American Taxi Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
TRANSPORTATION SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Mt. Prospect, ILJune 1, 2018
I provided transportation to various customers
I learned how to brand myself and continued to build my ability to converse with a wide range of people on various topics
I was an independent contractor so I had no manager
The workplace was fast paced and required strong concentration
The hours were sometimes very long, especially on days where there weren't many ride requests
Having pleasant conversations
Pros
Moving the city around
Cons
Slow days with few to no rides
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but Interesting
Owner/Operator (Former Employee) –  Mount Prospect, ILApril 29, 2018
While it might seem like a simple job, creating a formula for being an efficient and profitable taxi driver would take spreadsheets worth of statistical analytics to solve. There's no one right answer for how to make more money, and they expect professionalism every time. It's always a battle between how the company encourages you to work and what you need to do for yourself to make ends meet.
Pros
Time off any time
Cons
Take too much time off and you can't pay the rent
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente divertido
Taxista (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PRNovember 10, 2017
Muy bien ambiente laboral aparte de los compañeros que siempre trabajan en equipos.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They don't have a view.
Cab Driver (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 3, 2017
The American Taxi Company does not have any view for the future.
They do not have a long-term or short-term plan. Every day the company put new rules and after two or three weeks the company declines these rules.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Picking up fairs and dropping them.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Mount Prospect, ILAugust 5, 2017
Safely transporting passengers from one location to another location, assisting them as needed, being courteous and well mannered are part of the job,
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not recommend
Chauffer (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJune 10, 2017
The business is plummeting. Therefore I suggest others to pick another driving service job,and because of it the employers are low on patience .The job security is not efficient.
Pros
You're your own boss
Cons
Doesn't make enough money
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driving was enjoyable
Taxi cab driver (Current Employee) –  Murfreesboro, TNFebruary 28, 2017
Driving at American Taxi was enjoyable because I got to work with the public. I also enjoyed meeting new people and conversing with the passengers from different areas of the world.
Pros
Meeting new people
Cons
Financial instablilty
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad people to work for
Taxi Driver (Former Employee) –  Naperville, ILFebruary 1, 2017
American taxi is a company for older people that can tolerate dispatch that treat people like animals and when they see your car is dirty from snow or rain they will shut your app
Pros
Own hours
Cons
Bad dispatch
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 15, 2016
yes, I had good 9 years if not 10 years, it is nice and fun to drive people around. learn more culture. with out transportation business will done. so driver up there are doing good job to run our day to day business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Taxi
Taxi Driver (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 17, 2015
The typical daily work was almost the same and I always used to do the same thing which was picking up customers and taking them their destination also help the customers with their luggage. The most difficult part of the job was about the safety since we were dealing with new customers all the time. I always enjoyed helping customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not recommended company to wark for don't even try it
Franchisee/Owner: Suburban Taxi Services (Former Employee) –  Schaumburg, ILNovember 24, 2014
disliked working at the company
management unfair they have favorite drivers.
Very restricted rules not applied to favorite drivers
not recommended company to work for them don't even try it
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taxi Driver
Driver (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYAugust 14, 2014
• Safely drove customers to their desired destination
• Used knowledge of local streets and traffic patterns to avoid heavy traffic
• Ask for directions or determine directions on GPS.
• Make change and issue receipts.
• Determine fares based on distance, number of passengers, or times.
• Help passengers get in and out of car.
Pros
Being your own Boss
Cons
Lexington a college town
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting a fun job everyday
Driver (Former Employee) –  Suburbs of Chicago ILJuly 27, 2014
I owned my taxi at American taxi. A typical day would be started with a positive attitude because I was always looking forward to working and socializing with so many different cultures of people, I learned how not to violate any ethics issues and how nice it was to establish so many great relationships. Since I was my own boss I had to manage myself, I never took it for granted that I was my own boss, I had a set of certain hours to work each day and I worked those hours and sometimes longer. I set my standards and goals to be designed around success, I really did not have any co-workers because I was my own boss. There was no hard part of my job, I was very discipline and worked hard everyday and I enjoyed it, the most enjoyable part of my job was just doing it and enjoying every aspect of it.
Pros
Being my own boss
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my time working there.
TAXI DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Naperville, ILNovember 4, 2013
Recommend this company to anyone looking for an entry level job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Manager - Bill Price (Former Employee) –  Mount ProspectMay 19, 2013
Getting income daily, must have a reliable automotive, or lease one weekly. Gas price rising may play a part in income depending what type of car that you drive.
Pros
Cash Daily.
Cons
Dues to pay weekly
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Taxi. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 16 reviews
57
43
32
22
12

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture