Americold Employee Reviews

Found 794 reviews matching the search See all 822 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
clerical staff (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 15, 2018
Super company to work for great shift choices however a decrease in Business would allow for a layoff. Job security is low but the management is awesome.
Pros
Great shifts
Cons
Industrial work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very cold, but constant work.
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJuly 14, 2018
Americold is anywhere between -15 to -30 degrees inside the warehouse. They provide dockers, headgear, gloves, ect. It wasn't so fast paced, but being constant is a neccessity to keep your numbers up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Order Selector/LTO (Former Employee) –  Leesport, PAJuly 11, 2018
there is a high turnover rate, breaks are short and hours are long. the work is in a fridge or freezer so its always cold. undependable employees and no accountability.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Fremont, NEJuly 9, 2018
friendly co-workers; not very good communication from supervisors, they except you to do every job there but they don't really explain in depth on how to do it. they want you to figure it out on your own. says it builds character
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always something to do
LTO (Lift Truck Operator) (Former Employee) –  Leesport, PAJuly 9, 2018
Poor Management
Horrible work hours
No communication among management and supervisors
No balanced life/work.... Its mainly work
Management doesn't care about your family life. work comes first I enjoyed the people that worked there but management really sucked
Pros
Great co workers and pay was good
Cons
Management and equipment was always short to many hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive workplace
Fort Lift Operator (Former Employee) –  Sikeston, MOJuly 3, 2018
Pick and Pack using forklift lift or i would send crates from production to the freezer in specific location. Or i would load/unload trailer using pallet jack
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly stressful and dull place to work
LTO (Current Employee) –  Manchester, PAJuly 3, 2018
Typical day is pulling pallets from rack and case picking off them, also stocking a lot on heavy stocking days which are closer to end of week,
management was very questionable at times with decisions, but worked out good in end
Hardest part was keeping busy and making numbers
most enjoyable part was clocking out
Pros
401k, union and seniorty, always opprotunity for overtime
Cons
management, the cold, worked 12 hours most days without choice, poor incentive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Distance
Maintenance Tech (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALJuly 2, 2018
I would like to go back to work for Americold. I worked at the Montgomery location and the driving distance was just to much. I spent a lot of money on gas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best an it it cold
Warehouse equipment operator (Former Employee) –  Rochelle, ILJuly 2, 2018
a cold environment with lots of unwritten rules. Its a good job if you need a job but they don't really care about giving time off. Lots of overtime whether you want it of not.
Pros
Lots of work
Cons
The union is terrible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a nice place to work but they closed their offices here in Oregon
Accounts Payable Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Tigard, ORJuly 2, 2018
I liked my AP job and felt comfortable in the work environment. I was promoted to AP Supervisor and managed 8 employees. That was a challenging position but was also rewarding, at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful job; not paid enough
General Office Clerk (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 30, 2018
Dock clerks are overworked and underpaid. Not given nearly enough breaks; must know things they are not trained for plus they have little help to the multitude of tasks they are required to perform daily. Did I say overwork and underpaid?
Pros
Free jackets
Cons
Stressful job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with.
LIFT TRUCK OPERATOR (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 29, 2018
The environment is relaxed and friendly. Job is fast pace. supervisors are experienced in doing the job. Only real down fall about working here is no further job opportunities and you work in a freezer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good job for me at the time
Reach Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Murfreesboro, TNJune 28, 2018
It was a good job for me at the time. I had twins on the way so I needed a job making more money. Everyone I worked with was nice and helpful. It's a cold job, but I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no commit
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TXJune 27, 2018
shipping and receiving, inventory control, customer service, cold place to work dress warmly, slow season sent home early, may not get hours or full 40 hours per week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont do it
Management (Former Employee) –  Pasco, WAJune 27, 2018
This place was a horrible place to work for. They want to pay the minimum amount of pay for the maximum amount of work. Corporate has shady people working there that come in and make up procedures they know nothing about. There are some good people there but the shady ones make it miserable.
Supervisors and the management team are over worked and under paid. This is an ok job if you have no other options, but the accountability will add up quick and you will get flushed out.
Pros
Health Care benefits
Cons
Corporate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
definitely a challege
Selector/Picker (Current Employee) –  Hatfield, PAJune 25, 2018
meet some of the best coworkers all trying to get the work done on time. It's very cold at first but after a while you start to get use to it. besides the travel from where i live it's a good job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning new processes
Intern (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 19, 2018
Well established company and long-term staff. The staff is developing new processes for the future of the company. Updating software will help new processes.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay for a young worker. But could be a litte better. Plenty of overtime opportunities.
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJune 18, 2018
I enjoyed the work atmosphere. The pay was decent for a young entry level warehouse worker. The overtime compensated for the lower hourly rate. The hours of operation were pretty decent being first shift.
Pros
Laid back atmosphere.
Cons
Lower entry level pay compared to most competitors in same field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yes
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  1010 americold driveJune 18, 2018
Productive and fun workplace with Pool table in the locker room. Safe and clean environment, what I liked was they are really big on safety. The supervisor team was decent. Really good place to work for.
Pros
Great pay, good benifits
Cons
point system to low
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Supervisor/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Connell, WAJune 18, 2018
great place to work with great benefits would consider working here again but there is not a facility located in Yakima county at this time. hopefully soon.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Americold. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 822 reviews
5166
4212
3228
2106
1110

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture

Ratings from women

2.2InHerSight Score

2.2Personal Development

2.0Career Opportunities

2.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight