AmeriLife Employee Reviews

3.1
Overall rating
Based on 23 reviews
Ratings breakdown
54
45
37
23
14
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 22 reviews matching the search See all 23 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointed in Company
Marketing (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLMarch 11, 2018
Not many opportunities for advancement UNLESS you know someone. Very political office and not great treatment of employees overall. Would rather overpay executives than fairly pay all other employees. Management overall was not bad, but many undervalue employees and don't always give them the tools to succeed. Was with company for almost 2 years and got laid off due to budget cuts in department. Was not offered a transfer of departments, was just thrown out like trash. Leaves a bad feeling in the mouth.
Pros
Friendly coworkers overall
Cons
management, layoffs, and underpaying employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Product selection but terrible system requirements
Independent Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMarch 9, 2018
System requirements held you back from having a lucrative job. Expected working 6 days a week -- which would have been nice if the total management and requirements for compensation were not tilted in management / company favor.
Pros
good products
Cons
as stated above
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are a ripoff
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Port Richey, FLMarch 3, 2018
When they were suppose to pay me, they fired me! I wasted 8 months, barely made money, used my savings, ran up credit card debt, and most of all quality time with family!!!
Pros
Their aren’t any!
Cons
Too many other places you can work!
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult too get into
Door to door sales (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 27, 2018
I enjoyed the job and the people i worked with, however the training was brief and the products were often difficult to sell. If you want to try this job make sure you have enough money to sustain yourself for at least 3 to 4 months.
Pros
Good money if you can find it
Cons
Difficult to sell and constant travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great office administrator
I utilized consultative sales techniques (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 13, 2018
Inexperienced management. Great salespeople but mediocre management. The earning potential is grossly exaggerated, In reality due to a lack of sales opportunities the office is a revolving door.
Pros
Clean office-some agents are experienced. Great new agent training.
Cons
Agents are given leads-5-6 months old. Favorite agents and managers acquire the top tier leads.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Receptionist/Customer care rep (Current Employee) –  Clearwater, FLJanuary 22, 2018
Amerilife has given me many new experiences and skill sets. It is a great company to work for and i would recommend anyone looking for a new experience to work here.
Pros
Paid time off. Great people. Good atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Does not value people
DIRECTOR - OPERATIONS (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLJanuary 9, 2018
One of the worst organization that I ever came across. They do NOT value their employees. It's unfortunate, because they have some of the most hard working individuals working for them. low salary, hard to get a hourly employees fifty cents raises. Health benefit was extremely expensive when I was there.
Pros
low pay = job security
Cons
high turnover, expensive benefits, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work but no room for growth
Licensing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Clearwater, FLJanuary 4, 2018
High expectations yet pay doesn't match the responsibilities you take on. No room for advancement or growth. You have to wait an entire year for a lousy percentage increase in pay.
Pros
Benefits are good
Cons
The pay does not match your responsibilities and no room for growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Character Culture
Management Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Clearwater, FLDecember 22, 2017
Home Office personal are awesome, Career Agency should be shut down by the DOI. Unqualified agents replacing funds into annuities.
Extra fees and Non-compete will cost you your future.
Only time managers train is when you have uncovered a sale that they can take commissions from.
Don't listen to the posts that say only lazy people write bad reviews
it's just the managers trying to move negative posts to the back of the page
Pros
was once a great place to grow and earn a living
Cons
Management is awful and have no moral compass
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to Work
Independent Sales Agent (Current Employee) –  Venice, FlSeptember 15, 2017
You must be organized and a self starter. Very competitive and high incentives to keep you motivated. The sky is the limit to the amount of money one can make with this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't expect much
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLJuly 10, 2017
No room for advancement or guidance to further yourself - some management ethics questionable - almost like working in a high school environment with drama at every turn - expectations to work while others play
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self-driven atmosphere, commission sales.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Pompano Beach, FLMay 24, 2017
It's a wonderful company, and there's a large network to support your endeavors. They train you well, and the results show your effort in the position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amerilife
Licensing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Clearwater, FLMay 8, 2017
It's an ok place. Some times mistakes will come back and haunt you. They don't always treat the employees well. There's very few ways to move up in the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
INDEPENDENT INSURANCE AGENT (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLFebruary 13, 2017
My experience with this company was that it offered the potential for success for persons with salesmanship qualities, and the salesmanship classes were appreciated.
Pros
High income potential
Cons
1st year learning curve
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every is very nice and helpful. Great work environment
Administrative Service (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLJanuary 2, 2017
Loved working here and the people I worked with. Lots of room for quick advancement in the company. Supervisors and management were always extremely nice and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad environment
More than one (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLSeptember 16, 2016
Constantly scrutinized, rude and judgemental employees that gossip, constant fear of being let go- no matter how well you did. People had to ask to go to the bathroom, there was no where to go to break, or get away- but your car. Five people were fired in the short time I was there. Not a good place.
Pros
Can't think of anything off the top of my head.
Cons
Too many.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Excellent Company to work for.
Life Insurance Agent (Current Employee) –  Sebring, FLSeptember 12, 2016
Usually we always strart with morning meetings, network for a few and head out to our appoinments for the day! Everyone is awesome and always laughing almost like we're all family.
Pros
You make your own hours and are your own boss essentially
Cons
No benifits and no designated break room area.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 9Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no room for advancement
Claims processor (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLDecember 12, 2014
a waste of time really. no room for advancemt. pay sucks. boring
Pros
easy
Cons
lots
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 11Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working environment
Consulting, SQL Developer/DBA (Current Employee) –  Clearwater, FLOctober 3, 2014
friendly staff and management. Nice building and offices.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 17Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your helping our seniors, what is more rewarding than that?!
Sales and Marketing (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLMarch 25, 2014
It's this simple... like any sales position you have to perform to be rewarded which hence my 4 star here. If you expect everything be handed to you, or belive that your leads are bad, or that there is favoritism within the office, on and on and... bottom line? DRAMA! Amerilife provides the tools, training, licensing, support that you need to be a success, the rest?... is up to you! But with 10,000 people a day turning 65, tell me a more secure position to be in! Plus, the satisfaction you get helping our seniors in a market that sometimes seems like things are or will be taken away from our seniors.
~ They schedule leads for you
~ They provide you with an I-Pad
~ They have an unparalleled training program
~ They help gain your licensing
~ Like any management, some you like some you don't but you are basically in business for yourself
~ Most challenging part of job is staying, hungry, motivated, positive, etc. just like any posiiton but if you are a performer, that's easy!
~ Best part? Performers are paid well! Plus, there are trips, spiffs, awards, on and on opportunities.
Pros
Free training and licensing. Great leads as lots of opportunities
Cons
Tough to stay away from the "nay sayers" & keeping your mind right
Was this review helpful?Yes 60No 27Report