American Steel and Aluminum Employee Reviews

Showing all 8 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In an age of old school manufacturing; American Steel and Aluminum is a progressive organization.
Operations (Current Employee) –  ASAFebruary 18, 2019
Over the last 10 years the company has done quite a bit to modernize their business model to adjust to the ever changing manufacturing landscape in the US.

The company has been increasing in size, scope, and in hitting previously unattainable benchmarks.

Great benefits and culture. Highly recommend to someone looking to grow with a company as well.
Pros
Great culture, solid benefits, optimistic long term vision.
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sucks
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Auburn, MAJanuary 2, 2019
worst company to work for they do not train you they want u to learn everything on the first day and not give u any training management sucks do not apply to this company they just let u go real quick
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and team work
Corporate Staff Accountant Accomplishments (Former Employee) –  Norwood, MAJune 12, 2017
we drive in excellence in our work. In order to succeed, team work is a must. We pick up when someone is out. Help when needed.
accurately doing our work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Sales (Current Employee) –  Portland MEMarch 1, 2017
I enjoyed my time with the company. It's usually a lot of work on a day in and day out basis. I would recommend this position to anyone looking for a flexible employer with benefits and who enjoys having one on one relationships with customers.
Pros
Scheduling, Insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
liked driving and warehouse work
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  paFebruary 13, 2014
i have class a cdl pa state inspection and can drie fork lift sideloader and over head crane
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace,,, never bored always something different and new to do and learn
Saw Operator (Former Employee) –  Middletown, PASeptember 5, 2013
In the 31 years I work for them the company was sold 5 times. The last time they sold the company they did so for the money with no respect for the employees. The people who own us drove all our customers away and tried to do it their way and failed. After 2 years they went out of business, and our old owner bought us back at pennies on the dollar. They close a few branches we had 9 companies and started closing them. When they close us in June 2013 they had 2 companies left, they move their interest into mills making tubing. away from the steel service centers. they told us April 2 they were closing and let most go April 4th. They did give anything to any employee not even a hand shake or a goodbye
Pros
hours, pay and medical coverage
Cons
poor management, equipment always broken, not the right material to do the job properly
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Territorial Manager (Former Employee) –  Middletown, PAJuly 26, 2013
Developed and maintained a $7-10 million sales territory.
Helped to resurrect a bankrupt company, getting back its old customers .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Steel and Aluminum. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 8 reviews
52
43
30
21
12

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture

American Steel and Aluminum Reviews by Location