Americas Thrift Stores Employee Reviews

3.4
Overall rating
Based on 152 reviews
Ratings breakdown
544
433
340
214
121
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 144 reviews matching the search See all 152 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
communication with employees
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, FLJuly 21, 2018
The environment is a safe hazard.the manager doesn't pay attention to his job, he ask other people to to his job.the items are dirty and broken.what i enjoy is the customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Sales Associate
Retail Stocker (Former Employee) –  Alabaster, ALJuly 16, 2018
I greeted the customers and I did my work by putting returns in the right place and I loved working with books and shoes. I learned how to be friendly with customers and the hardest part about the job is standing on your feet for 7 hours and I enjoyed when a customer compliment me and the employees were friendly to me and I had a lot of friends on this because I've been there so long time and I don't think I was treated fairly.
Pros
You get a 30 minute lunch and free 15 minutes break.
Cons
You get 401 k and dental insurance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with some nice people
Worker (Former Employee) –  Ocean Springs, MSJuly 3, 2018
The people I worked with were nice. The manager I had was not nice. He was very rude. The work you do is not worth the pay. You have no benefits. Not worth the headache.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALJune 19, 2018
Closed on sundays to attend church get lots og good donations for battered womens great work hours different places un tne store to work at all employ
Pros
Off on holidays
Cons
Long breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice steady workplace
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Theodore, ALMay 29, 2018
Fun place to work if you have a positive attitude. Got a long with coworkers well. Working there isn’t complicated it’s pretty easy once you get the hang .
Pros
Discount shopping
Cons
Gets really busy really fast
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
delivery driver
Dock Worker (Former Employee) –  Alabaster, ALMay 14, 2018
great place to work i never loved working somewhere more than the thrift store being a delivery driver if i could go back i would go back to thank them
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Name - Mentoring of America
Personal Mentor/Real Estate Investing (Former Employee) –  Pleasant Grove, UTMay 7, 2018
This was a call center that had floors to sell and then fulfillment of said sales. They would also hold seminars across the country for those who purchased their products,.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Americas Thrift Stores
May 14, 2018

This review has nothing to do with America's Thrift Stores!

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proud employee
Processor (Former Employee) –  Tillmans Corner, ALApril 17, 2018
I would love to come back with my team members I mis coming to work and everybody greeted me like I was family it was alway a wonderful feel to come as if I was at home
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place To Shop Great Discount Crazy Sales Love it!
Production Worker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Alabaster, ALApril 16, 2018
My typical day is to hang clothing merchandise on correct hangers , organize merchandise to be taken to sales floor. I have a goal of approximately 1000 pieces that must be met each day. All merchandise is to be counted and recorded on daily edit logs. Count inventory and sort in bins have it shipped to different store locations as needed. I learned that its fast paced, & team oriented. I like working in the back in production with others getting the job done right. Fun place to work & shop! I learned time managing skills, face paced. Management is always friendly and there to help.
Pros
Benefits, payed time off, good place to shop
Cons
better pay, environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
never got a interview whats wrong with this picture.
sales (Former Employee) –  Prattville, ALApril 6, 2018
This company never gave me a job interview. If they had I would
have gone to work for them.I wish someone would call me on this mater. robert farrell 4-6-2018
Pros
good company
Cons
dont get back to you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ocean Springs, MSMarch 29, 2018
fun workplace and I enjoyed working there. Good peers and very respectful place. Great customer service and the jib itself was just wonderful. I enjoyed working for the thrift store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
America's Thrift Store is a great place to work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ocean Springs, MSMarch 19, 2018
I enjoyed working for America's Thrift Store the attmosfire and also the managers were good people and I also like the fact that they give people that are having a difficult time in life a chance to have a job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace busy
Dock Worker (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GAJanuary 16, 2018
It was a nice environment always busy keeps you moving around the pay was ok could have been adjusted to a better pay rate with all the activities and things they want you to do
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive eorking with clothing and people
Retail Team Member (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALJanuary 15, 2018
Not a hard job what so ever just wish they paid more.I first came with one mananger but hr moved to the location in Birmingham . Sometimes the store got a little hectic and our work was interfered with other workers work and we weren't getting compensated as much as they were
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
TIG Welder, MIG Welder, Stick Art Welder (Former Employee) –  Riverdale, GAJanuary 15, 2018
The whole job experience is very good meeting new people understanding it better to give then receive make sure to put a smile on customers face and enjoy your job
Pros
Meet new people
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALJanuary 14, 2018
The Americas Thrift Store was very aggravating to work at. There management was poor as well as organization. It also was not as near as clean as it should be. Janitors did a poor job.
Pros
15 min break.
Cons
unorganized.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Does not care for the well being of their employees.
Manager in Training (Former Employee) –  Gardendale, ALJanuary 5, 2018
Terminated me, even with me working 50 hours a week. I went through a two week stretch where I suffered a major depressive episode along with anxiety attacks. It was all I could do to keep from killing myself. Upper management did not care. I moved some days around to go to the doctor to try to save my life (all while never having a schedule, yet I would work my scheduled off days to make up for my doctor appointment days) but was terminated instead of offered help. Pretty low down for someone who calls themselves a Christian organization
Pros
Good pay
Cons
They dont care about you as a person
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer in business.
Office Manager, part-time (Former Employee) –  Mundelein, ILJanuary 3, 2018
The company was a real estate investment company. With the market crash several years ago, the company went out of business. The real estate investment industry is not an easy market.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run away and stay away
Route Driver (Former Employee) –  Ocean Springs, MSNovember 23, 2017
By far the worst job I've ever had hands down they don't care about your personal life they will work you down to the ground for little pay and cut hours whenever corporate checks in on them. do not attempt to be a route driver especially if you have a CDL enjoy hard work for little pay and cut hours don't expect 40 hours and expect your helpers to be not very helpful at all and one more thing if you still attempt this route driver position expect to deal with inhaling mold on a regular basis and dealing with other drivers not doing their job and you having to go behind them to do it and dealing with roaches in the cab if the truck
Pros
Non
Cons
Everything especially the mold
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is stressful but I enjoy a challenge
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Mobile, ALNovember 17, 2017
My job consists of me choosing what route to run then mapping out any home pickups I may have that are in line with my route.I have learned a lot about my area doing this job.We have changed management a couple of times but have a good team in place now.The most important thing about my job is knowing that the donation I pickup helps out a lot of people.
Pros
Freedom to make decisions
Cons
Uncertainties about the security of the job having a long future.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport