Amscot Employee Reviews

Showing all 359 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unbalanced schedules
Co- Leader (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 13, 2019
You can have a shift of 12 hours closing store at 11pm and open at 6am next day. No time to enjoy your family. No sick days. Management believe the branch belongs to them and they can impose whatever they want. They bend the rules for their convenience. Company only thinks about customers and what they can take away from employees to save money. There are financial associates at $15 an hour and managers at $15.50. Yo have to be perfect otherwise you'll receive a raise of 0.10 cents a year. Cannot leave the branch for your break due to security issues but you can go out daily to take out the trash.
Pros
Medical insurance, paid vacation, 401k
Cons
Scheduling, management, cannot leave the branch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs improvement
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  Clearwater, FLAugust 5, 2019
Im working on 5 years with this company and thats more then most appart from some store managers and corporate leaders. Its a stressful fast paced job thats not too difficult. However youll be dealing with customer financial issues, collections, fraud, scams ect. A corporate office and district leader that will micromanage you and your store into the ground. Pretty much nothing is done that isn't first approved by corporate office so manager positions are just titles for you to do the same thing you were already doing plus more work.Warning customer will be rude and even threaten death on you. Not all are bad but alot are. The pay is great but I would've joined the company if i knew what I know now.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work/life balance
Slave (Former Employee) –  Pinellas County, FLAugust 3, 2019
Impossible to have a work life balance. You could work until close and open the next day working 15 hours and your location can be an hour away. By the time you get home and eat and shower, you get 4 hours of sleep. Long shifts with no real breaks. You are stuck in that place from the time you arrive until the time you clock out. You can't leave the building. Low pay. Inconsistent at each location.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Scriptive Work Habits
Financial Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 26, 2019
Amscot makes their employees speak via scripts instead of allowing people to be themselves and express their customer service skills. Regular customers hear the same words coming out of every persons mouth each time they visit a new teller or associate letting off a non person feel. People feel better when you are yourself and Amscot doesn't allow that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cash handling and making calls
Co Branch Leader (Former Employee) –  Plant City, FLJuly 22, 2019
I would clock in count my drawer and vault then start helping customers get a paid day advance, fax, make copies, notarize their paper work, I would start making collection calls.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Amscot will challenge you, everyday.
FINANCIAL SERVICES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  Clearwater, FLJuly 17, 2019
If one so desires, you can be promoted, very quickly. I have learned more about money, checks, and state and federal guidelines regarding financial transactions then I would ever learn in my lifetime. The workplace culture can be strict, but it has to be that way. The hardest part of the job is the customer service aspect. Customers can be very challenging. If you work with a great group of people, your job can be a joy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial Service Associate
Financial Service Associate (Current Employee) –  New Port Richey, FLJuly 12, 2019
I currently work for Amscot and it’s the worst job I’ve ever had. Amscot takes advantage of hardworking people and does not always stick to their policies. Amscot lured me in with a start pay of $13, guaranteed at least 38 hours each week and paid lunches, sounds great right? What they don’t say is after 90 days you are forced to move up to the next position and if you decline they don’t take it well. I also don’t ever receive a break longer than 15 minutes even on the days when I work 15 HOURS. If you want time off good luck! I’ve been with the company for almost 1 year and have never called out, cover shifts and I can’t even get 3 days of unpaid time off in a row. This company is a joke!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Work/life balance
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 11, 2019
Good starting pay, but little increase in pay once in. Long hours, days off not in a row (managers have Wednesdays and Sundays off...). Lots of on-going training.
Pros
paid lunches
Cons
long hours, 2 days off, but not in a row, no sick or personal time, can not leave for lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you like being treated like trash Amscot is for you.
Overnight Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Hialeah, FLJuly 9, 2019
Very stressful, no breaks, no sick days, and if you bring up any issues they make your life living unconformable until you quit. The main Issue with Amscot is the prefer to hire young inexperienced leaders so they can mold them into the companies. Unfortunately in practice they end up promoted unqualified people that don't know how manage in challenging situations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here unless you are single
Co leader (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 22, 2019
The hours are super long, you would work 12-16 hours every weekend. There’s no way around that it will be either a Saturday or a Sunday. That includes a 30minute break only, no other breaks. You would work less hours during the week. The beginning of the month you will work 12 hours from the 1st-5th. You can not request off on the weekends.
Vacation policy sucks it’s by seniority and if someone in another district is out you can not be out also. The black out dates are tax time for like 3 months and the week of a holiday so u will not be Able to enjoy time with your family.
There is no sick time at all . Hopefully you get a nice branch leader because the co leader will act like they own everything and talk to u how ever they feel like it
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Financial Services Assistant (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 18, 2019
Horrible schedules, no personal life you always working, noone is a team player, poor management skills, lots of responsibilities not well pay. No sick time, it was just awful.
Cons
Schedule and horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Palm Coast, FLJune 10, 2019
Amscot is a very stressful place to work. You are required to service many customers at a time. These transactions are usually high dollar cash transactions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hiring manager for ocala is a nightmare
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Ocala, FLJune 7, 2019
STAY AWAY. The hiring manager will try to degrade you and make you feel worthless . She will make you feel like you're an idiot by manipulating questions back and fourth to make you feel like it's more a police investigation. She will favor more people from her country that think like her. The employees there are miserable due to her vibe. You will NOT have a life outside of Amscot. The hiring manager will make you feel like everything your saying is a lie and she is always right. Her way, or no way kind of attitude! If you're not like her or think like her, PLEASE stay away from the Ocala, Florida stores for your own sanity.
Pros
None
Cons
Hiring manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Love Amscot
Co Leader (Former Employee) –  Zephyrhills, FLJune 5, 2019
Normal day Working in the Branch, Team work and is a grest place to work, u have windows protecting you and you have ur personal area. My Distric Leader and Manager Were Awesome i learn alot and i love my job, i had to move to NY thats why i had to leave. AMSCOT is a great place to work and pays relly good. Thank You Amscot!.
Pros
Health Ins, Vacations, Good Payrate
Cons
Angry Custumers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Do it!!
FSA (Former Employee) –  Lauderhill, FLMay 31, 2019
Managers doesn't take ownership of anything. I loss a loved one missed 2 days and they fired me. I missed the day of and the funeral. Can't have a life and manager so rude 2 new employees. If you don't catch on in a week, I've seen my leader yell at a new employee. I had to encourage her and let her know that she was doing great. I took her under my wings and one on one trained her. This company is a real joke. The managers are the only ones safe. STAY AWAY FROM HERE.
Pros
Pay is ok
Cons
Long hours sometimes without a break, feel like you're in jail doing hard time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away!
Assistant Leader (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLMay 28, 2019
If you want to work for a company that does not acknowledge your hard work and dedication this is the right place for you. Completing the same repetitive calls, working transactions and finishing up other tasks - all at the same time - is what you will do throughout your 12-16hr shift. Management is horrible. Scheduling is unpredictable. A toxic environment is expected. Don't expect a break every shift either! The company does not think twice about replacing you, all they care about is money. They overwork you and expect everything to be done in a specific time frame (while handling customers that never seem to stop coming in). You will get called out for the slightest mistake and ignored for doing your rights. Company is very biased and also wastes an awful lot of paper. I also want to mention that there are no bonuses or holiday bonus. This job is not good for people who are dedicated to a family or social life.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, no job security
Assitant (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 25, 2019
Work 15 to 16 hours once a week. No time for breaks 25 miles from your home. Can never choose what vacation days you want it's always an issue open 365 and management always make sure you working on the days you rather spend time with family.
Pros
Overtime at most branches
Cons
No breaks, high insurance cost
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure place to work
Financial Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLMay 24, 2019
Good company if you dont mind working standing up and fast paced you have to be good at handling cash and ability to understand your customers to get them in and out
Pros
Good pay and uniforms
Cons
Short breaks. Long hours standing fast pace beginning of month
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Night Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLMay 20, 2019
Very fasted paced work environment. No work life balance but pay and overtime makes up for that.the managers are awesome and care for your well being.
Pros
Overtime pay
Cons
Work life balance, benefits aren't worth it
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you have no life- Amscot is for you
Branch Leader (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLMay 9, 2019
Amscot promotes quickly because there is high turn over. There are virtually no benefits other than working over time and getting the extra pay (although it’s highly taxed.) If you do not care about work life balance then this is the place for you. Most shifts are 12 hours so it’s not uncommon to go to work before the sun rises and go home after the sun sets. You never get two days off in a row so you never truly can rest. I mostly worked appropriately 55 hours a week, after a while you become use to it. Working less seems like a punishment (in regards to pay.) The culture is to scapegoat others- so once promoted be prepared to babysit your coworkers. Training is ongoing while working. One person makes a mistake and leadership sets forth a whole new rule to implement to the entire company. Things change overnight and very little communication about updates. Except to work hard.
Pros
Over time pay.
Cons
No work like balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Amscot. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 359 reviews
573
480
389
251
166

Ratings by category

2.3Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
2.8Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

4.1Career Opportunities

2.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight