AMERICAN SYSTEMS Employee Reviews

Found 145 reviews matching the search See all 154 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and Educational Place to work.
BICSI Tech 3 (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAOctober 5, 2018
OK place to work. Could be more secure in job security and career goals. Management could be a little more efficient. However, I enjoyed working with the American Systems Team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Make the best of your opportunities
Cable Technician IV (Current Employee) –  Chantilly, VASeptember 24, 2018
American Systems is a great place to work if you know where and what you want to be! You have to have a vision and go with it. Stay determined and focused. This is a company where a tech can easily fall through the cracks and be looked at as just part of the crew. So, you have to advocate for yourself, be proactive and stay on top of the little things that make you a great employee.
Pros
Good work life balance
Cons
Expensive Benefits, leave policy, commutes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of Job security
Junior Marine Engineer (ISEA Rep) (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CA 92108September 21, 2018
Productive and fun place to work. However, there is no job security due to lack of Government to follow with contracts arrangements. Apart from that, I enjoyed every single day I spent working for American Systems.
Pros
Fun environment and fun people to work.
Cons
No job security.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Project/Risk Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 19, 2018
This company has a lot of retiring employees, but they are trying to develop their management staff. Willing to pay for any type of training you may want.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Sr. Test Engineer (Current Employee) –  Hill AFB, UTSeptember 17, 2018
The company hires professionals to staff government support contracts. I had a great deal of respect for the company and management. The job is extremely dependent upon the government agency that awards the contract.
Pros
Good people within the company, strong professional culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Systems
Senior Technical Trainer (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 13, 2018
Our team was removed from the corporate culture, as the corporation base is in Virginia. Despite this, our VPs maintained good contact and a pulse on what we were doing. I felt the company was professional and cared about the employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Business Case Cost Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAAugust 24, 2018
Small company great work environment. Benefits competitive, i would recommend this position to a friend. I have enjoyed my time at American Systems Corporation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee-owned company, great culture
Senior Engineer (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 17, 2018
I have been an employee-owner at American Systems for five years now. The work is interesting and engaging, and the culture values each employee and emphasizes work/life balance. Employee ownership fosters an atmosphere of accountability and dedication to quality.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are a Good company
Senior System Administrator (Current Employee) –  Fort Meade, MDAugust 13, 2018
I am a service member and they were very cooperative to when I had duty. Also very flexible when It came to personal matters. They will work with you if you just talk to them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is becoming a better job place now.
Senior Operations Researcher (Former Employee) –  MacDill AFB, FLAugust 5, 2018
I did not have a good experience with immediate supervisor; however, I don't hold anything personal against his persona. I believed all issues were clarified toward the end of my contract with the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pulling cable
Cable Technician (Former Employee) –  Chantilly, VAJune 25, 2018
they refused my unemployment benefits by having me go back to work for 2 weeks and then another lay off for 2 weeks then had me come back for about a week and then another lay off.
Pros
none
Cons
worked and then lay off but no unemployment benfits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Systems is an eithical and productive company
Expense & AP Specialist (Current Employee) –  Chantilly, VAJune 16, 2018
American Systems is an ESOP (Employee Owned Company), the company is solid and I enjoy the work I do for American Systems. The management at American System is a positive team and they are willing to teach you and allow you to make mistakes to learn from them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee Stock Owned Company
Test and Evaluation Analyst/Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Fort Huachuca, AZJune 4, 2018
Vested in 4 years vice 5 year typical requirement. Competitive benefits package. Decent Leadership offering constructive encouragement for improvement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunity for future career path.
SAN System Engineer Level II (Former Employee) –  Chantilly, VAMay 22, 2018
This company gave me my first opportunity to work as a System Engineer with minimum experience. It allowed me to learn alot about storage networks which helped me with my career.
Pros
Employee owned/Sign on bonus
Cons
Not so great salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace- Diverse
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAMay 19, 2018
NAVY 311 plays an important role in providing real time 24/7/365 response to a variety of issues that the Navy personnel face, from supply and logistics to quality of life matters
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Senior Telecom Analyst (Former Employee) –  Fort Bragg, NCMay 10, 2018
I worked on a contract with American Systems. They really take care of their people. My manager was an awesome individual. I worked as a remote Business Analyst. My schedule was flexible and not too overbearing.
Pros
Great Benefits, Great People
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid, Employee Owned Defense Contractor
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Lorton, VAMay 7, 2018
Enjoy working here. Employee ownership is a positive influence on the culture and values. I have been able to advance towards my long-term career goals by working at ASC. I recommend it.
Pros
Good ethics, good value, employee owned.
Cons
Defense contracting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great balance with work life.
Project Management (Current Employee) –  United StatesApril 27, 2018
Not tied to an office can remote work easily
Provides great opportunity to travel internationally
Learned a ton working here


There are too many micro managers in the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Systems Group
Financial Analyst & Supervisor (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAApril 19, 2018
Working there was not a great experience, Very quiet and negative environment. Very awkward to be there. Everyone seems to be in a horrible mood every day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Consulting Systems Engineer and Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLApril 18, 2018
Company is employee owned and therefore seems to genuinely care about its employees and the companies overall success. Good management. While a large national company, top management appears attentive and ready to help at all levels.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at AMERICAN SYSTEMS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 154 reviews
557
457
322
28
110

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture