American Water Employee Reviews

Found 237 reviews matching the search See all 240 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Think twice before applying, current manager is worse one in last 50 years
Field Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bethel Park, PAJanuary 8, 2019
I wiorked at Bethel for years, would not recommend to anyone, there has been a 50 percent turnover of supervisors in the last year. Upper management at Bethel changes every 5 years, and as field supervisor you are paid less than the union employees you are supervising.

Also have to work afternoons, weekends , and Holidays with no additional compensation or time off.at upper managements request.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very horrible place to work
Call Center Representative (Former Employee) –  Pensacola, FLDecember 30, 2018
I would not recommend American Water to anyone who is pregnant or has any type of medical issues. You will be fired during training even though you have excuses from your doctor. Management is absolutely horrible, they give you this big book and expect you to know everything, they HATE when you ask questions during training even though that’s the time you learn. Worse place ever.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee) –  Voorhees, NJDecember 3, 2018
Good company to work for. I worked in the shared services building. Lots of opportunites if you have the mindset to advance your career. Lots of activities for growth and team building.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steve was an awesome supervisor.
Waste Water Operator (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, WVNovember 10, 2018
I tried to advance with the waste water plant. I am not a businessman I am more of a laborer. Phones and computers are not my cup of tea. I don't do well with technology. I am a dozer operator and heavy equipment. Working out in the field.
Pros
Pay and benefits
Cons
Dealing with human waste
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
getting bigger but not better
Manager (Current Employee) –  New JerseyOctober 17, 2018
No clear leadership, no long term vision. Decisions do not make sense.
Training on new tools is terrible
Knowledge is not rewarded, "brown noising" is.
Pros
Some good benefits
Cons
Poor management, lack of leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  PennsylvaniaOctober 16, 2018
Helps to be in the "GOB" network. If management has something against you, grudge hangs around.
Worked with some phenomenal people who were dedicated beyond belief. However, hourly employees made more than salaried, sometimes by more than 30,000/year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professionally Managed Company
Water Filtration Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, CTSeptember 27, 2018
My work experience with American Water was professionally managed. I could expect competent decisions from management and a workload correlated to my experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor labor relations
Water Distribution Utility Worker (Current Employee) –  Davenport, IASeptember 18, 2018
Went through 5 Human Resource representatives.
Safety manager non existent.
Manager turnaround! They let good one go and keep bad ones forever.
Many are waiting to retire and seem to be coasting.
Cons
Not equal Employment, Not safe. No training for new hires.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Operator I (Former Employee) –  Branson, MOSeptember 14, 2018
They put someone in charge that hired only his friends,
heavy work load due to other workers inexperience
Branson management is a joke, lying is the norm.
Pros
Good pay and great benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Pensacola, FLSeptember 13, 2018
Excellent fast pace job to work, great pay and great people. I really enjoyed working there. Great place for advancement and meeting new co workers. Great life work balance
Pros
Free food, bonus and clothing
Cons
Mandatory overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic culture
Supply Chain (Former Employee) –  Voorhees, NJSeptember 13, 2018
American Water is split between field operations and a shared services organization. There is a significant lack of accountability for the field which leads to all of the problems being dumped on the shared service organization. Working in the service organization is like being a parent constantly cleaning up behind a poorly behaved child
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work envirnoment
Billing Specialist/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Somerset, NJSeptember 12, 2018
I enjoyed working for american water. I wished they had people who are team players instead of this is not my job. Great work environment , friendly atmosphere, over worked and under paid. The position required 3 person operation instead of one person. You have to wear many hats and management do not acknowledge you for your hard work and dedication to the company.
Pros
Great benefit
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to retire from
Field Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  McMurray Pa.September 8, 2018
I worked at Pa. American Water for thirty years. The majority of my experience was great. The most enjoyable aspect of my job was new main installations. I was incharge of new main installations for three counties in western Pennsylvania. I worked with developers, municipalities and individuals concerning new main installations to provide water service.
The end of my career saw several reorginizations and changes. At the end management employees were not treated very well.
Pros
Excellent benefits including health care and a great pension
Cons
Management employees at the end were treated poorly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Utility Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Belle Mead, NJSeptember 6, 2018
Management is hit or miss. Must be willing to work overtime. Work is hard, in extreme temperatures. Job security with the union. Unions differ between locations.
Pros
Union
Cons
Extreme temperatures
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steer Clear!
Data Entry/SAP (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOSeptember 3, 2018
not a good place, low pay even for a temp assignment. IT'S NOT WORTH THE TIME OR EFFORT. steer clear of this company!

not a good place, low pay even for a temp assignment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great copmany
CONSTRUCTION INSPECTOR (Former Employee) –  Fort Polk, LAAugust 20, 2018
American Water is a great company to work for. I had the opportunity to build two new waster water plants and get the education to understand waste water treatment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Work Environment
Business Process Consultant (Current Employee) –  Cherry Hill, NJAugust 16, 2018
Very little direction. Management expects outside personnel to provide answers to problems. Significant problems in ERP systems make technology advancement impossible. Constant turnover in workforce is unnerving.
Pros
free lunches and ping pong tables
Cons
poor career choice
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Co-workers
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE/BILLING SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Alton, ILAugust 14, 2018
American Water is a nice place to work. Many good co-workers who care about the customers and are willing to go the extra mile. A lot of overtime, which can be stressful. Salary is decent and the benefits are great
Pros
Great health benefits
Cons
They can require overtime without much notice
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant Restructuring
Compensation Manager (Former Employee) –  Voorhees, NJJuly 31, 2018
American Water is striving to be one of the top companies in it's field, which I believe the current CEO will achieve, however, at what cost? There are constant restructures of departments which many times results in job eliminations.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Little Work-Life Balance, job insecurity
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a check
Facility Operator (Current Employee) –  Lenexa, KSJuly 26, 2018
Have to relocate to advance. The pay does not keep up with the cost of living. However, my previous manager who left was an awesome guy. Did everything he could to make sure things was on point.
Pros
A pay check
Cons
too many
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Water. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 240 reviews
571
462
347
226
134

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture

Women's ratings

3.8Fairygodboss Score

67%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

80%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss