how I describe working the federal contracts for DHS FPS.
Pros
paid lunch
Cons
floater
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please read
Protective Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Reston, VAAugust 22, 2018
This has to be the best training i have received by far! The trainers focus on the essentials of the information needed to progress in your future. They are all very professional in their training and never keep a boring classroom. Thank you ASP! Thank you for everything!

Update: Now that i have spent time with ASP, the downside to this company is that if you need help from anyone at the office most likely no one will answer the phone and even if you leave a message, they still won't return the call.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nature of job
SPECIAL POLICE OFFICER, CERTIFIED SWORN (Current Employee) –  Castle Hayne, NCJuly 30, 2018
Very long days, 10 - 12 hours; Decent rotation with other officers; Mixture of sworn and unsworn officers; Security clearance needed for certain facilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice place to work
Armed Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Dulles, VAJuly 25, 2018
a typical day was very busy and fast paced at times
I learned computer operations
the workplace was professional
the hardest part of the job was working outside and encountering party goers under the influence of alcohol.
would gladly work for them again
Pros
food discounts at resturants
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Too Bad
Lead Secuirty Officer (Former Employee) –  Dulles, VAJuly 23, 2018
The contract are decent. It’s the individuals you work with that make your job difficult. A few payroll issues here and there. There isn’t much room for advancement. The training is free and top notch for all employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Armed Protective Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Reston, VAJuly 4, 2018
This is a good security job, but travel times and hours are not great. Pay is great, management is poor, moral at the site is good, overtime is always available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Armed Security Guard Officer (Former Employee) –  Goose Creek, SCJune 20, 2018
The best place to work. No problems and no issues that are worth speaking of, and the best people to work with anywhere that you could imagine, and the best time off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
recommend years ago now no
Protective Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Reston, VAFebruary 27, 2018
unprofessional an i believe they are racist against certain people in the company. seriously its very frustrating an they have staff who is not professional in how they handle the business. they can do way better.
Pros
uniforms
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best companies
Site Lead Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Huntsville, ALFebruary 26, 2018
American Security Programs is a great company to work for. They take great care of the employees. The pay is very competitive. The management is very well trained and educated.
Pros
Working environment
Cons
Raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
serving with my veteran brothers
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Reston, VAJanuary 12, 2018
it was probably the best job i ever had, working as a firearms intructor, teaching fundamentals and and great work ethic to people standing post on state and federal sites
Pros
working with marine vets, and one navy
Cons
no full time availability
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's Ok
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MDJanuary 10, 2018
This, like all contract security jobs in this area, is just ok. It's a good way to earn a living without having a BA or AA. You'll have opportunities to advance if you are disciplined. It's just the same carousel of people that make this types of jobs unbearable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYNovember 8, 2017
If you like getting short pay and having to fight for it this is a good place for you to work.Upper management are not qualified for the job and every employee knows this.They tell you your not working enough hours,but dont offer you any. They hire unqualified employees and work them against you. Unless your desperate for money run away as fast as you can.
Pros
good pay
Cons
no lunch breaks, constantly watched for mistakes
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great Company to work for also and would refer anyone
Armed Security Officer (Former Employee) –  251-18th Steet South Arlington, VA 22202November 2, 2017
I enjoyed working for this Company but it’s basically the same review as Secruremedy Inc. The benefits were great and the hours were great and plenty of overtime was available. It’s just the parking situation was a problem, $21.00 a Day was kind of expensive.
Pros
No Free parking
Cons
Paid lunch breaks and always approved for time off when needed it
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Chantilly, VASeptember 20, 2017
Great people. I was given a great opportunity and took advantage. I wish I could have stayed longer but some things aren't meant to last. I want to thank all the great people I met. I wish you the best
Pros
Good people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed
Unarmed Security Officer / Concierge (Former Employee) –  Sterling, VASeptember 7, 2017
Typical day- Relaxed while sucuring the surroundings. Wasn't too much happening in the area of my work place. The management was ok. I didn't have to many encounters with her. The workplace was small - small apartment gate entry booth. The hardest part of the job was staying awoke - when working the night shift. A five hour energy drink would get the job done. The most enjoyable part was the supervisor on duty and my coworkers. Cool people.
Cons
Not allowed electronics
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed work place
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Reston, VAAugust 31, 2017
I like how the
- Learning experience
- relaxed
- interactive with guest
- hands on work
- got a lot of hours
- very nice staff
- easy job to handle and easy to learn
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Protective Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Chantilly, VAAugust 29, 2017
This was a good experience to work at this place. but just like the rest of most security firms, it is limited on advancing, because there is not much to advanced into!
Pros
They provide good training
Cons
limited advaced
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at american security programs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 83 reviews
525
424
315
210
19

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture